Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why so much negativity?
I bought this on VHS (I know!!), I cant remember why I did, but I was pleasntly surprised and still throw it on now and again. As many have stated at the very least this showcases young talent in early roles. That aside the story is based on paranoia, peer presures, sexual desires and growing up; all in just the right mix. In no place does the film substitute one for...
Published on 15 Nov. 2009 by Mr. J. Forsyth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Likeable and fun.
Disturbing Behavior is similar to The Faculty accept it is humans rather than Aliens who are invading the minds of teenagers. It's also obvious that something is wrong when teens go from D students to A graders overnight, except the parents in the movie don't seem to really notice (I guess a movie with dumb parents will appeal more to teenagers).

All the main...
Published on 5 Sept. 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why so much negativity?, 15 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. J. Forsyth (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on VHS (I know!!), I cant remember why I did, but I was pleasntly surprised and still throw it on now and again. As many have stated at the very least this showcases young talent in early roles. That aside the story is based on paranoia, peer presures, sexual desires and growing up; all in just the right mix. In no place does the film substitute one for another to make up for shortcomings in the plot without aiming to achieve a desired effect (yes theres the katie holmes introduction but in fairness its intentional). It has the typical teen clique issue but enjoyable, I guess the music references help make it a little more relateable and fun, add an extra side to it.

At its heart, the plot feels like an old school sci-fi movie growing up in the '90s. And done well. I guess its a teenage stepford wives of sorts with a small dash of horror. Not as polished or uber cool as the Faculty, but cool all the same.

fun reasons to watch:
1. Cyclops is in it
2. John Conner is in it
3. Flagpole sitta by Harvey Danger
4. Katie holmes

dont write it off, try renting it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Likeable and fun., 5 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disturbing Behavior is similar to The Faculty accept it is humans rather than Aliens who are invading the minds of teenagers. It's also obvious that something is wrong when teens go from D students to A graders overnight, except the parents in the movie don't seem to really notice (I guess a movie with dumb parents will appeal more to teenagers).

All the main leads in the movie are fine, Nick Stahl (Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines) and Katie Holmes (Dawson's Creek) are both very good as always though I thought James Marsden (X-Men) looked a bit old to be playing a teenager. William Sadler (The Shawshank Redemption) & Bruce Greenwood (In The Line of Duty: The F.B.I. Murders) are fine but Katherine Isabelle (Ginger Snaps) doesn't even get a name check on the DVD. A.J. Buckley from CSI NY plays one of the Blue Ribbons.

The score by Mark Snow and the original soundtrack are very good, if you like your indie/rock then you would enjoy the soundtrack.

It's directed by David Nutter from The X-Files and I remember Katherine Isabelle also appeared in an episode of The X-Files, not sure if Nutter directed that episode.

Overall, Disturbing Behavior is a good movie but it is not very original nor scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing rather than disturbing, 22 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
I don't know what it was about this film but when I heard about it I couldn't wait to lay my hands on a copy. I did cheat and didn't buy the DVD, but hired it on video instead and I'm glad I didn't waste anymore time and money on this film. Disturbing Behavior is one of those films where you can watch the trailer and you don't need to see the rest of it. The select scenes for the trailer ARE the film. These trailer scenes are strung together with nothing that is particularly impressive or special.
I never thought I would say this but I found the lovely Katie Holmes unbelievable as bad-kid Rachel. Whether the film makers were going for a similar thing as "Scream" when Courtney Cox took the unexpected role of Gail Weathers I'm not sure, but it didn't work.
The film just "goes through the motions" and never seems to get very far. There is little that is horrifying about this movie, it's more of a teen drama and you can guess the ending within 20 minutes of the film starting as long as you watched the trailer carefully.
Disturbing Behavior is watchable but has tried to jump on the band-wagon of teen horror with a supposed interesting twist but it just doesn't happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A mildly horrific sci-fi movie, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Andy Effkin (Tobias Mehler) is parked up to make out with his girlfriend when a police patrol car arrives. Andy kills his girl and gets out of the car. He uses one policeman's gun to kill the other. But the horror nature of this film emerges at once since the other policeman, Officer Cox (Steve Railsback) bids Andy goodnight and allows him to drive away, leaving the two bodies behind. It emerghes that the town of Cradle Bay has a psychiatric hospital whose chief psychiatrist, Dr Edgar Caldicott (Bruce Greenwood) is now the school councillor at Cradle Bay High School. With drugs and hypnosis he now has many of the pupils and staff under his control in the pursuit of evil. Among the last to succumb are Gavin Strick (Nick Stahl) and school newcomer from Chicago Steven Clark (James Marsden). Another who is outside the doctor's evil influence is the town's rat-catcher and school caretaker Dorian (William Sadler). He has made himself immune to the doctor's attention by building an ultrasound machine that disorients those who are exposed to it. Good story with a sci-fi plot and acting appropriate for the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely thrilling slice of horror sci if hokum despite presence of an ex Mrs. Cruise aka that one from Dawsons Creek, 25 May 2014
Not the greatest Katie Holmes fan here but she's more tolerable in this thriller. Nick Stahl impresses in both versions of his character. James Marsden is gorgeous and fairly decent as the hero. Chad Donella as an albino (?) steals the show. He's got some strong competion in the form(s) of Katharine Isabelle as younger sister of the hero and William Sadler as a crazy(ish) janitor. Not everything is as it seems and as the mystery soon starts to unravel hold on tight for thrills and spills. At only 80 minutes long this film soon flies by. Look out for a brief cameo by Jeffrey Spender himself, Chris Owens. Bruce Greenwood is the head bad guy. And another x files alum, Steve Railsback provides some heavy support as an enforcer. The trailer has scenes that do not appear in the film. The song Flagpole Sitta by Harvey Danger is featured prominently in the trailer and is an ace tune. Directed by a guy who also directed eps of the x files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea less than perfect execution, 18 Nov. 2011
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film has got an interesting premise where adolescents are reprogrammed chemically/surgically(?) to become faintly sinister if compliant goodie two shoes in a controlling community.

Elements of the themes have all being done elsewhere e.g., The Midwich Cuckoos for sinister youth Hot Fuzz [DVD] for sinister communities. The community is a bit Dawson's Creek the dark side. Possibly elements of the village in the The Prisoner [DVD] are present.

All of the foregoing do what they do much better than this film, The ending is a little trite. Utimately the film wasn't very well done but it's not awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you've seen the Faculty don't bother!, 11 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Disturbing Behaviour (VHS Tape)
This movie is so much like The Faculty, Students and Teachers and changing into Zombie type aliens, how sad! . The movie was definatley directed to teenagers and they would probably get a great buzz from it! I myself thought it was a good story line and enjoyed the anticts of the janitor and only wish his role was more open. Katie Holmes, however, not so much 'Joey', Dawson would never recognise her, with her not so girly fashions as in Dawsons Creek. I only give this movie a 3, good try but very much aimed in the same direction as The Faculty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Katie Holmes demonstrates her talent and that is about it., 28 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Disturbing Behaviour (VHS Tape)
This is an interesting film, it keeps you hooked as you are desparate to know what bizarre ending they are going to come up with considering the script is fairly week. Nick Stahl (The Man Without A Face) is all grown up and greasy haired and performs convincingly.
The real surprise is Katie Holmes (Joey, Dawson's Creek)her performance is convincing and notable when she takes on a challenging and very different character to her other film and TV roles. It is proof that she has the ability to portray a character other than the girl across the creek, and does it really well.
Worth watching just for her performance but not much else. So Creek fans get watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars disturbing behaviour, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is an excellent film.I loved every part of it.James Marsden can do no wrong in any film I have seen him in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY, A TRUSTED COMPANY TO BUY EXCELLENT QUALITY DVD's & BLU RAY's FROM, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic blast from the past, this to me is a movie that was a great teen flick when it first came out and although i'm older now it remains to be just that. Excellent quality and customer service, I have now found the perfect company to purchase all both new & used dvd's/bluray's from, Awesome value for money and very fast delivery.... DEFINITELY RECOMMEND *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Craft/Disturbing Behaviour [VHS] [1999]
The Craft/Disturbing Behaviour [VHS] [1999] by David Nutter (VHS Tape - 2003)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews