Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic
I'm inclined to agree with goonernumber1 - easily one of the best games I've ever played. Packed with humour and character, loads of great missions, great story and plenty of sweating! Dated looking now but I remember how incredibly good it looked after its predecessors, and how damn exciting it was when I first got my hands on it. This is a true, all-time classic, a...
Published on 22 Jan 2007 by Wilf

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A collector's must-have, but not essential for the gamer
First off, I must confess that I am probably spoiled by Red Alert 2.
Now, being of the Amiga persuasion at the time, I never played the opriginal C&C or Red Alert when they were brand new; rather I went back to rediscover RA after having gone through quite a few gaming weekends with friends playing Red Alert 2, and many late nights playing Tiberian Sun...
Published on 24 Mar 2006 by magetoo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic, 22 Jan 2007
By 
Wilf (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC) (Computer Game)
I'm inclined to agree with goonernumber1 - easily one of the best games I've ever played. Packed with humour and character, loads of great missions, great story and plenty of sweating! Dated looking now but I remember how incredibly good it looked after its predecessors, and how damn exciting it was when I first got my hands on it. This is a true, all-time classic, a real milestone in the history of gaming.

By the way, the origins of the entire build-a-base genre stem from the great-grandaddy of them all, Dune II, which was followed by a couple of Command & Conquer episodes and then Red Alert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy Invilid, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC) (Computer Game)
Bought this for my other half when he had knee surgery and was let up for weeks!! He had gone on about this game he played when he was younger. He was delighted and it kept him quiet for few weeks of recovery!

Took a bit it fiddling with comp settings but nothing bit of google/youtube videos couldnt help with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 Mar 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC) (Computer Game)
in my opinion this is by far the best command and conquer in the series. excellent music backed up by some terrific single player missions and the quality skirmishes and multiplaying. this game is a true classic and i urge anyone to give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Command and Conquer still conquering, 27 Mar 2003
This review is from: Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC) (Computer Game)
command and conquer is still brilliant after all these years this timeless classic is still a bestseller. in this case the original beats all the other types of new updated games. this is the best game i have ever played
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A collector's must-have, but not essential for the gamer, 24 Mar 2006
This review is from: Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC) (Computer Game)
First off, I must confess that I am probably spoiled by Red Alert 2.
Now, being of the Amiga persuasion at the time, I never played the opriginal C&C or Red Alert when they were brand new; rather I went back to rediscover RA after having gone through quite a few gaming weekends with friends playing Red Alert 2, and many late nights playing Tiberian Sun.
Eventually I decided I'd like to play the whole Red Alert storyline, so when I found a budget release of this game, I of course picked it up. And I was disappointed. Yes, obviously the graphics are not as good as in the later games, and sometimes it gets in the way, but even the gameplay itself just isn't as good as in its sequel. Especially some of the "walk around the map with a small squad" missions, those that do not feature base building, can be rather tedious, and made me put off finishing the game several times.
It's not all bad though. You get to see the story develop, and it provides some pretty decent entertainment (for when you would have probably just been watching TV anyway). Plus, I think you might enjoy the sequel more after seeing the original.
So to sum up: You must play Red Alert 2. Playing Red Alert is optional, and is mostly for those obsessed with all things C&C. With the budget release, and the availability of used copies, you can afford to pick this one up even if it's not perfect, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why don't you own it?, 19 Mar 2003
This review is from: Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC) (Computer Game)
If you are into the C&C style of games I am amazed if you do not have this in your collection. Not only is this where the whole series of games started, but I think that, graphics aside, it is equal if not better than some of the later games in the series. When buying this game you have to understand that you are not expecting the high tone, beautiful graphics of the latest addition to the C&C arsenal: Generals. The graphics are primative, top down and pixelly. What this game has is the first appearence of the cut scenes that I feel are sorely lacking in C&C: generals. Rising your way up through the ranks of GDI or NOD, either by military valour or dead man's boots - is made entertaining by the cut scenes. Lastly being able to destory one of 4 major cities after winning the Nod missions is very good fun. If you are used to high tone graphics, you will be disappointed by how this looks, but the gameplay more than makes up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars decent, 29 April 2003
By 
Mr. S. M. Tull "Steve" (N. Wales, Conwy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC) (Computer Game)
for a fiver its worth it. sure the graphics might not be brilliant but the gameplay is good, and theres even a map maker for skirmishes. havn't seen that on any c&c's lately have you? they shouldve really put it in the second red alert, then it would've been perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for its day......., 22 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC) (Computer Game)
This is an old game so compared to new game its like comparing a mountain to a molehill. It was BRILLIANT when it came out and still is, but TOO OLD!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC)
Command and Conquer: Red Alert (PC) by Disky (Windows 95 / 98)
Used & New from: 3.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews