Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
18
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2003
Take last years Crash Bandicoot XS,add some more levels a new evil enemy and thats what you have here.N Trophy has returned to wreak havoc on Crash's homeworld with the help of his new partner N Trance.The evil hypnotic apprentice has taken Crashes freinds hostage and then brainwashed the to try and destroy Crash.
Most of the levels are side scrolling platform action where Crash retains his trademark moves such as the double jump and the spin attack. The controls are easy to master and the early tutorial levels help you to get into the game.The graphical detail is superb, but sometimes there is so much going on in the background the enemies are hard to spot.
Variety is added to the game by the inclusion of wakeboarding and the Crash-in-ball levels.As with the main levels the controls are good and are a joy to play.
In all Crash 2 is more of the same stuff as Crash XS, but the fact is that the original was great and this beats it by alot.The animation is great,the level design is top notch and the controls are grand.In short no matter what type of gamer you are you will enjoy it thoroughly.
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2012
I'll be honest, this game isn't all that bad. In fact, I had fun playing and would still be if not for this blasted headache (too much World of Warcraft). It's dirty great fun considering how underplayed GBA games are in this day and age, but it could've been so much more. Then again, it's Vicarious Visions, so I don't expect a great deal from them.

As far as the story goes, it's a direct sequel to the first game. And I'm not talking about Crash Bandicoot 1, either, this is a whole new miniseries. Crash Bandicoot 2: N-Tranced is the sequel to XS, and XS was the sequel to Wrath of Cortex. And Wrath of Cortex is often known as "Crash Bandicoot 4", because it was Crash's Playstation 2 debut. Anyway, Cortex failed to shrink the world to the size of a wumpa fruit as promised before, and stop Crash Bandicoot. So now Uka Uka (why is he the main antagonist?!) gains help of the loyal and reliable N. Tropy with assistance from N. Trance. N. Tropy's expertise lie in time and space, while N. Trance deals in hypnotism.

The two work together to hypnotize Crush Bandicoot, Coco Bandicoot and even Fake Crash and make them work for Uka Uka. And Crash must work with Aku Aku to stop them! Good concept, but not that well done.

The story is told through short pictures and dialogue boxes throughout the game, interrupting some parts of levels but at the same time filling you in as you go along. A nice system. Moving onto the gameplay, things aren't looking all that good....

The game is a sidescroller most of the time, as Crash spin attacks and double jumps his way through levels, destroying the crates and enemies before him. Players familiar with CB3: Warped will recognize some of the level designs such as the Turkish/Persian level designs, the water levels and the ancient Egyptian-esque worlds. The lobby system works completely differently, more like a board game and allowing players to travel both in a linear fashion and a non-linear fashion.

However there are new additions - Crash now rides in jeeps, on wakeboards and even in the hamster ball which I HATED in Crash Bandicoot: The Wrath of Cortex. Not all that well done though, best left for characters like Spyro the Dragon on GBA.

In terms of graphics, they've not changed. For 32-bits, you can't expect much but so much more could've been done. I and many others expected some better visuals, animations and storytelling videos. As for the soundtrack, some new original songs have been added, but expect to hear variations on the CB2 and 3 music. Poor effort, Vicarious Visions, as always.

So if you liked the first game, XS, on GBA then you'll like this and some. However, if you didn't, don't bother with this because it's not all that much new. Recommended for under £5.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2003
Congratulations to Nintendo for gaining the rights to Crash Bandicoot. Two more fantastic platform games have been added to an already impressive array. The new levels types such as the Wakeboarding and the Atlasphere are excellent. Due to the addition of alternative players and new skills the game makes enough improvments without changing a winning formula. Whilst the game is tough, it is not difficult to find all of the items. (Especially if you have played x/s). I have thoroughly enjoyed the game and hope that Nintendo continue to release quality platform games.
A new nominee for an essential GBA game!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2003
I played this game on the vivendi fair and it's really!
It looks like Crash 3 for the Psone and sometimes it gets even better than this title.
The Graphics are amazing and the game is large enough to entertain you for many hours.
What are you waiting for?
Just buy it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2003
I bought the first Crash Bandicoot game, Crash Bandicoot X/S, when I bought my Game Boy Advance which was just before christmas. I got a few more games for christmas and I didn't enjoy any of the others and so I just played Crash Bandicoot! WARNING: THIS IS A VERY ADDICTIVE GAME!!! And you could play it for hours and lose track of time. The only bad thing about it is the fact that it isn't long enough, so buy N-Tranced and let the gaming begin! Also, this game is suitble (and fun!) for all ages, even your grandma could play it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2003
this game is good but it is no way as good as the first. the ghraphics are still amazing but have turned a bit babyish since ther first one which was brilliant. the game play is good and the new features are an excellent addition but i still think that the original crash bandicoot for the gameboy advance was better.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2007
Like all other Crash games amazing platforming..... You just can't get enough of it!
In some parts it can be a bit difficult at times.... I personally would give it 10 out of 10!
The only annoying thing about it's a little short... but lots of secrets once you've completed story mode!
Highly Recommended!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
this game is very good the game was short some levels are hard it amused me for a long time the graphics were good considering it was on game boy advance and the time it was made the game play did not disappoint me it had good level design the story was better then normal thy had a good whay of setting out every thing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2003
Firstly it is a great game and is worth buying if you have some spare change. The good things about the game are: there are lots of levals and characters to play as althogh you can only play as coco and crunch when you are in vechels. One bad point is there are not many diffrent types of leval when you are on foot with crash, but to make up for this there are lots of driffrent levels in vechels. That is about the only bad thing and it is not that bad as there are loads of vechels levels wich are really fun to play. There is link games where you can unlock new levels, iam not sure if you have to link it to a game cube to unlock thease levels, but there are plenty with out it. overall it is a great game and worth buying even if you haven't played crash games before.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2006
I purchased crash bandicoot 2 NTranced about a week ago and i enjoyed it. i think the levels are good and overall really fun. i really wanted the first crash bandicoot game but i couldn't get it because my order was cancelled. i rate crash bandicoot 2 7/10. the only thing i found rubbish out of the game was the fact that you can only be crunch in an atlasphere globe and i think its boring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.