Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good they will never top it
I remember this album coming out to the predictable press slating, with barely an acknowledgement of the band's bold decision to continue with a new vocalist in place of the then recently deceased Bon Scott. And it WAS a brave move; Scott was a legendary singer and writer, and any new guy had huge shoes to fill. The fact that, 24 years later, Brian Johnson is STILL the...
Published on 5 Dec 2004 by ronster500

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated
Bought this becuase I remember it from my youth ( now late 40's )

Sorry, I know some of the tracks are classics but this all sounds rather dated now and got played once
Published 7 months ago by Michael H


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good they will never top it, 5 Dec 2004
By 
ronster500 (Liverpool, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
I remember this album coming out to the predictable press slating, with barely an acknowledgement of the band's bold decision to continue with a new vocalist in place of the then recently deceased Bon Scott. And it WAS a brave move; Scott was a legendary singer and writer, and any new guy had huge shoes to fill. The fact that, 24 years later, Brian Johnson is STILL the lead singer of AC/DC today shows how well he did in taking on one of the toughest gigs in rock.
But what of this album, the debut from the new boy? Opening with the slow burning 'Hell's Bells', the ringing of the bell and of the opening guitar riff lulls you into a false sense of security before the hammer comes down - once the main riff kicks in you know the guys are going to deliver.
'Back in Black' is one of those rare albums whose every track hits the spot - from the hard rockin' 'Shoot to Thrill', to the simply awesome title track, and through to the two hit singles (You Shook Me All Night Long and Rock and Roll Ain't Noise Pollution) the quality never lets up. If you do not pick your air guitar up at least once during this album, then rock and roll is not for you!
Although AC/DC have continued to tour and record up to the present day, they must know that this album was their masterpiece. They still play many songs from this album in their live set, a testament to its enduring appeal.
Their subsequent albums never recaptured this glory fully, although they have made some good music since, but any band would be proud to have made one album as consistently strong as 'Back in Black'.
If you consider yourself a rock fan, be it old school or new/nu style, if you like guitar based heavy music of any kind you simply must own this album. Utterly magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the greatest rock record of all time..., 10 Mar 2006
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
If you've never heard this album then do yourself a favour and get hold of a copy asap. It's not heavy metal, it's blues-based rock in a classic vein. Even girlfriends who don't like heavy guitar music have always dug this album, it's THAT good. As most people have said, there isn't a bad song on the whole album. I'd go further, there is no need to even mention bad songs! Every song on this LP is truly out of the top drawer. The riffs & solos are absolutely superb, you won't hear better guitar playing in this genre ANYWHERE. Each riff is memorable, each verse, each chorus, each solo...there is no filler here, it's a masterpiece. It's like they spent 20 years on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 26 Sep 2006
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
This is a work of complete and utter genius. From the opening chimes of Hells Bells onward, it never lets up for a second. Unlike most albums, there's not a bad track on it; indeed the tracks presented here are uniformly excellent, with lyrics that focus on the rock staples of hard drink, hard women, sex, crime and (of course) hell, all coupled together with lascivious diversions and metaphors. The band work as one, producing original and energetic sounds that stand up to repeated listening. It's hard to fault it, but if I had a criticism, it would be that the sound has slightly more studio polish than the band's earlier work, but to my mind this does not detract form its quality or worth.

This album is a synch to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly essential, 27 Oct 2003
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
With AC/DC's entire line of albums being re-issued, and after excellent reviews in Total Guitar, I decided to chance 11 on this album, despite the fact I couldn't remember the last song of theirs I'd heard, and the fact my stepmum can't stand them. I bought it more for Angus Young's playing style, which I'd heard so much about. Described by the legendary Zakk Wylde as "the blues on steroids", Young's solos are, basically, the simple things done very, very well. The solo to What Do you Do For Money Honey is particularly refreshing to listen to, even if you aren't sick of endless fancy stuff.
I was surprised at the fact that I didn't find Johnson's high-pitched voice annoying. Despite not demonstrating a large vocal range, he delivers the songs superbly. The rest of the band is good in support, especially Angus's brother Malcolm, who actually plays a lot of the riffs.
In all, this is a good album even if you haven't heard any AC/DC songs before. For budding guitarists like myself, Young's style is interesting to listen to, and proves that you don't need effects pedals and multi-FX units to sound good. He simply plugs his guitar into a Marshall stack and that's it. Inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted., 14 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Back in Black (Audio CD)
If you're fed up of the squeaky clean pop thats churned out daily, this album might just change your life. No nice smiles, no deep and meaningful lyrics, just pure Rock n Roll.
Angus Young's genius guitar solos coupled with Brian Johnson's painfully scratchy yet powerful voice make this album one for the boys.
Best listened to at full volume, the rhythm laid down in tracks such as "You Shook me All Night Long" and "Let me put my Love into You" is bound to have you head banging and falling around playing air guitar in no time at all.
There is no comparison to this - its in a class all of its own. Nothing even comes close. Back in Black is a sheer brilliance, and a more than fitting tribute to the late Bon Scott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will not get a better Rock album!!!!, 19 Nov 2003
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
AC/DC are one of the greatest bands in the world and this is one of the best rock albums the world has to offer.
The success of the band lies in it's simplicity. Loud, distorted guitars, crunching riffs and songs which are full of sexual references. When you see limp rock on the TV offered by Coldplay and Starsailor sung by pretty boys, it is no wonder people get so sick of it and listen to rock music as it was meant to be played; loud, raucous, and objectionable. Back in Black has lost none of it's relavance since the day it was recorded and it is still the benchmark by which all hard rock bands judge themselves.
Bon Scott; the original singer, died of alcohol poisoning shortly before this was released and this would have provoked sympathetic reactions from everyone. Not so with AC/DC, not only did they carry on but they wrote the unsympathetic song 'Have a Drink on me'. This was unusual, considering that Led Zeppelin decided to split up for the same reason, in the same year. (John Bonham, Zep's drummer died in the same year, 1980). This sets AC/DC apart from the rest of the rock n roll outfits in the fact that they would carry on regardless, and a good job that they did because Back in black is by far the best album that they have ever made.
There was only one problem, with Back in black being so good, it set a benchmark that even AC/DC themselves failed to reach in subsequent releases and the latest album, Stiff upper lip is the only album that comes any close to recapturing the hard rockin' glory so effortlessly portrayed in this album.
This album is for all rock music lovers, in fact, if you hate this album, you hate rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The last really good AC/DC release?, 7 Nov 2003
By 
Andrew Moore "Mac User" (Cowes, Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
Its all been said before. The battle of the lead singers. The legend, Bon Scott versus the stand-in, Brian Johnson. Me? Well, I am firmly in the first camp but, with ‘Back In Black’ I don’t mind putting a foot into enemy territory for a riff or two.
‘Back In Black’ was the transitional album where AC/DC went from roadside rockers to stadium giants. What followed ‘Back In Black’ is a ‘country mile’ away from the material that started with ‘High Voltage’ in Australia in 1976. That said, ‘Back In Black’ is a good album and you need not feel uneasy about sliding it into your collection next to ‘Highway To Hell’ et al. There are some cracking riffs from Angus Young and Phil Rudd’s drumming sounds spot on. Lyrically though, its not up to the Bon Scott standard, but Brian Johnson’s vocals pack a punch.
I must say, whatever remastering does, this version of ‘Back In Black’ sounds very crisp and clear. Very soon I found my ears pricking up at some nuance or other that I had never heard on my vinyl copy.

As an alternative to buying the stand-alone album, why not buy ‘Bonfire’? The box-set comes with the remastered version of ‘Back In Black’.
Andy Moore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best AC/DC Album, 11 Dec 2005
By 
nibbler65 (West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
This Album is in my humble opinion, the best AC/DC produced. There isn't a single track on the Album I don't like, which is rare as when you buy an Album there are usually 1 or 2 tracks that aren't up to scratch. Brian Johnsons' powerful voice, Phil Rudds' impeccable timing on the drums along with Angus Youngs' enthusiasm and energy on the lead guitar make for an enthralling and somewhat emotional journey through what I can only describe as one of the Greatest Rock Albums of all time. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC at their best and rock at its best, 5 April 2005
By 
M. J. Funnell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
This is the first ac/dc album i bought, and every time i listen to it, it makes me want to pick up my guitar and start playing. Whether it's the title track Back in Black, You Shook me all Night Long or Shoot to Thrill they all include classic guitar riffs and are AC/DC at their peak (in my opinion).
This album out-does any other AC/DC album i have (except highway to hell which is n a close second). Even Shake a leg, which some people may call a weak track is pretty amazing if you take out the chorus. It is just one of those albums you can listen through EVERY SONG without getting bored.
Hells bells starts off the album with a great riff and prepares you for the amazing songs to come. One of the best tracks on the album. Shoot to thrill is another classic (aren't they all on this album?!) which i think is slightly better than hells bells. it is quite a simple song but it is well worth 5 minutes of your time. What do you do for money honey and givin' the dog a bone are not my favourite tracks of the album but they are still worth listening to. Let me put my love into you is another quality track and one of the best so far.. but then we have what I think are AC/DC's 2 greatest songs. Back in black and You shok me all night long are hard to seperate and although thye title track maybe more widely known, i think you shook me all night long is as good or even better. The next song would be a classic if not for the previous 2 songs. One of my favourites on the album. It then ends with the slightly weaker shake a leg (let down by the chorus) before rock and roll aint noise pollution. This ends what i believe is one of rocks greatest albums of all time.
I can only re-iterate what other people have said about Back in black, and urge anyone out there who does not have the album to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quite simply the greatest rock album ever commited to tape, 17 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
Where can you begin when trying to summarise this quite fantastic collection of hard rocking songs? AC/DC have always been about letting classic riffs do the talking, and in this case there are ten beauties to get your teeth into. From the sinister opening track "Hell's Bells" to the typical Acca Dacca sleaze of "Giving The Dog a Bone" and the world-wide hit "You Shook Me All night Long", every song is instantly memorable. Brian Johnson had an impossible task when he stepped into Bon Scott's shoes as AC/DC's frontman, but as this album shows, he was more than equal to the task. His gravelly voice fits perfectly into the AC/DC groove and compliments the guitars of the Young brothers perfectly, as is shown on tracks such as "Shoot To Thrill." Quite honestly, if you've never rocked to "Back In Black", you've never lived. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back In Black
Back In Black by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews