Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive AC/DC Album
Somehow, this album captures all the buzz and excitement of a live gig with its simplicity and raw honesty, which is some feat considering it's a studio album! 'Whole Lotta Rosie' is worth the money alone for Angus's lead guitar work, but there's not a single track that you'd want to skip through.

If you only listen to one AC/DC album, it has to be this one...
Published on 27 Dec 2006 by J. Edgar

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
bought as a present for my brother so I don't know how it played
Published 2 months ago by Rachel


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive AC/DC Album, 27 Dec 2006
By 
J. Edgar (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Somehow, this album captures all the buzz and excitement of a live gig with its simplicity and raw honesty, which is some feat considering it's a studio album! 'Whole Lotta Rosie' is worth the money alone for Angus's lead guitar work, but there's not a single track that you'd want to skip through.

If you only listen to one AC/DC album, it has to be this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great rocking cd, 6 Oct 2000
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
this is a great AC/DC album it shows them as the monsters of rock with such songs as "Go Down", "Let There Be Rock", "Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be" & "Whole Lotta Rosie" this is worth getting to hear them at there best as well as the "Highway To Hell" album, Let There Be Rock is a must get kinda album and i reconmend it to anyone whos a fan of rock & metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 9 Mar 2006
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
I find it hard to believe that Back in Black & Highway to Hell seem to earn AC/DC more plaudits than Let There be Rock. I bought it recently and was more than a little surprised. Initially I wanted it solely for arguably AC/DC's greatest song, 'Whole Lotta Rosie'. I just wasn't prepared for how good the entire album is from start to finish. This is a rollercoaster ride of an album, that begins at the top and continues to gather speed until it's highlight, the aforementioned Whole Lotta Rosie. Fans of the band that haven't heard this MUST check this out. This puts Back in Black in the shade for me and is a far more "raw" rock & roll album than Highway to Hell. A stunning album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five stars if only it had "Crabsody in Blue", 13 Jan 2009
By 
Ian Carlisle "Ian C" (York UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
I'm just updating my Acker/Dacker vinyl collection for ease of ripping to PC and had to get the best ever - Let There Be Rock. It just has that early raw sound that I've always loved and which they've lost since, though Black Ice is not bad at all. Didn't look at the track list on Amazon, thinking it would be a faithful copy, so bought it and eagerly anticipated its arrival. Put it on to rip and listen to just now and was waiting patiently for Crabsody in Blue, which I always loved on the original. Then the awful truth sank in... they'd replaced it with Problem Child! Not sure why, as that's on Dirty Deeds anyway and it's not a major issue, as for me, this is still the best AC/DC album. It would have been nice to hear the old, "Walking sideways, gives me the blues" again though and hence, four stars rather than five. Will have to get the vinyl out again. Bah! Incidentally, saw AC/DC as a kid on the Back In Black Tour in 1980 and always regretted missing Bon. Brian's fine, but he's just not as good for me and BIB was a bit of a let down after what had gone before. Oh well, each to their own. They're still the best rocking band out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time classic, 5 Aug 2004
By 
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
The highlights of this album - 'Let There Be Rock', 'Bad Boy Boogie' and most of all 'Overdose' - are some of the best rock tracks ever written. When you listen to this album you know why these guys got together and you know they must have had a great time. The music and the lyrics are straightforward and uncompromising and full of energy. This is AC/DC's best album and has been a favourite of mine for years and whenever I hear it it never fails to make the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate AC/DC, 18 Nov 2004
By 
G.D.Roberts (Audley, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
Simply AC/DC's greatest album.Features 4 tracks that would become huge crowd pleasers- Let there be rock,whole lotta rosie,bad boy boogie and hell ain't a bad place to be.This album is the American released version so you get Problem Child instead of Crabsbody in Blue and an extended version of Go Down.
This is high voltage rock and roll with the amps on max and is the bands definitive studio performance.It is the album where the band would find their trademark sound,compare Problem Child (which was recorded 12 months earlier) with the rest of the album to hear what i mean.
If you love rock and roll,done uncompromisingly loud and raw, stunning guitar solos and songs about bad boys and even badder women,then rush out and buy this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars let there be rock, 28 Mar 2005
By 
stephen cuckson (leamington spa, warks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
this album contains the best riffing and powerchords that acdc are famous for,and have never bettered.from the window shaking guitar playing of "go down" to "whole lotta rosie" this album is a must have for fans and rocknroll fans in general.it contains many of there live favourites and the track "overdose"which is my favourite riff of all time.a true classic of the seventies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roadhouse Rock, 2 Sep 2003
By 
Andrew Moore "Mac User" (Cowes, Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
From the opening riffs of 'Go Down' and the squeals of Bon Scott's first words you just know that you are in for a right belter of mean, dirty rock from the real AC/DC. And do the band deliver or what? Yes they do, by the amp load.
This album used to play havoc on my Binatone record player, but things have moved on a little since then hi-fi-wise. However, the essence of the music is just as memorable as it ever was. Up until the death of Bon Scott, AC/DC could do no wrong in my eyes and with the re-release of these early albums as re-mastered additions there is all the reason to replace your old vinyl copies.
'Let There Be Rock', 'Problem Child', 'Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be' and 'Whole Lotta Rosie' stand out.
The lavish artwork is great too. Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever made?, 19 April 2010
By 
wavey davey (Fareham, Hants) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
If you are a more discerning listener like myself, you may have certain criteria for what makes a truly great rock album; it must be full of granite hard yet tuneful riffs, contain at least a few searing solos, and preferably, have no ballads. 'Let there be Rock' is the only album I've ever heard that really ticks all these boxes yet still remains reletively overlooked. From the erotic thump of opener 'Go Down' to the frenzied attack of the closing 'Whole lotta Rosie' this album barks out of the speakers with almost scary consistancy. I can honestly say this is the only album I've got that I can listen to all the way through while genuinely enjoying every single song. I must admit, I came to AC/DC late in life, buying this album on the strength of hearing the title track on a Guitar Hero advert, and I don't know how I lived without them. I've barely stopped listening to LTBR for months on end. The aforementioned 'Whole Lotta Rosie' is worth the admission money alone; Angus' ejaculatory guitar work during the songs' outro never fails to make the hairs on the back of my neck stand up, for me it sums up how exhilarating rock music can be. Its become a bit of a cliche on these sites to end the review with a line like 'If you like rock you will love this' but I can think of no better sentiment. If you do genuinely love rock regardless of genre, you really cannot be without this rekid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And The Music Was Good, And The Music Was Loud!!!!!, 4 Jan 2009
By 
Ben Faulkner "Gilmour/Townshend" (Bicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let There Be Rock (Audio CD)
there's really no other way of saying buy it, but do!!!!! this album rules, whichever version you have. I have this CD and the original LP version with Crabsody In Blue, which RULES!!!!!!title track is fantastic and performed beautifully on if you want blood. there's the epic ending, whole lotta rosie, which is not only a tribute to a fat woman Bon spent a night with, but has a brill version of that blues riff, you know which one I mean. basically if you haven't clued it yet, this album is 10/10, so get it, If Your A Fan ACDC, Then Buy It!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let There Be Rock
Let There Be Rock by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews