Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
43
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 September 2014
Lucy & Jerry Warriner strain their marriage by suspecting each other of cheating, so much so, a day in court leaves them with a 90 day prelude to a divorce. Sure enough, though, love never quite runs as expected, and can indeed be a truly complex thing, especially when the other parties involved are human, a cheeky cat, and a rather smart and astute canine!

The Awful Truth is tagged as part of the wonderful genre that encompasses the screwball comedy, and although to a degree that genre placement is true, I do believe that those not particularly fond of the high octane scattergun comedies from the genre, will certainly find this offering far more appealing with its pacing and lighthearted production values.

The Awful Truth began life as a stage play in the early 20s, and was then adapted to film twice previously in 1925 & 1929, but here for the 1937 version, director Leo McCarey {Academy Award winner Best Director} improves the story big time with sharp witty dialogue and an appreciative knack for letting his actors improvise at free will in the name of comedy. Taking the lead roles of the Warriner's is Cary Grant & Irene Dunne, and it's a great pairing as they positively bounce of each other with almost carefree abandon. Adding greatly to the frivolity is Ralph Bellamy as tone death country bumpkin love interest Daniel, Alex D'Arcy as the suave but naive Armand, and Cecil Cunningham as the wry Aunt Patsy. It's a seamless enjoyable romp containing many laugh out loud sequences, and as much as the outcome my never be in doubt, the ending is still a joy to behold. Even if the cat and the clock invariably steal the show!

Wonderful and highly recommended. 9/10
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2002
True, the story seems to be old-fashioned by our standards, but I think all the same, the couple portrayed in this movie gives an exilarating account of how (not) to mess up a marriage. The performance is indeed funny, witty and at times full of surprises and it never ceases to remind us of how things were in those days. Lessons to be learned for almost all couples today...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2009
This is the first of three great movies Cary Grant did with Irene Dunne. Cary had the opportunity to work with some of the most beautiful and talented women of Hollywood. He once said that he had most fun doing films with Irene Dunne. If you want know why he said that; then you may want to watch this movie, because this is precisely what you get, lots of fun watching the easy-going couple go at each other in a humorous sort of way. This is a different kind of "fun with Dick and Jane."

Leo McCarey won the Academy award in the best director category, and Irene got a nod from the Academy in best actress category during the nominating process, which goes show the power of this great classic. McCarey went on to make other classics such as: Once upon a Honeymoon (starring Cary Grant and Ginger Rogers), Bell's of St Mary's (Starring; Bing Crosby and Ingrid Bergman), and An Affair to Remember (Starring; Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr). The story is simply put; man meets woman, man loses woman, and finally man finds the woman again. Jerry Warriner (Cary Grant) and Lucy Warriner (Irene Dunne) are married couple and they split, they start going out with others, soon to be ex husband and wife sabotage each other's love affairs, and finally they reconcile. The fun is in the way they play game at each other and cause numerous fun-filled situations; some outright embarrassing for the other spouse; after all the fight between couples doesn't have to be a courtroom drama or a shouting match full of hostilities

The actual fun starts when they both become suspicious of the other having an affair. Then they agree to separate, and the courtroom drama is really about the custody of their little dog called Mr. Smith. Lucy wins the custody but Jerry gets the visitation rights, and they will have 60 days for the finalization of the divorce. This gives plenty of time to do a great deal of damage to each others romantic encounters with other people. There are many funny and sometimes embarrassing moments involving Jerry and Lucy: When Jerry is angry with Lucy's voice teacher Armand Duvalle (Alexander D'Arcy), because of his alleged affair with Lucy. The second one is the nightclub scene when Lucy' new beau, oil-magnate Dan Leeson (Ralph Bellamy) dance (jitterbug) funny with Lucy, and Jerry faces embarrassment when he tries to romance the nightclub dancer named Dixie Belle Lee (Joyce Compton). The scene I enjoyed most is when Jerry romances snooty socialite Barbara Vance (Molly Lamont), Lucy following his romance in the social columns, shows up at the home of Vance's parents as Jerry's drunken kid sister, and then tries to disengage his engagement in front of shocked Vance and her parents. After all the gimmicks and comedy, they find that they are made for each other, finally reconcile and get back together. This is a wonderful comedy and all fans of Cary Grant and Irene Dunne must see, and it is highly recommended.

1. Penny Serenade [1941] [DVD]
2. My Favorite Wife [DVD] [1940] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
3. Bing Crosby Collection - Going My Way / The Bells Of St. Mary's [DVD]
4. An Affair To Remember [DVD] [1957]
5. Once Upon A Honeymoon [1942] [VHS]
6. Once Upon A Honeymoon / In Name Only [DVD] Cary Grant Double
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
The blurb says that this film was one of the top five screwball comedies of the 1930s. I can only assume that the rest were not very good. I bought it because it was Cary Grant and I had high hopes but for me it was just mildly amusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2008
This is the film that made Grant a star in his own right. The combination of he and Irene Dunne is a exquisite. There are 'laugh out loud' moments in this movie which, for me at least, is rare. It's a classic screwball comedy directed by Leo McCarey's at his best. Has to be seen by any Cary Grant fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
I was very pleased with both product and delivery service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
The other two star rating is given for poor transfer to DVD mine, I'm afraid, is for the film itself. In fact the quality for both picture and sound is quite satisfactory as I read it from my apparatus, let us say I have experienced inferior products and still managed to enjoy the film. Not quite with this one, which for me comes across as somewhat tedious no more so than in final scene. I have nothing to complain about the acting or the actors themselves, it's simply that from the perspective of today's sordid world this view of the American dream does not quite lift me out of the doldrums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
I got this film for my father, but watched it before I gave it to him. It is very funny and beautiful to look at. The fashions are spectacular. I would recommend this film to anyone. It is a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
Great service from supplier and very cheap well worth the money. video quality brilliant, the oldies are definately the best....story light hearted recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
This is so funny they don't make movies as good as this anymore. Sadly the disc had a fault so not able to view the last chapter had to jump to next level
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)