Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money
Set on the decaying planet of Filgaia, Wild Arms follows the adventures of three 'Dream Chasers' who are united by fate, but joined by spirit as thery battle with the demons that almost bought thier planet to extinction 1000 years ago.
being a dungeon crawler of sorts, you would expect going through Wild Arms to be a little tedious at times, but this is not the case...
Published on 13 April 2003

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasing little game
i originally bought wild arms 3 in a sale about a year ago. after playing and loving it, i decided i would trace the series back to its roots, ie this game. playing it nearly 7 years after it was released, i could not realise the full potential of this game. its a godd little rpg with a decent story, but it can get mighty annoying at times and can be really difficult. try...
Published on 25 July 2005 by Alan J. Cartwright


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 13 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild Arms (PlayStation) (Video Game)
Set on the decaying planet of Filgaia, Wild Arms follows the adventures of three 'Dream Chasers' who are united by fate, but joined by spirit as thery battle with the demons that almost bought thier planet to extinction 1000 years ago.
being a dungeon crawler of sorts, you would expect going through Wild Arms to be a little tedious at times, but this is not the case. Settings for dungeons gretaly varies from moutains to a ghost ship. Every dungeon has a set of unique puzzles, which will generally need you to use the unique tools of your charcters to complete these tools range form grapling hooks and bombs to a magic vase. These puzzles become more taxing as you progress further into the game, but are never so vauge that you spend hours trying to solve them.
One of WA most impressive features is the character development. Although you only get to play as three characters Jack Rudy and Cecilia, there is an incredible ammount of development for all three of them, such as Jacks constant struggle to become the 'ultimate power'so that he can make it up to the women he couldn't save. Each hero has a different way of grwoing stonger and learning new moves. Rudy can upgrade weapons he finds ion some dungeons to nake them more powerful and useful, while Jack develops new sword technques form what he sees in his surrondings and Cecilia learns new spells by creating them in the magic guild. There is also a lot of charcter development for NPCs and the games main enemies, and by thewend of the game you feel that you know your enemies as well as you know yourself.
The battles are a little plain, but are still enjoyable. Like BOF games, all of your attacks are input at the same time, the characters and monsters then take it in turns to attack, going form fastest to slowest in thast order.
One of the main quests in the game is to collect Guardian Runes, which are hidden, but can also be given to you as you travel through Filgaia. By equipping a ruin to a charcater, you can boost certain attributes for that character, like speed and Strength. Equipping a guardian also alloiw syou to summon them into battle to pefrom a pwerful attack. With about 20 guardians in the game, it doesn't get boring.
One of the best RPgs on the pSone, Wild arms is an must have for any RPG fan, presenting a challenge for players of all level and calibur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My RPG Addiction fulfilled, 31 Mar 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wild Arms (PlayStation) (Video Game)
Okay i'll start this off by saying I haven't played this in a while but i'm purchasing the whole collection so i thought i'd write a review.

I am a Final Fantasy boy I remember starting my RPG life at about 12 playing FF7. After playing it for about 150hrs+ i decided to find a new game. This was a wildcard but gave me the best experience i have ever had. I still have all my old save data all three of my characters personalised to be myself and my two close friends and it does bring back memories. If the intro music does not get you into the adventuring spirit I don't think your a RPG fan!I have it as a ringtone as its sooo good.

But onto the game. The first 20 minutes or so can swing you into liking it or hating it. As you can choose who you start off by playing your RPG senses must be fulfilled by this character or you won't play it. Rudy (the gunslinger), Cecilia (princess sorceress) and Jack (Lovable Rogue). Each one has their own story and is greatly built on throughout the game. This was the first game that showed me the importance of team levelling. Without it you will fail. As there is no cross class skills. (Final fantasy major cross-character abilities) So having a full team at the same level is a very important thing.

The battle system is very odd (if you come from a FF background) actions all put through at the same time. No ATB! The system runs on choosing your action then everyone goes based on their speed value. Your main power lies in the turn charge system (i don't think its called that but it will be in this review) or force bar system. After each turn your characters get an extra bar of charge with this you can deliver a stronger attack or summon power after you get your first Guardian stone. As this is a major part of the game they made it as interesting as possible. While being very strategic. Plus it is all in 3D which was an oddity normally.

The rest of the game is RPG legend. Rudy Roughknight (15) is a master of a technology known as "ARMS" gun weapons an ancient technology which is forbidden in his village. So after they find out he can use it his village chucks him out. Jack Von Burace (25 approx) is a treasure hunter who starts his game in the middle of ruins trying to find the "ultimate power" which was left a thousand years ago by a race called Elws. The last character Cecilia Lynn Adlehyde (17) an apprentice magician who at the beginning fights off a demon spirit gets initiated into her royal bloodline and told by a Guardian that she can speak to the otherworld.

They then meet in a classic western style in a town that all three of them don't know and team up to get their own dreams realised.

One of the most engaging RPG's i have ever played and will be in my PS3 tonight as i start playing it again!!

Hope this converts some of you FF purists..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is amazing!!!!, 11 Aug 2005
This review is from: Wild Arms (PlayStation) (Video Game)
I absolutely love this game. The storyline is better than any other game ive ever seen, the gameplay is fantastic, the graphics are not good by todays standards, but the brilliant gameplay, puzzles, and advancement system far more than make up for them. Quite possibly the best game i've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best jrpg ever!, 13 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wild Arms (PlayStation) (Video Game)
Wild Arms is one of the first ps rpg reached the American and European shelves, and yet one of the better.
Unfortunately the game get overlooked by many that consider this game bad because the old graphics and the old-style setting
The puzzle-oriented action rpg gameplay is the strongest point

The positive.

- characters prologues
- puzzle-oriented gameplay
- fabulous western soundtrack
- any characters have a different way to learn to ability
- many and fun side-quests
- rich characters background and backstory
- story is crafted superbly
- fantastic dungeons
- good turn-based battle system
- western and fantasy merge very well
- too much damn fun!

The negative.

- the character interaction is limited...
-.... and so the character lack life
- snes 2D graphics and ugly 3d blocked graphics
- poor script
- the translation of the italian version is atrocious!

graphics 7/10
soundtrack 10/10
story 9/10
character development 8/10
gameplay 10/10
fun factor 10/10

Miscellaneous
Lenght : very good with so many side-quest easily reach the 80 hours
difficulty: easy to medium
replay value : no so high but who care?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 26 Aug 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wild Arms (PlayStation) (Video Game)
This was one of the first PS games I ever owned I don't have it now but I wish I did! It was great fun to play and totaly addictive, good story line, very cute cut scenes hours of fun would definetly recommend it if you like RPG games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wild Arms (PlayStation) (Video Game)
I played this game a few years back and just thinking about it brings back many brilliant memories.

The characters while graphically poor, are all too easy to attach emotion to its quite scary.

The stroy is fantastic its such a shame the game got dropped by the wayside due to Final Fantasy. In my opinion I would rather play this than ANY Final Fantasy and day.

Pure Class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool! this game is so good!, 21 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Wild Arms (PlayStation) (Video Game)
i loved this game! i want to play it again and again! the stroyline is so good, the knights, jack, cecilia and rudy! it is a really good game, but the graphics need to be a little more inventive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasing little game, 25 July 2005
By 
Alan J. Cartwright (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Arms (PlayStation) (Video Game)
i originally bought wild arms 3 in a sale about a year ago. after playing and loving it, i decided i would trace the series back to its roots, ie this game. playing it nearly 7 years after it was released, i could not realise the full potential of this game. its a godd little rpg with a decent story, but it can get mighty annoying at times and can be really difficult. try wild arms 3 first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Arms (PlayStation)
Wild Arms (PlayStation) by Sony Computer Entertainment UK (PlayStation)
Used & New from: 16.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews