Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good they will never top it
I remember this album coming out to the predictable press slating, with barely an acknowledgement of the band's bold decision to continue with a new vocalist in place of the then recently deceased Bon Scott. And it WAS a brave move; Scott was a legendary singer and writer, and any new guy had huge shoes to fill. The fact that, 24 years later, Brian Johnson is STILL the...
Published on 5 Dec 2004 by ronster500

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid
The records are poorly pressed leaving bumps on the surface. Skipped frequently.
Published 6 days ago by Marcus


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good they will never top it, 5 Dec 2004
By 
ronster500 (Liverpool, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
I remember this album coming out to the predictable press slating, with barely an acknowledgement of the band's bold decision to continue with a new vocalist in place of the then recently deceased Bon Scott. And it WAS a brave move; Scott was a legendary singer and writer, and any new guy had huge shoes to fill. The fact that, 24 years later, Brian Johnson is STILL the lead singer of AC/DC today shows how well he did in taking on one of the toughest gigs in rock.
But what of this album, the debut from the new boy? Opening with the slow burning 'Hell's Bells', the ringing of the bell and of the opening guitar riff lulls you into a false sense of security before the hammer comes down - once the main riff kicks in you know the guys are going to deliver.
'Back in Black' is one of those rare albums whose every track hits the spot - from the hard rockin' 'Shoot to Thrill', to the simply awesome title track, and through to the two hit singles (You Shook Me All Night Long and Rock and Roll Ain't Noise Pollution) the quality never lets up. If you do not pick your air guitar up at least once during this album, then rock and roll is not for you!
Although AC/DC have continued to tour and record up to the present day, they must know that this album was their masterpiece. They still play many songs from this album in their live set, a testament to its enduring appeal.
Their subsequent albums never recaptured this glory fully, although they have made some good music since, but any band would be proud to have made one album as consistently strong as 'Back in Black'.
If you consider yourself a rock fan, be it old school or new/nu style, if you like guitar based heavy music of any kind you simply must own this album. Utterly magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the greatest rock record of all time..., 10 Mar 2006
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
If you've never heard this album then do yourself a favour and get hold of a copy asap. It's not heavy metal, it's blues-based rock in a classic vein. Even girlfriends who don't like heavy guitar music have always dug this album, it's THAT good. As most people have said, there isn't a bad song on the whole album. I'd go further, there is no need to even mention bad songs! Every song on this LP is truly out of the top drawer. The riffs & solos are absolutely superb, you won't hear better guitar playing in this genre ANYWHERE. Each riff is memorable, each verse, each chorus, each solo...there is no filler here, it's a masterpiece. It's like they spent 20 years on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 26 Sep 2006
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
This is a work of complete and utter genius. From the opening chimes of Hells Bells onward, it never lets up for a second. Unlike most albums, there's not a bad track on it; indeed the tracks presented here are uniformly excellent, with lyrics that focus on the rock staples of hard drink, hard women, sex, crime and (of course) hell, all coupled together with lascivious diversions and metaphors. The band work as one, producing original and energetic sounds that stand up to repeated listening. It's hard to fault it, but if I had a criticism, it would be that the sound has slightly more studio polish than the band's earlier work, but to my mind this does not detract form its quality or worth.

This album is a synch to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC at their best and rock at its best, 5 April 2005
By 
M. J. Funnell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
This is the first ac/dc album i bought, and every time i listen to it, it makes me want to pick up my guitar and start playing. Whether it's the title track Back in Black, You Shook me all Night Long or Shoot to Thrill they all include classic guitar riffs and are AC/DC at their peak (in my opinion).
This album out-does any other AC/DC album i have (except highway to hell which is n a close second). Even Shake a leg, which some people may call a weak track is pretty amazing if you take out the chorus. It is just one of those albums you can listen through EVERY SONG without getting bored.
Hells bells starts off the album with a great riff and prepares you for the amazing songs to come. One of the best tracks on the album. Shoot to thrill is another classic (aren't they all on this album?!) which i think is slightly better than hells bells. it is quite a simple song but it is well worth 5 minutes of your time. What do you do for money honey and givin' the dog a bone are not my favourite tracks of the album but they are still worth listening to. Let me put my love into you is another quality track and one of the best so far.. but then we have what I think are AC/DC's 2 greatest songs. Back in black and You shok me all night long are hard to seperate and although thye title track maybe more widely known, i think you shook me all night long is as good or even better. The next song would be a classic if not for the previous 2 songs. One of my favourites on the album. It then ends with the slightly weaker shake a leg (let down by the chorus) before rock and roll aint noise pollution. This ends what i believe is one of rocks greatest albums of all time.
I can only re-iterate what other people have said about Back in black, and urge anyone out there who does not have the album to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rock albums of all time!, 16 Nov 2005
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
Back in Black is the best of the Brian Johnson era AC/DC albums and comes a close second to possibly the most rockin album of all time , Highway to Hell, featuring Bon scott. It features great songs such as Hells Bells, Shake a Leg and Rock and Roll ain't Noise Pollution. Buy it, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly bloody brilliant, 15 Aug 2001
This review is from: Back in Black (Audio CD)
Who could have expected an ablum of this magnitude after the untimley death of Bonn Scott. This ablum just simply rocks!!! From tracks like "Givin' the dog a bone" to the classic "Shook me all night long" it just simply romps along, stamping its authority over anything you have in your collection. This is an album you simply must own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best AC/DC Album, 11 Dec 2005
By 
nibbler65 (West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
This Album is in my humble opinion, the best AC/DC produced. There isn't a single track on the Album I don't like, which is rare as when you buy an Album there are usually 1 or 2 tracks that aren't up to scratch. Brian Johnsons' powerful voice, Phil Rudds' impeccable timing on the drums along with Angus Youngs' enthusiasm and energy on the lead guitar make for an enthralling and somewhat emotional journey through what I can only describe as one of the Greatest Rock Albums of all time. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest rock album ever?, 23 Mar 2006
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
I became a fan of rock music because of AC/DC and I nearly went deaf listening to the "If you want blood" live album on my Walkman as a kid. Back in Black was the first vinyl AC/DC album I owned, as I borrowed the others from my older brother. It took my breath away back then and it still has the same effect now. I am torn between this, Let there be rock and Highway to Hell as to which is the ultimate of thier albums, guess it depends on my mood. All 3 live in my car some 25-30 years after thier release, testament to their lasting appeal. I would advise you buy all 3 along with the aformentioned If you want blood and enjoy bar brawling, womanising, gutsy rock n roll at its absolute finest. As for Back in Black itself, play very loud, have your air guitar tuned and ask yourself if any rock album since has bettered this. AC/DC at thier finest and sadly the last truly great album they recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quite simply the greatest rock album ever commited to tape, 17 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
Where can you begin when trying to summarise this quite fantastic collection of hard rocking songs? AC/DC have always been about letting classic riffs do the talking, and in this case there are ten beauties to get your teeth into. From the sinister opening track "Hell's Bells" to the typical Acca Dacca sleaze of "Giving The Dog a Bone" and the world-wide hit "You Shook Me All night Long", every song is instantly memorable. Brian Johnson had an impossible task when he stepped into Bon Scott's shoes as AC/DC's frontman, but as this album shows, he was more than equal to the task. His gravelly voice fits perfectly into the AC/DC groove and compliments the guitars of the Young brothers perfectly, as is shown on tracks such as "Shoot To Thrill." Quite honestly, if you've never rocked to "Back In Black", you've never lived. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes they were back...., 30 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
What can i say that hasnt arleady been said a zillion times about this album? This is album is so goddamned catchy, and is so much fun to listen to. It's just good ol' hard rock n roll, which we have come to love and expect from AC/DC. Well, each song on this album from the first track to the last one is a treat and features great riffs, fun lyrics and cool solos from Angus. And always there is tight and precise rythym guitars from malcolm and phil rudd provides a good beat and not much to say about cliff williams except he does what is expected of him. And the vocals. The department sadly tainted with tragedy, yet is the highlight of this album. Whilst you cannot compare Bon Scott with Brian johnson, you can certainly say the torch is passed on to someone equally worthy. Brian provides a great and inspired performance here. oh, ofcourse the the track "back in black" itself is reason enough to buy this album. An absolute must for hard rock fans and for music fans in general. AC/DC fans who dont have this album should just be ashamed of themselves. enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back In Black
Back In Black by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews