Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (200)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


109 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good they will never top it
I remember this album coming out to the predictable press slating, with barely an acknowledgement of the band's bold decision to continue with a new vocalist in place of the then recently deceased Bon Scott. And it WAS a brave move; Scott was a legendary singer and writer, and any new guy had huge shoes to fill. The fact that, 24 years later, Brian Johnson is STILL the...
Published on 5 Dec. 2004 by ronster500

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Fine if you like it
I bought this CD for £4 after hearing one of the tracks during a break in the women's boxing at the commonwealth games.
I ripped that track and another to keep on my iPod and gave the CD to a charity shop in time for xmas so someone can own and enjoy it for even less.
Fans of this band do not like my reviews of it but reviews are to assist those who are unsure...
Published 6 months ago by Rachel


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best AC/DC Album, 11 Dec. 2005
By 
nibbler65 (West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
This Album is in my humble opinion, the best AC/DC produced. There isn't a single track on the Album I don't like, which is rare as when you buy an Album there are usually 1 or 2 tracks that aren't up to scratch. Brian Johnsons' powerful voice, Phil Rudds' impeccable timing on the drums along with Angus Youngs' enthusiasm and energy on the lead guitar make for an enthralling and somewhat emotional journey through what I can only describe as one of the Greatest Rock Albums of all time. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest rock album ever?, 23 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
I became a fan of rock music because of AC/DC and I nearly went deaf listening to the "If you want blood" live album on my Walkman as a kid. Back in Black was the first vinyl AC/DC album I owned, as I borrowed the others from my older brother. It took my breath away back then and it still has the same effect now. I am torn between this, Let there be rock and Highway to Hell as to which is the ultimate of thier albums, guess it depends on my mood. All 3 live in my car some 25-30 years after thier release, testament to their lasting appeal. I would advise you buy all 3 along with the aformentioned If you want blood and enjoy bar brawling, womanising, gutsy rock n roll at its absolute finest. As for Back in Black itself, play very loud, have your air guitar tuned and ask yourself if any rock album since has bettered this. AC/DC at thier finest and sadly the last truly great album they recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last really good AC/DC release?, 7 Nov. 2003
By 
Andrew Moore "Mac User" (Cowes, Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
Its all been said before. The battle of the lead singers. The legend, Bon Scott versus the stand-in, Brian Johnson. Me? Well, I am firmly in the first camp but, with ‘Back In Black’ I don’t mind putting a foot into enemy territory for a riff or two.
‘Back In Black’ was the transitional album where AC/DC went from roadside rockers to stadium giants. What followed ‘Back In Black’ is a ‘country mile’ away from the material that started with ‘High Voltage’ in Australia in 1976. That said, ‘Back In Black’ is a good album and you need not feel uneasy about sliding it into your collection next to ‘Highway To Hell’ et al. There are some cracking riffs from Angus Young and Phil Rudd’s drumming sounds spot on. Lyrically though, its not up to the Bon Scott standard, but Brian Johnson’s vocals pack a punch.
I must say, whatever remastering does, this version of ‘Back In Black’ sounds very crisp and clear. Very soon I found my ears pricking up at some nuance or other that I had never heard on my vinyl copy.

As an alternative to buying the stand-alone album, why not buy ‘Bonfire’? The box-set comes with the remastered version of ‘Back In Black’.
Andy Moore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC at their best and rock at its best, 5 April 2005
By 
M. J. Funnell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
This is the first ac/dc album i bought, and every time i listen to it, it makes me want to pick up my guitar and start playing. Whether it's the title track Back in Black, You Shook me all Night Long or Shoot to Thrill they all include classic guitar riffs and are AC/DC at their peak (in my opinion).
This album out-does any other AC/DC album i have (except highway to hell which is n a close second). Even Shake a leg, which some people may call a weak track is pretty amazing if you take out the chorus. It is just one of those albums you can listen through EVERY SONG without getting bored.
Hells bells starts off the album with a great riff and prepares you for the amazing songs to come. One of the best tracks on the album. Shoot to thrill is another classic (aren't they all on this album?!) which i think is slightly better than hells bells. it is quite a simple song but it is well worth 5 minutes of your time. What do you do for money honey and givin' the dog a bone are not my favourite tracks of the album but they are still worth listening to. Let me put my love into you is another quality track and one of the best so far.. but then we have what I think are AC/DC's 2 greatest songs. Back in black and You shok me all night long are hard to seperate and although thye title track maybe more widely known, i think you shook me all night long is as good or even better. The next song would be a classic if not for the previous 2 songs. One of my favourites on the album. It then ends with the slightly weaker shake a leg (let down by the chorus) before rock and roll aint noise pollution. This ends what i believe is one of rocks greatest albums of all time.
I can only re-iterate what other people have said about Back in black, and urge anyone out there who does not have the album to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quite simply the greatest rock album ever commited to tape, 17 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
Where can you begin when trying to summarise this quite fantastic collection of hard rocking songs? AC/DC have always been about letting classic riffs do the talking, and in this case there are ten beauties to get your teeth into. From the sinister opening track "Hell's Bells" to the typical Acca Dacca sleaze of "Giving The Dog a Bone" and the world-wide hit "You Shook Me All night Long", every song is instantly memorable. Brian Johnson had an impossible task when he stepped into Bon Scott's shoes as AC/DC's frontman, but as this album shows, he was more than equal to the task. His gravelly voice fits perfectly into the AC/DC groove and compliments the guitars of the Young brothers perfectly, as is shown on tracks such as "Shoot To Thrill." Quite honestly, if you've never rocked to "Back In Black", you've never lived. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic ACDC, 6 May 2014
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
This is the first album by the band with Brian Johnson on lead vocals taking over from the late great Bon Scott & made his mark instantly with his excellent shrieking vocals that delivers one of the bands best albums.

From the excellent opening of Hells Bells, Shoot To Thrill, You Shook Me All Night Long & the iconic Back In Black this album showcases the bands harder rocking edge & delivers one outstanding quality album.

Angus Youngs riffs on this album are outstanding & new lead singer Brian Johnson roars on the lead vocals which would go on to become some of ACDC iconic classic songs.

As a massive ACDC fan I brought the remastered series of albums which sound better than they ever did.

The CD comes in a gatefold sleeve complete with a informative booklet & is well worth adding to your rock collection.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC strike back...., 6 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
There's lots of dispute between hardcore AC/DC fans as to which lead singer was the better - 'Back in Black' is probably the strongest argument for Brian Johnson being the better, I love them both (R.I.P. Bon, hope your still rocking hard up there). Ask any AC/DC fan who's followed the band through their entire career and they will tell you that the opening vocal blast on track six - the title track of this album "Back in Black!!..." could only have been sung by Brian Johnson. There are some malinformed people who say that the two singers voices are the same. Granted they are similar but Bon Scott's voice was always more leer and sneer and laden with innuendo almost the voice of the devil himself it's hard to describe. Where as every lyric Brian sings tends to be a powerful shrieking blast. Both styles complemented the no nonsense rocking of the brothers young - Angus (is god) and Malcolm's music perfectly. With Bon passing on from his own excesses after the release of Highway to Hell in 1979, critics said AC/DC were dead and gone. However just three days after Bon's funeral Angus phoned Malcolm. Angus said that he wasn't going to mope around and he wanted to do what Bon would have wanted -Rock on. They agreed to get together and jam and they continued rocking on and thank god they did for after catching the perfect new voice to compliment the crash of Angus Young's Gibson SG - 'Back in Black' was born. This album still stands as a monument to all rock fans today and for hard rock fans this is the audio bible. 'Back in Black' was not just fantastic music (10 out of 10 for every song on the album - there's not a bad one on there) and one of the most famous rock riffs ever. It was a tribute to the late Bon Scott and a hard rocking slap in the face to the critics who said AC/DC were dead and buried without a lead singer.
AC/DC fan - why are you bothering to read this you should own it!
Hard Rock fan - Essential hard rock, don't dare call yourself a hard rock fan without owning this!
Rock fan - Like rock? there'll be something in here for you - it's a piece of rock history - buy it!
Human and have hearing? - BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars 'aint enough., 2 Sept. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Back in Black (Audio CD)
Undoutedly one of the greatest albums of all time, alongside with the Red Hot Chili Peppers Blood Sugar Sex Magik and Led Zeppelin 3, dare you call yourself a rock fan without owning this album. Let me take you through it and and perhaps warp your mind into buying it;
Hell's Bells 10/10- A truly pounding opener witch will have you head-banging and attempting to schreech the words at the top of your voice.(Believe me, I do)
Shoot to thrill 9/10- fast and catchy with a toe tapingly good chourus. One of the best onthe cd.
What you do for money honey 9/10- A true song if you actually listen to it. Its really good when Johnsons High pitched schreeching kicks in.
Giving the dog a bone 7/10- A truly filthy song just showing what a bunch of sleeze-bags theese people are. Its still pretty funny though, heh heh heh....
Let me put my love into you 9/10- Not as jolly and upbeat as their usual stuff but still really good. More dark and daring than usual. 'Twas banned for a while.
Back in Black 10/10- Perhaps the best on the cd and mind boggingly powerful. Crank this up full volume, tune your air guitar and enjoy the ride.
You shook me all night long 10/10- You can see why this was a world wide hit.The backing vocals are powreful. A real hit.
Have a drink on me 10/10- This is REALLY catchy. Its got a really good base line, and is quite funny to listen to. The guitar is really pounding.
Shake a leg 6/10- Probably the worst on the cd but still pretty good.The guitar makes up for the weak vocals. A litte lame. Still Ok.
Rock and roll 'aint noise pollution 10/10- Maybe the best on the cd and probably the best track they've ever done. The simple but catchy guitar is mind blowing and Brians vocals are raspy and deeper than usual.Its great the way they hold on to 'rock and roooooooooll..'. The whole cd is a class act all the way.-MARK DEAKIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallized!, 6 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Back in Black (Audio CD)
By any normal analysis AC/DC were finished when singer Bon Scott choked to death on his own vomit. But, having hired ex-Geordie frontman Brian Johnson, the band decided to carry on and produced their most successful album; it's like stuffing your ears with dynamite. The absolute quintessence of rock.
The real hero of both Back in Black and it's predecessor Highway to Hell is the producer, "Mutt" Lange. He bought out the best in the band's music with a super crisp sound, giving each instrument pure clarity but never diminishing the band's savage kick or degenerating into over produced mush. For the proof of it compare Back in Black to later albums without Lange such as Flick of the Switch or the terrible Ballbreaker.
This is AC/DC's finest hour - they sound like no other band on earth and for their two best albums they sounded like no band FROM earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic, 29 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Back in Black (Audio CD)
Probably the best album AC/DC ever released. The highlight of their career to that point had been "Highway to Hell", their last album before Bon Scott's untimely death. Few expected the band to continue at all, let alone release an album of this quality within a year. There really isn't any excuse for a rock fan not to own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back In Black
Back In Black by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews