Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated
I personally have always prefered this album to Back in Black (only just), I just think that there are 1 or 2 more, slightly,weaker tracks on BIB.Songs like COD & Spellound are almost forgotten classics and some of the rifs are so minimal yet the songs are just awesome. Topping off this album are Brian Johnsons awe inspring vocals. I don't think there was anyone in the...
Published on 20 Dec 2006 by Dr Teeth

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All cannon and no balls
I've tried and tried to like this album more over the years but it still remains, for me, one of their most dissappointing releases. Lets face it how do you top or even equal the power and glory that is Back In Black? The title track is the best song on the album by a country mile, and is the only one they still play live from this album. Lets Get it Up was a hit in the...
Published on 6 April 2011 by G. De Ste Croix


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated, 20 Dec 2006
This review is from: For Those About To Rock [We Salute You] (Audio CD)
I personally have always prefered this album to Back in Black (only just), I just think that there are 1 or 2 more, slightly,weaker tracks on BIB.Songs like COD & Spellound are almost forgotten classics and some of the rifs are so minimal yet the songs are just awesome. Topping off this album are Brian Johnsons awe inspring vocals. I don't think there was anyone in the world who could have pulled off those vocals like he did, his range was mind blowing and the sheer power in his voice really took the band up a notch I thought. I think everyone talks about Bon Scott in preference to B.J. but I think he gets a rough ride. Don't get me wrong I LOVE Bon Scott's work but let's be absolutely honest, Brian Johnson sang the Bon Scott songs with ease, Bon Scott couldn't have sung the B.J. songs

in the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic follow up to the bigger selling "Back in Black", 14 May 2000
By A Customer
To any rock initiate's looking to sample Ac/Dc's classic, some say simple rock form, then this should be third on their list of wants after "Highway to Hell" and "Back in Black". The quality of this album however ensures it still receives a five star rating.
Hitting the No. 1 spot in the US in 1981, the Brian Johnson led 'DC continued to produce the kind of rock power riffing that other bands could only wish to aspire to. Listen to the opening track, "For those about to Rock...", at full blast in your car and you'll know exactly what I mean. Even the cannons at the end of the track sound in tune. This is just the start of it, as the remaining tracks are also up there in the "classic" status. Hopefully any real ACDC aficionado would agree that listening to tracks 1 to 10 in succession will keep you bobbing your head in rock unison. This is especially true from relatively unknown tracks such as "Put the Finger on You", "Snowballed" and the stop start fantastic riffing of "COD". To be honest its songs like these that I wish the 'DC would dust off and bring back to the live circuit. Well one can dream!
All in all, "For those about to Rock" is a spectacular album that any new AC/DC fan should own. Especially if they've only just awoken to the fact that "Stiff Upper Lip" ('DC's brilliant new album) has recaptured the sound of old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Follow-Up to Back In Black, 5 Aug 2004
This review is from: For Those About To Rock [We Salute You] (Audio CD)
Obviously not as good as BIB but still a necessary purchase for any AC/DC fan.
There are 4 excellent tracks on here:
FOR THOSE ABOUT TO ROCK (WE SALUTE YOU)
I PUT THE FINGER ON YOU
EVIL WALKS
COD
There are a couple of other songs that are good, namely NIGHT OF THE LONG LIVES and LETS GET IT UP.
Overall, great album and definately worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All cannon and no balls, 6 April 2011
By 
G. De Ste Croix (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've tried and tried to like this album more over the years but it still remains, for me, one of their most dissappointing releases. Lets face it how do you top or even equal the power and glory that is Back In Black? The title track is the best song on the album by a country mile, and is the only one they still play live from this album. Lets Get it Up was a hit in the singles chart, and is a reasonable AC/DC number but pales into insignificance when compared to the incredible back catalogue that preceeds it. Reviews at the time were unimpressive, but due to the bands increased popularity following BIB and their fantastic live shows, this record sold very well especially in the US where, I think it topped the billboard charts. This particular release includes badges, keyrings etc which will only be relevant to the die hards, so if you want to check it out purely for the music go for the earlier remaster for less than a fiver. OK methinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Rockin ACDC Album, 9 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: For Those About To Rock [We Salute You] (Audio CD)
ACDC For Those About To Rock(We Salute You).
1xCD.
Digitally Remastered Edition.

Track Listings.
1)For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)
2)I Put The Finger On You
3)Let's Get It Up
4)Inject The Venom
5)Snowballed
6)Evil Walks
7)C.O.D.
8)Breaking The Rules
9)Night Of The Long Knives
10)Spellbound

Timelord Thoughts.
This is a excellent album thats easily on par with Back in Black, the songs are hard rocking tracks with Brian Johnson belting out some mind blowing vocals plus Angus Youngs awesome guitar riffing, For those about to Rock is a excellent ACDC rock anthem kicking off the album in style while other tracks includes the outstanding Night Of The Long Knives, Put the Finger on You, Snowballed & the awesome drumming C.O.D which are all underrated gems that I feel deserve far more credit, the only slight weak track to the album is underwhelming Breaking The Rules which doesn't quite fit with the other material on the album.

This digital remastered album comes complete with a booklet that's inside a durable shiny cardboard gatefold sleeve.

Overall, For those about to Rock is a fantastic ACDC album that stays true to the bands bluesy rock & delivers ten quality songs & no fillers & showcases why this group are the monster's of rock.

Timelord Rating.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power, class, style....another classic album, 23 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: For Those About To Rock [We Salute You] (Audio CD)
This is one hell of an album. Different to Back In Black in that the songs, whilst having big choruses, were not necessarily radio-friendly as much as tunes like You Shook Me All Night long or even Back In Black itself. The band went for an enormous production, again via Mutt Lange, but although it's a huge sound, it's not lacking in character or over-produced. The songs are interesting, unique in places, diverse, and among the most inspired the band have come up with. A real hard-rock album, a long way apart from something like Powerage, yet still with the band's hallmark all over it. Brian Johnson at his peak was an awesome, one-off vocalist (still sounding like no-one else and doing a decent job today by the way), and although he was perhaps enduring slight vocal chord nodules around this time, his performance on this record is pretty stunning from start to finish. Angus' solos were drenched with the usual superb, wide vibrato and flowing blues runs, and the whole thing hasn't aged at all in the last 25 years. In my opinion, AC/DC made 6 classic albums in a row: Powerage, If You Want Blood, Highway to Hell, Back In Black, For Those About To Rock and Flick of the Switch. An amazing band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old AC/DC with some unforgetable tracks., 17 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: For Those About to Rock (Audio CD)
For Those About To Rock (We Salute You) is a great example of how good AC/DC really are. From the very first track, titled after the album itself righ through to "inject the venom," "breaking the rules" and "spellbound" you won't want to take this CD out of your player, it's replay value is very high.
This is a must have for every AC/DC fan, and even if you don't like the band it's worth buying purely for the great guitar stylings of the awesome Angus Young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars C.H.I.P.S., 11 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For those about to rock (Audio CD)
Ah, the only AC/DC album containing a song named in honour of a species of fish.

But seriously folks, here's a little secret for y'all. Ignore the remasters of For Those About To Rock because the original 1980's CD is a far more satisfying listening experience. It was mastered by a gentleman named Barry Diament who performed a straight transfer from the original tapes, with none of the extra tweaking or fiddling found on subsequent reissues.

(The disc I purchased from this listing was the 1980's release, but if you're after a specific edition always be sure to email the seller beforehand to check what they're selling matches the listing. Amazon's system sometimes misdates albums - or even shows no release date information, as is the case with this listing).

And what about the quality of the album itself?

It's much maligned as being inferior to Back In Black. But which of the Brian Johnson albums is equal (or superior) to that album anyway? None of 'em.

Judge this album on it own merits as an AC/DC release and you'll probably find it's one of the best from the Brian Johnson years. In the top 3, no doubt.

Speaking of which, let's be completely frank. Picture this scenario; For Those About To Rock was never released as an album, and instead appeared 20 years later as a bonus disc on a Back In Black remaster. A hell of a lot of those same people who today bitch about For Those About To Rock being worse than Back In Black would probably be screaming "Why weren't these songs released at the time! Why wasn't Back In Black a double album!? Why wasn't THIS released as a follow up to Back In Black?!".

There are certainly a number of songs on this album which (had they been written a year earlier) wouldn't have sounded out of place on Back In Black. I doubt anybody would have complained had Inject The Venom, Evil Walks or For Those About To Rock appeared on Back In Black. Musically even Night Of The Long Knives would have been worthy of inclusion, let down only by the lame chorus (possibly the first of the Johnson era band's songs to fall into the trap of simply repeating the title over and over and over again?)

So from a compositional standpoint the gulf between this album and Back in Black isn't that huge.

In a nutshell, if you like Back in Black you'll probably like this album. You probably just won't like it quite as much. But I'd confidently predict you'll like it a whole heap more than most of the rest of the Brian Johnson albums.

A solid 4 out of 5 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Paul Buckley (Poole, Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: For Those About To Rock [We Salute You] (Audio CD)
I'm a big AC/DC fan and this is just such a great album. You won't be sorry if you buy this, go on, get rockin'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 16 Oct 2008
This review is from: For Those About To Rock [We Salute You] (Audio CD)
Ok, I'm a bit biased here. For Those About To Rock was the first AC/DC album I ever heard way back in early 1982 and I love it as much now as I did then. Beano Johnson gets his second crack at the whip fronting the band and he's clearly having the time of his life while the rest of the boys just do what they do best.

There's little point in doing a track-by-track analysis because there isn't a single number on this record that is anything less than fantastic. Even the more critically-maligned songs such as Breaking The Rules and Night Of The Long Knives just take my breath away. The riffs are so ingrained into my memory that I even subconsciously ripped off Put The Finger On You when writing a song for my own band and didn't notice until the bass player pointed it out to me. I'm gonna have to go back and change that now. Mutt Lange's production remains slick and on the heavy side and that suits the album very well.

In short, it's almost perfect. I prefer it to Back In Black and it remains the yardstick by which I judge all of the Johnson era albums. If you haven't bought it you are truly missing out. Turn on One-Click and BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Those About To Rock [We Salute You]
For Those About To Rock [We Salute You] by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews