Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!
Who made who was released after fly on the wall, and is a definate improvement, taken from the stephen king film, maximum overdrive, it is basically a mini best of ac/dc up to that point.
1. Who made who - one of the best songs they have ever recorded, so damn catchy - 10/10
2. You shook me all night long - yet again another true classic - 10/10
3. DT - the...
Published on 10 Sep 2003 by ste-ven

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who Made Who? Stephen King...
As many have commented here, this was indeed the soundtrack for now cult Stephen King trailer trash movie Maximum Overdrive.

This album is a soundtrack and features all the songs that were featured in the film itself that were performed by AC/DC (the film has excerpts from Wagner and an ice cream truck plays King of the Road as it's jingle) - bar a few short...
Published on 15 Dec 2010 by Azz McMahon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 10 Sep 2003
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
Who made who was released after fly on the wall, and is a definate improvement, taken from the stephen king film, maximum overdrive, it is basically a mini best of ac/dc up to that point.
1. Who made who - one of the best songs they have ever recorded, so damn catchy - 10/10
2. You shook me all night long - yet again another true classic - 10/10
3. DT - the first of two instrumentals, this is great - 8/10
4. Sink the pink - what a dirty song, another classic - 10/10
5. Ride on - the only song from the bon era, not one of my favourites, but still a good song - 8/10
6. Hells bells - a ledgendary song - 10/10
7. Shake your foundations - another classic taken from the fly on the wall album - 10/10
8. Chase the ace - the second instrumental on the album, i reckon it ius slightly better than DT - 9/10
9. For those about to rock, we salute you - what a way to finish the album, a truly classic song - 10/10
This album was a great follow up to Fly on the wall, and even though there were only three new songs, it still sold over five milion copies in the US alone, i really do recommend that you buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 14 Feb 2005
By 
DocBhoy (Invercargill , New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
Songs taken from the DTV movie "Maximum Overdrive" , this is a mixed bag from the Aussie classic rockers . There are a couple of instrumentals , of average quality , a few more rocky numbers , fairly satisfying , and ( criminally ) only one Bon Scott track - the bluesy "Ride On" .
The numbers include some real classics , such as "For Those About To Rock" and "Hells Bells" .
Personally , given a choice again , I would rather buy a Greatest Hits package than this - all of these songs , and more .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious classic rock, 9 July 2003
By 
AGH (Hamphsire UK) - See all my reviews
Tracks from this album were a favourite in a heavy metal club circa 1990 in my student days, perhaps the happy memories are what makes me give this 5 stars rather than the 4 of the previous reviewers.
Full on classic 80's head banging rock music, plenty of electric guitar and drums. Uncomplicated, addictive and thoroughly delicious. It just makes me smile at the start of every track. ACDC still ROCKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who Made Who? Stephen King..., 15 Dec 2010
By 
Azz McMahon (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
As many have commented here, this was indeed the soundtrack for now cult Stephen King trailer trash movie Maximum Overdrive.

This album is a soundtrack and features all the songs that were featured in the film itself that were performed by AC/DC (the film has excerpts from Wagner and an ice cream truck plays King of the Road as it's jingle) - bar a few short instrumentals from the movie (one of which is a sweet blues jam with some great solo work from Angus).

Who Made Who is the official theme song, with lyrics (particularly the chorus) taken indirectly from the movie script, and D.T. and Chase the Ace were both featured in the film during chase scenes or when the machines go beserk in some instances.

The rest of the tracks appear at different intervals depending on what the characters are doing - Ride On for instance, occurs during a quieter moment where things look bleak for the heroes in the film - it adds to the atmosphere (well what there is to be had in the film itself).

Who Made Who is a fine rocking album in it's own right (indeed, the title song is one of my all time favourite AC/DC tracks from the Johnson era), but it works better as a soundtrack album if you've actually seen the film, to work out why there are such curios as remixed versions of Sink the Pink and Shake Your Foundations - and no songs such as T.N.T., Highway to Hell (I guess even King thought that wasn't ironic enough a song for a bunch of folks being slaughtered by trucks at a truck stop, or maybe the band just wanted to be relevant with the current line up), or even Flick of the Switch, Rising Power - or some similar song that could contain dark humour to go with the film itself.

They maybe should have just released Who Made Who as an EP instead of an album, but Stephen King fans into hard rock should get it to complete part of his works - and if you're an Acca Dacca fan, you should do the same.

As an AC/DC album, it is certainly a stopgap, but if you don't have If You Want Blood (a true example of a greatest hits album - and live, when the band are at their best), Who Made Who isn't a bad time capsule of the early to mid 80's - though like Maximum Overdrive itself, it IS an acquired taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
brilliant cd.awesome music from AC/DC.one of the best ever that they have done.always great music.have seen them live and found them drilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a converted ac/dc fan, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
my first cd by ac/dc.brilliant.i play it morning,noon and night.who made who is the track for me.
look at the video on you tube music for the who made who track.you will like it.
i would recommend,no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC at their best, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Kr Mathieson (Luton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
LOVE this cd LOVE AC/DC what more can I say.Wish the guy,s would tour again here in the UK. PLEASE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who, 23 July 2013
By 
Scott Fraser (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Soundtrack to Maximum Overdrive (less said the better) - the first AC/DC 'compilation'. I'm a huge DC fan but its not a great tracklist and lasts a measly 38 mins. Best track is the Bon cut Ride On followed by Hells Bells from the 40 million selling Back in Black. Still its got Who made Who and 2 short instrumental tracks so buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars :-), 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
Not as good as the old stuff but far better than the new stuff, Angus at his best in here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC who made who, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
AC/DC who made who......good album,cracking tunes throughout and the booklet is full of info and pics. would make a good introdution to the group...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Made Who
Who Made Who by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews