Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzlingly brilliant screwball comedy
One day many moons ago Channel 4 showed this film late one Sunday night - unlike the rubbish they frequently show now . I was dazzled by the brilliance of the dialogue, the marvellous comic timimg of Dunne and Grant and the superb supporting cast .

Very funny from start to finish and in many ways it still seems modern 70 years on .

Cinematic sunshine...
Published on 13 Dec 2010 by Music fan

versus
74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Try again soon, please
Leo McCarey's screwball masterpiece deserves the best treatment of all. But sadly doesn't get it this time around. Almost nothing comes close to the perfection of this movie, its subtleties, its ambiguity. Irene Dunne delivers a true tour de force, not least in 'disguise' as the empty-headed sister from Paris. Cary Grant was never better or more precise. The dialogue is...
Published on 4 Oct 2003 by Michael Bo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Try again soon, please, 4 Oct 2003
By 
Michael Bo (Frederiksberg Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
Leo McCarey's screwball masterpiece deserves the best treatment of all. But sadly doesn't get it this time around. Almost nothing comes close to the perfection of this movie, its subtleties, its ambiguity. Irene Dunne delivers a true tour de force, not least in 'disguise' as the empty-headed sister from Paris. Cary Grant was never better or more precise. The dialogue is superb, the characters are brilliantly conceived. A work of true genius, which is why the treatment of it on DVD is so horrible. The picture is unclean, fuzzy, the sound is awful, and I could go on and on. So save your money, until someone responsible makes another go of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzlingly brilliant screwball comedy, 13 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
One day many moons ago Channel 4 showed this film late one Sunday night - unlike the rubbish they frequently show now . I was dazzled by the brilliance of the dialogue, the marvellous comic timimg of Dunne and Grant and the superb supporting cast .

Very funny from start to finish and in many ways it still seems modern 70 years on .

Cinematic sunshine from start to end and there are few better films to cheer you up on a cold winter's day !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I am a great teacher, not a great lover." "That's right, Armand. No one could ever accuse you of being a great lover.", 17 May 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
Although rarely revived and oft overlooked when discussing the classic screwball comedies of the 30s despite being selected for the National Film Registry in 1996, The Awful Truth is still as delightfully funny as it was when it garnered five Academy Award nominations and won Best Director for Leo McCarey in 1937 even if today it's more romantic than risqué. Cary Grant and Irene Dunne are one of those sophisticated couples with enough money to live in a mansion and enough time on their hands to worry about each other's possible infidelities until his double standards and unfounded suspicions lead to the divorce court. While they're waiting for it to become final she gets involved with Ralph Bellamy's country bumpkin oil millionaire and he, granted visiting rights to the couple's dog Mr Smith (played by Asta from The Thin Man series), does his utmost to embarrass her only for both to realise they still really love each other - only for petty jealousies, misunderstandings and each trying to get revenge by breaking up the others' new relationships to complicate matters. All of which is exactly as you might expect, but it's executed with real wit and panache, never overplaying its hand and as comfortable with a pratfall as with a smart one-liner. Vina Delmar's screenplay from Arthur Richman's play is terrific, but adding immensely to the fun is a wondrous display of reaction shots - embarrassment, bemusement and even occasional horror - from Grant (who was convinced during shooting he was making a complete turkey), a great Oscar-nominated comic turn from Bellamy, not to mention some fun setpieces like Mr Smith constantly fetching a gentleman caller's hat that Dunne desperately wants to stay hidden. It's all so fresh that it's a surprise to find out it was actually the third of four screen versions. Great stuff.

Sadly no extras (apart from trailers for His Girl Friday and Little Women).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 12 May 2008
By 
Andrew J. Potts "AJ Rome" (Rome Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
This is easily the best pairing of grant and dunne. It's fast paced and well observed screwball comedy of errors. you can't beat them asa team and I think they rival grant and hepburn, one of my favourite teamings. It's witty and funny and as usual dunne gets the better of grant. It's great to see this happen now and then as sometimes he seems to run roughshod over his female co-stars. If you like screwball comedies then get it and enjoy it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Comedy, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
Cary Grant playing himself again but what a good job he makes of it, interesting interplay of screwball comedy between him and Irene Dunne as they try to regain each others affection, the dog MR Smith do,s a good job as a comedy support actor as well! With regard to the picture quality I played mine on a Blu Ray player with upscaling, and whilst a little grainy I think that for a film of this age it is not bad at all.
John Bentley. Liverpool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
I was very pleased with both product and delivery service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like Cary Grant Movies, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
This is so funny they don't make movies as good as this anymore. Sadly the disc had a fault so not able to view the last chapter had to jump to next level
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Screwball comedy at it peak!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
Don't ask me how but this has escaped through my net! Oh My God is it funny. Wait until you see the scene where Cary Grant invades the salon where Irene Dunne I giving a recital! Sheer genius and how wonderful to see Cary Grant using those music hall skill from Bristol!
Der Archie Leech, you were wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny film, 3 July 2013
By 
A. Demonchaux - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
I got this film for my father, but watched it before I gave it to him. It is very funny and beautiful to look at. The fashions are spectacular. I would recommend this film to anyone. It is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] (DVD)
Great service from supplier and very cheap well worth the money. video quality brilliant, the oldies are definately the best....story light hearted recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003]
The Awful Truth [DVD] (1937) [2003] by Leo McCarey (DVD - 2003)
4.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews