Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This film is set in a school that caters for emotionally and behaviourally disturbed (EBD) young people. The cast are excellent and contain many of britain's formost actors. Whilst the film may use artistic licence, it do'es capture the essence of EBD education. I have worked in an EBD school for six years and can highly reccomend this film. ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film, you can't go wrong with this one!, 19 Oct 2000
By A Customer
I have been trying to search for this film for two years. It really is fantastic and I thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Laugh, cry....it's one of those films! Touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars these mice are energetic, 22 Nov 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwork Mice [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Clockwork Mice is a winning film taking you to a Special Needs school with new teacher Ian Hart for a rude awakening. At times it's a bit like Faulty Towers, and is obviously deliberately playing for laughs much of the time, while having a serious core as well. Hart's character has a tough initial phase until he sets up a cross-country running club, and becomes particularly concerned with a boy whose façade hides a very unhappy family history. Combining sensitivity over this with plenty of bad behaviour from the pupils, the film finds room for romantic hijinks - Hart getting caught in a jockstrap by a female colleague, then getting into a clinch with her (still in it) only to be burst in on by the head and squatting behind the door in the nick of time ... I only wish we'd seen him walking around like that for longer. Hart's physique is alluringly shown in a number of scenes, in fact, with frequent running sequences in flimsy shorts, and female and gay viewers might be inclined to agree with a second colleague's appraisal from a window that he has 'a nice arse'. He's also very dedicated to the kids in his charge. It's not a film that looks into the subject deeply - for that you have to look elsewhere (A Child Is Waiting by Cassavetes deals movingly with the plight of mentally handicapped children), but within its broader genre it is affecting and funny, well acted, and has much to commend it, particularly Hart and the young actor who plays the fourteen-year-old Conrad. It makes you feel compassion for these youngsters whose trauma we don't see, but nevertheless are led to imagine in some degree. It's like a cross between Chariots of Fire and The Chorus, with a bit of Dead Poet's Society - Hart tries to interest them in the great English poets - but outstrips all of these, I would say, in its sincerity and visual brio, like helium-filled balloons that will rise in spite of the sad motif printed on the side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MOVING STORY OF TROUBLED KIDS!!, 25 Oct 2000
Having just seen this film, I'm amazed why I've not heard of it before! Touching, uplifting, sad, humourous, talented actors, it had the LOT. Not a blockbuster, but a damned good film nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so happy to finally have this, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Been looking for the film for ages. I was so pleased that It came with a DVD copy too.

great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure special ed gold, 21 Nov 2012
By 
C. P. Cordes "Chris" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent copy of a wonderful film.
From a time when I entered Special Education, it embodies all I remember and more. A cast of top names play out a school year in Special Education, with all the highs, lows, laughter and tears. This is truly a film that the DVD producers have missed out on. Well worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem, 9 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockwork Mice [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Only recently discovered this film but it's already one of my favourites - one to watch when you just want something really uplifting. Touching,well made and brilliantly acted I honestly can't recommend it highly enough. It's a real shame that it isn't much better known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST THE BEST, 9 Nov 2000
By 
I absolutely loved watching this film on the TV that I Just had to buy the video. It will be a much luved and much watched part of my collection. An inspiration for those who want to make a difference in the youth of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars was not disappointed.., 8 Oct 2014
Watched this based on the 5 star rating.. was not disappointed... Made me laugh, made me cry, made me think ! A little gem of a film .... very sad but ultimately very uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Film I have ever seen, 30 Mar 2000
By 
Words cant describe it. Once it has started you are lost in the life of Steve and Conrad for an hour and a half. The best film ever to come from England..I love it xx
Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clockwork Mice [DVD] [1995]
Clockwork Mice [DVD] [1995] by Vadim Jean (DVD - 2003)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews