Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!
Who made who was released after fly on the wall, and is a definate improvement, taken from the stephen king film, maximum overdrive, it is basically a mini best of ac/dc up to that point.
1. Who made who - one of the best songs they have ever recorded, so damn catchy - 10/10
2. You shook me all night long - yet again another true classic - 10/10
3. DT - the...
Published on 10 Sept. 2003 by ste-ven

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Minimum Undercoast
This is an anomaly of a comilation album, made specifically for the film Maximum Overdrive, based on the Stephen King short story 'Trucks', which I suppose makes it both a soundtrack ANd a compilation album. And it's ok but there are a lot of really good AC/DC songs but 'Sink the Pink' and 'Shake Your Foundations' aren't any of them. It is nice to see the inimitable 'Ride...
Published on 7 Mar. 2012 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 10 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
Who made who was released after fly on the wall, and is a definate improvement, taken from the stephen king film, maximum overdrive, it is basically a mini best of ac/dc up to that point.
1. Who made who - one of the best songs they have ever recorded, so damn catchy - 10/10
2. You shook me all night long - yet again another true classic - 10/10
3. DT - the first of two instrumentals, this is great - 8/10
4. Sink the pink - what a dirty song, another classic - 10/10
5. Ride on - the only song from the bon era, not one of my favourites, but still a good song - 8/10
6. Hells bells - a ledgendary song - 10/10
7. Shake your foundations - another classic taken from the fly on the wall album - 10/10
8. Chase the ace - the second instrumental on the album, i reckon it ius slightly better than DT - 9/10
9. For those about to rock, we salute you - what a way to finish the album, a truly classic song - 10/10
This album was a great follow up to Fly on the wall, and even though there were only three new songs, it still sold over five milion copies in the US alone, i really do recommend that you buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Minimum Undercoast, 7 Mar. 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
This is an anomaly of a comilation album, made specifically for the film Maximum Overdrive, based on the Stephen King short story 'Trucks', which I suppose makes it both a soundtrack ANd a compilation album. And it's ok but there are a lot of really good AC/DC songs but 'Sink the Pink' and 'Shake Your Foundations' aren't any of them. It is nice to see the inimitable 'Ride On' from Dirty Deeds... and the excellent classics 'You Shook Me All Night Long' and 'For Those About to Rock...' but where's the 'Back in Black' instead of 'Hell's Bells'?

The original tracks are all good, 'Who Made Who' being a great song, showing a new, more tuneful direction for the band. The instrumentals are ok interludes but nothing more really.

On the whole it's very good but also missing many other classics while a few lesser ones languish in their place, although more recently written at the time of its release hence their inclusion.

And actually not a bad place to start if you have never heard them before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 14 Feb. 2005
By 
DocBhoy (Invercargill , New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
Songs taken from the DTV movie "Maximum Overdrive" , this is a mixed bag from the Aussie classic rockers . There are a couple of instrumentals , of average quality , a few more rocky numbers , fairly satisfying , and ( criminally ) only one Bon Scott track - the bluesy "Ride On" .
The numbers include some real classics , such as "For Those About To Rock" and "Hells Bells" .
Personally , given a choice again , I would rather buy a Greatest Hits package than this - all of these songs , and more .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who Made Who? Stephen King..., 15 Dec. 2010
By 
Azz McMahon (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
As many have commented here, this was indeed the soundtrack for now cult Stephen King trailer trash movie Maximum Overdrive.

This album is a soundtrack and features all the songs that were featured in the film itself that were performed by AC/DC (the film has excerpts from Wagner and an ice cream truck plays King of the Road as it's jingle) - bar a few short instrumentals from the movie (one of which is a sweet blues jam with some great solo work from Angus).

Who Made Who is the official theme song, with lyrics (particularly the chorus) taken indirectly from the movie script, and D.T. and Chase the Ace were both featured in the film during chase scenes or when the machines go beserk in some instances.

The rest of the tracks appear at different intervals depending on what the characters are doing - Ride On for instance, occurs during a quieter moment where things look bleak for the heroes in the film - it adds to the atmosphere (well what there is to be had in the film itself).

Who Made Who is a fine rocking album in it's own right (indeed, the title song is one of my all time favourite AC/DC tracks from the Johnson era), but it works better as a soundtrack album if you've actually seen the film, to work out why there are such curios as remixed versions of Sink the Pink and Shake Your Foundations - and no songs such as T.N.T., Highway to Hell (I guess even King thought that wasn't ironic enough a song for a bunch of folks being slaughtered by trucks at a truck stop, or maybe the band just wanted to be relevant with the current line up), or even Flick of the Switch, Rising Power - or some similar song that could contain dark humour to go with the film itself.

They maybe should have just released Who Made Who as an EP instead of an album, but Stephen King fans into hard rock should get it to complete part of his works - and if you're an Acca Dacca fan, you should do the same.

As an AC/DC album, it is certainly a stopgap, but if you don't have If You Want Blood (a true example of a greatest hits album - and live, when the band are at their best), Who Made Who isn't a bad time capsule of the early to mid 80's - though like Maximum Overdrive itself, it IS an acquired taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like a mini greatest hits - good to have in any rock collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good rockin stuff, got my head banging and my foot tapping !.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious classic rock, 9 July 2003
By 
AGH (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Tracks from this album were a favourite in a heavy metal club circa 1990 in my student days, perhaps the happy memories are what makes me give this 5 stars rather than the 4 of the previous reviewers.
Full on classic 80's head banging rock music, plenty of electric guitar and drums. Uncomplicated, addictive and thoroughly delicious. It just makes me smile at the start of every track. ACDC still ROCKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent music, what more can be said, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
excellent music,what more can be said,its AC/DC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scrappy But Brilliant, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
It's maybe a random collection of tracks thrown together for a film soundtrack but despite this it is still a great album. As stated elsewhere there are only three new tracks, the great title track and two solid instrumentals (D.T. & Chase The Ace). The only track to feature Bon Scott on vocals is Ride On (from Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap album) which is a slow bluesy track. Most of the tracks are part of the established AC/DC legend including You Shook Me All Night Long & Hell's Bells (from Back In Black). Sink The Pink & Shake Your Foundations (the highlights from the disappointing Fly On The Wall album) and the album finishes on the majestic For Those About To Rock (We Salute You).

Until the release of Iron Man 2 Who Made Who was the closest AC/DC had come to a greatest hits album. It still provides a good overview of AC/DC's back catalogue with Brian Johnson on vocals. Who Made Who is unfairly dismissed during discussions on the band's career but almost 25 years after it's release it's still band 4th biggest selling album in the US with sales of five million. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ever get the feeling you've been cheated?, 5 July 2009
By 
Guy Peters - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Made Who (Audio CD)
Part stop-gap `compilation,' part cynical rip-off and part soundtrack to Stephen King's legendarily silly movie Maximum Overdrive, Who Made Who gloriously fails at its attempts to pretend it is an essential release. OK, some of the stuff gathered here is excellent: "You Shook Me All Night Long" and "Hells Bells" are among the highlights on the band's lauded Back in Black, "For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)" is by many people considered to be a rock classic (I'm not that fond of it, but OK, I dig it), "Sink the Pink," and "Shake Your Foundations" are two of the few bearable songs on Fly on the Wall. There's also one song from the Bon Scott-era, but I have no idea why it's "Ride On," a slow and bluesy track from the Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap-compilation. To legitimise its own existence, the compilation also features three new cuts, but they don't exactly turn it into an essential artefact. The repetitive title track is quite enjoyable, in a way that the cheery fellow at your local pub cracks you up. Good company, but only for a few minutes. On top of that, there are two new instrumentals, "D.T." and "Chase the Ace," none of which is particularly impressive.

They both suffer from the soundtrack-disease, the former because there's not much of an inspiring structure and a fade-out of roughly one minute (while it's a three minute-song), the latter because it just lacks something when not accompanied by the visual images it's normally part of. So, that's a few excellent tracks, a few good ones and some filler. Under normal circumstances, this would warrant at least a decent-good rating, but hey, it's still only nine songs and the best of `em were already released in the company of much more entertaining stuff. If you're into soundtracks or AC/DC, this might be your thing, otherwise just ignore it and get the essential albums instead. "Ever get the feeling you've been cheated?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Made Who
Who Made Who by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews