Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive AC/DC Album, 27 Dec 2006
By 
J. Edgar (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Somehow, this album captures all the buzz and excitement of a live gig with its simplicity and raw honesty, which is some feat considering it's a studio album! 'Whole Lotta Rosie' is worth the money alone for Angus's lead guitar work, but there's not a single track that you'd want to skip through.

If you only listen to one AC/DC album, it has to be this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great rocking cd, 6 Oct 2000
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
this is a great AC/DC album it shows them as the monsters of rock with such songs as "Go Down", "Let There Be Rock", "Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be" & "Whole Lotta Rosie" this is worth getting to hear them at there best as well as the "Highway To Hell" album, Let There Be Rock is a must get kinda album and i reconmend it to anyone whos a fan of rock & metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 9 Mar 2006
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
I find it hard to believe that Back in Black & Highway to Hell seem to earn AC/DC more plaudits than Let There be Rock. I bought it recently and was more than a little surprised. Initially I wanted it solely for arguably AC/DC's greatest song, 'Whole Lotta Rosie'. I just wasn't prepared for how good the entire album is from start to finish. This is a rollercoaster ride of an album, that begins at the top and continues to gather speed until it's highlight, the aforementioned Whole Lotta Rosie. Fans of the band that haven't heard this MUST check this out. This puts Back in Black in the shade for me and is a far more "raw" rock & roll album than Highway to Hell. A stunning album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wall Of Sound, 5 April 2005
By 
SimonD "scjunkie" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
A sledgehammer of an album. Thats the only way I can describe this heart of oak. Sound wise this album is really thick and it sounds like the band recorded this in one take all squeezed into a 12 foot square airtight room with everything cranked to the max. The amps howl and growl in protest as Vanda And Young capture that AC/DC live sound incl feedback. It's this approach that even now nearly 30 years on from it's release it still sounds so incredibily fresh and exciting. Some familiar tracks here, Let There Be Rock, Bad Boy Boogie, Whole Lotta Rosie (angus Youngs greatest solo?) and perhaps their most underrated song, the monstrous Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be. Overdose gets a special mention as it's amoung my favorites. The whole band is in top form, punching drums, throbbing bass and guitars set to bleed, both Bon Scotts lyrics and vocals show some real prowess here to. Sadly Crabsody In Blue is missing having been replaced by Problem Child, which is a great song by itself but was released a year earlier on the Dirty Deeds Album.
This is one of those Albums where the bands peers have said Let There Be Rock had a great influence on them, don't ignore a genuine classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five stars if only it had "Crabsody in Blue", 13 Jan 2009
By 
Ian Carlisle "Ian C" (York UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
I'm just updating my Acker/Dacker vinyl collection for ease of ripping to PC and had to get the best ever - Let There Be Rock. It just has that early raw sound that I've always loved and which they've lost since, though Black Ice is not bad at all. Didn't look at the track list on Amazon, thinking it would be a faithful copy, so bought it and eagerly anticipated its arrival. Put it on to rip and listen to just now and was waiting patiently for Crabsody in Blue, which I always loved on the original. Then the awful truth sank in... they'd replaced it with Problem Child! Not sure why, as that's on Dirty Deeds anyway and it's not a major issue, as for me, this is still the best AC/DC album. It would have been nice to hear the old, "Walking sideways, gives me the blues" again though and hence, four stars rather than five. Will have to get the vinyl out again. Bah! Incidentally, saw AC/DC as a kid on the Back In Black Tour in 1980 and always regretted missing Bon. Brian's fine, but he's just not as good for me and BIB was a bit of a let down after what had gone before. Oh well, each to their own. They're still the best rocking band out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time classic, 5 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
The highlights of this album - 'Let There Be Rock', 'Bad Boy Boogie' and most of all 'Overdose' - are some of the best rock tracks ever written. When you listen to this album you know why these guys got together and you know they must have had a great time. The music and the lyrics are straightforward and uncompromising and full of energy. This is AC/DC's best album and has been a favourite of mine for years and whenever I hear it it never fails to make the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars let there be rock, 28 Mar 2005
By 
stephen cuckson (leamington spa, warks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
this album contains the best riffing and powerchords that acdc are famous for,and have never bettered.from the window shaking guitar playing of "go down" to "whole lotta rosie" this album is a must have for fans and rocknroll fans in general.it contains many of there live favourites and the track "overdose"which is my favourite riff of all time.a true classic of the seventies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate AC/DC, 18 Nov 2004
By 
G.D.Roberts (Audley, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Simply AC/DC's greatest album.Features 4 tracks that would become huge crowd pleasers- Let there be rock,whole lotta rosie,bad boy boogie and hell ain't a bad place to be.This album is the American released version so you get Problem Child instead of Crabsbody in Blue and an extended version of Go Down.
This is high voltage rock and roll with the amps on max and is the bands definitive studio performance.It is the album where the band would find their trademark sound,compare Problem Child (which was recorded 12 months earlier) with the rest of the album to hear what i mean.
If you love rock and roll,done uncompromisingly loud and raw, stunning guitar solos and songs about bad boys and even badder women,then rush out and buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the original track listing, 11 Feb 2012
By 
L. J. Fisher "LJF" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
The tracks on this cd are based on the American vinyl release of this album from 1977 they took off Crabsody In Blue and added Problem Child from their previous album Dirty Deeds because no other AC/DC album had been relased in the States yet. So if you buy this version of the album and buy Dirty Deeds you've got 2 versions of Problem Child. The way to avoid this is to buy the Australian import version of Let There Be Rock which has the orignal black & white cover based on the Australian original vinyl version of Let There Be Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And The Music Was Good, And The Music Was Loud!!!!!, 4 Jan 2009
By 
Ben Faulkner "Gilmour/Townshend" (Bicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
there's really no other way of saying buy it, but do!!!!! this album rules, whichever version you have. I have this CD and the original LP version with Crabsody In Blue, which RULES!!!!!!title track is fantastic and performed beautifully on if you want blood. there's the epic ending, whole lotta rosie, which is not only a tribute to a fat woman Bon spent a night with, but has a brill version of that blues riff, you know which one I mean. basically if you haven't clued it yet, this album is 10/10, so get it, If Your A Fan ACDC, Then Buy It!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let There Be Rock
Let There Be Rock by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews