Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars101
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2015
At this point I think the idea was to record vocalist Brian Johnson live in concert before his voice deteriorated completely. Some songs he sings really well on this album - 'High Voltage,' 'Let There Be Rock', 'Sin City', 'The Jack', 'Jailbreak', 'T.N.T', 'You Shook Me All Night Long', 'Whole Lotta Rosie' and 'Highway To Hell.' Not that the rest are done badly, but he wouldn't sound this good live again until the 'Live At River Plate' DVD and CD were released quite a few years later. In fact, unbelievably, he would sound better.
The fact that there are gaps between each song on 'AC/DC Live' is a bit annoying - the crowd fades in and out after each song instead of sounding like one continuous concert. I think the idea was to get the feel of touring the world with the band. For instance, Brian introduces 'Back In Black' with an 'Hello, Donington, how you doing?' Before the start of 'Sin City', he greets the Irish crowd with, 'We gotta song for you, Dublin, oh yeah...!'
I remember hearing this album for the first time and watching the 'Live At Donington' Video that accompanied it. It was great to finally have a live album featuring Brian but, as is always the case, much better to actually have the visual. To see AC/DC live in concert is to know just how brilliant a live act they are - one of the best out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2002
ac/dc's live album is extremely good.the song 'you shook me all night long'is the best live song i have ever heard from any group.other greats include'back in black,'highway to hell,hells bells and thunderstruck.Angus Young at his very best on this album with his brilliant solos,if you like ac/dc add this to your collection,but i must suggest to get the 2cd live version because it has about 9 more songs and is much better than the 1cd live version.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This album is without doubt the BEST AC/DC ALBUM THERE IS.
The only thing better than this album is actually seeing them Live in concert.
AC/DC are one of the best Live bands on the face of the earth and this album highlights the raw energy and pure class of a band that has been playing for nearly 30 years now.
If you an AC/DC fan (which is why you are reading this) and you don't have this album you will be kicking yourself when you buy it.
Pure Class with a line up of tracks that you just couldn't better if you picked them yourself.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
This is #2 of AC/DCs three live official albums........and falls a long way short of the classic 1978 'If You Want Blood'
GREAT selection of songs, but Brian ruins Bons classics with his screeching, especially in Sin City. The fade-outs at the end of some songs is poor as well.......and the long crowd cheering at the start of disc 1 for 1min 30secs before the Thunderstruck riff is also poor.......30 seconds maximum WOULD have sufficed.
Overall, a decent live album.....on par with 'Live from River Plate'.............but not even a close runner-up to 'If You Want Blood'........or even Live from Atlantic Studios......the mini-live CD included with the Bonfire box set.
Sometimes makes me wonder how much input the band has when the producers start to butcher their live work!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
AC/DC's 1992 live double album/CD "Live", is a fantastic document of their 1990/1991 'The Razors Edge' tour. Featuring all the tracks performed on that tour, more or less in the correct running order. The only reason I have dropped a star, is because of the decision made to have each track fade in and then fade out at the end, instead of just being mixed together to recreate the feeling of a full live concert. Not as good as 1978's 'If You Want Blood (You've Got It)', (the first album I ever bought), "Live" does have it's moments though, in the fact that I was at Donington in '91 and therefore was in the crowd when some of these tracks were recorded.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
great live cd for the brian johnson era, excellent sound for a live album really surprised me. the crowd is audible but doesnt interupt the music possibly better than studio versions
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
All of their 'hits' fused into a double cd for the dedicated fans' listening pleasure. Doubtless you will already have these songs in one form or another, however, this, (so far), is the quintessential live (post Bon Scott) audio album from this band; and it does not disappoint, although to list my favourites would be quite pointless.

Just take it from me, this is a glorious, electrifying Rockfest of non-stop pummelling, piledriving power sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
THIS IS A WELL PUT TOGETHER LIVE ! COMPILATION ! COMPILATION AS IT'S NOT A FULL CONCERT DISC . IT'S SECTIONS FROM DIFFERENT CONCERTS FROM THE 1992 RAZOR'S EDGE TOUR SANDWICHED TOGETHER .
IT'S BEEN VERY CLEVERLY EDITED TOGETHER AND OBVIOUSLY THE RECORD COMPANY HAS SPENT A LOT OF MONEY DOING THE BEST EDITING POSSIBLE .
IT IS VERY GOOD - THE MUSIC IS GR8 AND SO IS BRIAN'S SQUARKING .
BON SCOTT R.I.P WAS A LOT BETTER SINGER !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2009
This collection amounts to a 'Best of' with the added atmosphere of a live concert. The band pumps out all their classics in typical incisive style. Guitars to the fore, the playing is tight and 'road hardened' of a band on the peak of their form. The recorded sound - digitally remastered here - is clean and clear. There's no let up, no acoustic or slow numbers just hard rock and it's wonderful! Not for those with a weak heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
For a fiver delivered to your door ,cheaper than an mp3 download me thinks very quick delivery time and as always seem to be very lucky as all the CDs and DVDs I bought from this company are in very good overall condition .Well done makes a change this day and age !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)