Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal hard rock.
AC/DC didn't get any better than this. The tunes are killers, the guitar playing is phenomenal, the vocals see Bon reaching his apex. The production on this record is as dry as a bone, and locked down tight. Buying this on CD, after listening to it on an old tape for years, has made me fall in love with it all over again. Superb hard rock.
Published on 1 Nov 2002 by J. Williams

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Poor Sound 2003 Remaster
I can't believe nobody has mentioned it yet on these reviews. We all know the album is a classic, brilliant music.
Anybody who has heard the Vinyl or previous 1994 remaster knows that this 2003 remaster sounds terrible! It has way too much treble and there is no slam/punch to the drums and bass. It sounds nothing like how this album sounded when it originally came...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Stuart Tacey


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal hard rock., 1 Nov 2002
This review is from: Highway to Hell (Audio CD)
AC/DC didn't get any better than this. The tunes are killers, the guitar playing is phenomenal, the vocals see Bon reaching his apex. The production on this record is as dry as a bone, and locked down tight. Buying this on CD, after listening to it on an old tape for years, has made me fall in love with it all over again. Superb hard rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!!!, 11 Oct 2004
By 
Martin Hay "mnhay27" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
From the opening chord to the last this album never disappoints. Bon Scott never sounded better. DC have been accused of making the same album over and over again, which is probably true, but they do it so damn well! If you love proper Rock music you should already own this album (shame on you if you don't). If you need an introduction to AC/DC this is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the finest ac/dc album of them all, 20 April 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
ac/dc will be doing well to better this excellent example of an album that just works,great songs,great songwriting,and still sounds great over 25 years after its release,yes it is their defining album,bon scott was the definitive ac/dc vocalist,i aint being disrespectful to brian johnson who has been his replacement for over 26 years,its just that bon brought a dirty rock n roll snarl to the vocals which complimented the blusey rock and roll that the young brothers dished out on guitar.there isnt one bad song on here,songs like the legendary highway to hell,walk all over you,if you want blood,shot down in flames and touch too much are all on here and they are cracking stomping rock n sleaze roll numbers,its a pretty flawless album,its a fun album to listen too and it deserves to be listened to loud,you will salute them after this,magical album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but not the Zenith!!!, 21 Oct 2005
This review is from: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
Highway to Hell is the a great example of a Bon Scott album. The production is excellent with Malcom and Angus's brother producing for the last time, and they actually manage to get convincing backing vocals. The album is crammed with drunk anthems, ( the title song, if you want blood youve got it etc). The two greatest songs for me are shot down in flames, and touch too much. If you buy the bonfire box set you can hear the orginal demo versions of these songs, and its amazing to see how they changed for the final album release. This is a great slab of rock as it should be, no-nonsense blues ballsy rock and roll. However for me as great as it is, its not as great as Powerage ( the previous album), powerage had that earthy feeling of true genuis, highway to hell is more smooth and slick and designed to be that way. Powerage was accidental genius, and more in your face ear bleeding rock power. However that said go and buy this album play it at 10 and remember that true rock is not going anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want blood...you've got it!, 8 May 2005
By 
M. J. Funnell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
Often compared with 'Back in Black' but I think it is a completly different album. I bought Back in Black before I bought this and at first I didn't think Highway to Hell was any good. had just listened to the classic songs of Back in Black and didn't know what to expect.
I knew the famous, Highway to Hell before I bought the album I thius was really the only track that stood out for me. Once I had listened to the songs a few more times, Back In Black was struglling to get into my CD player!
My favourite song, If you want blood you've got it is underated in my opinion as well as others like Night Prowler. I think that at times Highway to Hell excels back in black. But the later album is more consistent and although Highway to hell is a classic, there are a few tracks which i like to skip while listening.
However, like I said earlier, the 2 albums shouldn't be compared and they are both great for different reasons.
If you want to listen to AC/DC you need three albums:
'Back in black'
'Highway to hell'
An AC/DC live album, 'If you want blood you've got it' (beacuse I prefer Bon Scott)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit like an earthquake!, 15 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Highway to Hell (Audio CD)
Put this on and watch the blood, adrenlin and alcohol ouze out of your speakers, Angus Young was at his power riff peak during the period from the mid to late 70's, his guitar pounds into your brain with a non stop intensity throughout a collection of songs that reflect everyone's idea of the rock n roll lifestyle. AC/DC front man the fantastic Bon Scott lived the crazy dream and sadly it took his life not long after this recording, what we have left is the perfect testimony to raising hell. Play AC/DC with a few beers before a night out hedonistic numbers like love hungry man reflect the mood perfectly. Listen to this and you'll find that it puts most of the current indie and rock music on offer to shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight as a duck's arse, 6 Jun 2006
This review is from: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
AC/DC hit their peak with this masterpiece of boogie rock, and it was immediately followed by the death of vocalist Bon Scott.

This album contains all the inventive wizadry of Angus Young's lead guitar and Bon's effervescent vocals.

This is the album with the classics on - Touch Too Much, Shot Down in Flames, Highway To Hell. Each track has its own character and feel, and each has a real buzz with the guitar. Bon was a bar-room poet with thinking man's lyrics about real life. Sometimes the topics aren't all that, but he always sounds good.

This is a full-metal album but there's plenty of melodic riffs and the rhythmn section is second to none. A real party record. Bon belts out each track but doesn't resort to the modern faux-aggression of a gutteral growl. His attitude is enough.

Each track seems to have just come together by magic. Top metal record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE classic rock n roll album, 9 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
this is the ac/dc album before the infamous 'back in black' album, but it's better in my opinion. i wasn't all that impressed with 'back in black' because it only really had SOME really good songs. this album has nothing but extremely good songs. this album also has singer bon scott whose vocals suit ac/dc's music alot better than his replacement.
but enough with comparisons
the album starts with the title track - an awesome song that you have to have heard. if you liked that song then you can get a feel for what to expect from the rest of the album (that's not to say it all sounds the same though!). other reviews might point out 'girls got rythm', 'touch too much' and 'shot down in flames' as the highlights. i would agree if not for the fact that this might be ignoring some of the other songs. this is one of those few albums that is, from start to finish, brilliant. 'if you want blood' has a great sing along chorus, 'love hungry man' is a slower track but no less fun, 'get it hot' is short sweet and great fun while 'night prowler' finishes the album with the longest song and some great guitar work. the other tracks though are just as memorable and this whole album sums up the spirit of rock n roll. you probably won't ever hear another album of this genre that beats it.
so if you thought 'back in black' was good, if you like rock music, or if you just like a good fun listen then you should hear this - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock at its best, 6 Nov 2008
By 
Alan Callaghan "" an ex manc"" (Ibiza, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the greatest rock albums of all time, and for me AC/DC`s second best after the previous "Powerage".The production on this is excellent, recently purchased this on cd as my vinyl copy is on its last legs.Great to hear it again, where do you start,all great tunes but stand out for me are,Highway to hell,walk all over you,If you want blood and touch to much.
I was lucky enough to see this tour and went two nights running at Manchester Apollo,awesome.Have a great memory of being at the Led Zep Knebworth gig in 79 and they played this album in full over the pa system.
Of course this was Bon Scott`s last album and he was/is sadly missed.After this album came their biggest selling album"Back in Black", another great solid record but for me the Bon Scott era was in another league. If you have been on another planet or have just discovered AC/DC, buy this album,"Powerage", "Let there be rock", and as for AC/DC phrase 2, buy "Back in Black" and then jump forward to the present and buy the new album "Black Ice",which for me is the best vocal display by Brian Johnson has ever put on any of his previous records since "Back in black". If he`d sang more like this earlier I would not have got bored with them as I did from 1983 untill 2001, when "Stiff upper lip" restored some pride.
Anyhow back to "Highway to Hell", its brill, go and buy it,wack the volume up and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars to all you love hungry men.., 13 Jun 2007
By 
Paul Browne (England.....the hills.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
This is where it all began and this is where it all ends..
You can pick any of the Bon Scott 'DC era albums, cos they're
all pretty much as good as each other, but Highway To
Hell put them on the map.

If you're new to rock music or just coming of age or even trying to
remember how it is to not care..then this album is your best mate.

If you absorb these songs and still can't score with a chick, or be
the-man-about-town then nothing can. Bon will hold your hand and show
you around, show you how easy it really is, to be rock n roll.

Tales of sexual fantasies, fightin, rockin, drinkin and gettin
lost along the way, all dressed up in an utterly groove-laden classic
hard rock beat..you'd have to be too boring to not "get it".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Highway To Hell
Highway To Hell by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews