Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tense, well done story of a decisive WWII naval battle
I've always liked this British film, which tells how the Royal Navy went after and finally destroyed the German super battleship Bismarck in the spring of 1941. The Bismarck was newer, faster, more heavily armored and more powerful than any single ship the British could throw against her. Her job was to destroy convoys, and it was the convoys that were keeping Britain...
Published on 25 July 2007 by C. O. DeRiemer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sink the Bismarck?
This is a 'What made Britain great' kind of movie which uses a little too much poetic licence to accurately portray the events of those few dramatic days in May 1941.

As an entertaining film very loosely depicting the events it is fine, but in no way should it be considered an accurate historical account. One of its greatest injustices is the way it treated...
Published 22 months ago by Mariner1958


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SENIOR TEENAGER, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BOUGHT THIS FOR MY GRANDSON AS PART OF HIS XMAS BOX HAVING SAID THAT I SAW IT WHEN IT WAS A NEW FILM AND IT IS A BRILLIANT FILM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sink the Bismark DVD, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my husband, who is deaf, as I understood it had sub-titles. It doesn't. Very disappointing! But full marks to Amazon for the no-quibble refund
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sink the bismarck, 24 Nov 2011
the film was bought for my mam she loved it said it was her type of film she said it was great and really enjoyed watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more ostentation than real menace, 16 Mar 2009
By 
Carlos Vazquez Quintana "cvq" (Linares- Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Military people taste technical advances, but they still show with pride his pasts glories (all armies of the world are supposed to have any).
But this is the case today we know heavy battleship were yet a delayed weapon during WW II. However, it was necessary to fought that war to demonstrate it was that way. In 1940, nor Germany nor Great Britain seems to have recognized that fact. Probably, if the Bismark had passed to France and Atlantic Ocean, it should have show to be a ship much less dangerous tan the ominous, small U- boats or destroyers. But Germany hadn't little ships. Hitler tasted wagnerian enormous gunnery pieces, tanks, vessels, and all that probed in general to be useless. Other apparently modest war machines were much more lethal. Bismark was sink because he was as single piece, impressive but with fragile strategic points and too complicate to repair.
One impression however rests in my mind after seeing this classic film, very well, made without computer technology: nowadays there are a big economical crisis. I remember the scene when the Nazi chief orders to inundate some compartments to save the rest. That's shown as an inhumane gesture very own of the Nazis but I hope present crisis don't oblige to take these drastic solution of scarifying some people to save others. Not all cruel ideas were original product of the Nazi mind, but borrowed from another people. Good luck for all.
As a curiosity, it's said German command demanded Franco to envy the big battlecruiser "Canarias", built about 1920's, to save possible German survivors. It seems Franco agreed and the "Canarias" was gone but the official version is they didn't found any survivor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sink The Bismark, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Kenneth More turns in a exellent performance as a Navel Officer who has lost his ship. The Navy think that he is the best man to sortout the ploting of the Bismark from the ploting room in White Hall. The cut between Sea and White Hall ploting room are good. But I feel there was room for another film about the sister ship the Tirpitz. But all in all a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stiff upper lipped nonsense, 19 Jan 2010
By 
birchden "birchden" (Eastbourne, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Despite quite a good cast this is a dreadful old film, which is really best forgotten.

While one can forgive the shaky special effects 50 years on, the plot, which plays fast and lose with the facts, is enough to test the sealegs of even the hardiest sailor.

For a start, Admiral Lutjens is portrayed as a fanatical Nazi, when all the evidence shows that he was indifferent to the regime at best. Moreover, contrary to the film, he was grimly realistic about the likely outcome of his mission.

Among a variety of other inaccuracies, there is a wholly spurious scene in which the Bismarck sinks a British destroyer. Goodness knows what the film makers were thinking when they put this into the script.

To be honest you could almost watch this film as a comedy - but not quite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sink the Bismark - cannot be used on DVD player in UK :(, 16 May 2009
By 
Sarah Taylor (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck [DVD] [1960] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This product was a gift for my 70 year old father and it was a great disappointment that it cannot be viewed in the UK. There is a screen which says the area code is not correct. In fact it only works in the US.

It does work on the computer but that's not the most comfortable way for my father to enjoy a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sink the Bismarck [DVD] [1960] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
4.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews