Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best
This is one of the "real" (as in Bon Scott) AC/DC's best. The price is justified alone for the wonderful blues of Ride On, surely the band's finest musical moment. Big Balls and Ain't No Fun just add to the pleasure of a great Rock'n'Roll experience; just a shame that they were never the same after Bon Scott left us. By the way why doesn't "Crabsody in...
Published on 31 May 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I love the CD
First things first, I love the CD, I love ACDC and I think this has great songs, unfortunately this CD was in a horrible condition; the case was a bit tatty but I expected that. What I hadn't expected though was for someone's name to have been inscribed on the actual CD and for their to be so much gunk underneath the CD that it took about 10 minutes of consistent...
Published 1 month ago by Vasili


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 31 May 2002
By A Customer
This is one of the "real" (as in Bon Scott) AC/DC's best. The price is justified alone for the wonderful blues of Ride On, surely the band's finest musical moment. Big Balls and Ain't No Fun just add to the pleasure of a great Rock'n'Roll experience; just a shame that they were never the same after Bon Scott left us. By the way why doesn't "Crabsody in Blue" appear on the CD versions of "Let There Be Rock"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC at their best, 8 Aug 2007
By 
J. McNally (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is quintessential AC/DC; simple pounding guitars, raspy vocals and clever lyrics. Dirty Deeds is a snapshot of AC/DC's best work with Bon Scott and it's a wonderful album.

The guitars in this album provide us with some of AC/DC's catchiest tunes. Songs like "Rocker" will stick in your head for days. It amazes me how a band can make such a great song off of what is actually a very very simple guitar riff.

Lyrically, this is some of AC/DC's greatest work. The title track sets the tone of the album, with its story about a guy offering various "dirty deeds" all for "dirt cheap" prices. Songs like "Big Balls" (a self-explanatory title) are just plain hilarious and show Bon Scott at his best as a songwriter; basing the entire song on one big innuendo. I've listened to the song hundreds of times and I still laugh out loud every time I hear it.

All in all, this is quintessential AC/DC. This is how their unique sound evolved and grew into their bigger albums. In a nutshell, it's a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would give this 10 stars, 18 Oct 2005
By 
A. Green "design guru" (Cardif UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
I care not for those who claim this album is flawed. I have every AC/DC release, have seen them live numerous times, and have loved them for close to 20 odd years. I can say without a shadow of a doubt "Dirty Deeds" is my favorite. I don't care that it's purile (if you listen to AC/DC at all this is something you don't need to be too bothered about), I don't care that it's rough (in fact it more that adds to it's charm), I don't care that it's not quite as good as the Aussie version (R.I.P. is criminally absent on this release). This is the best, bar non, AC/DC album to date. The title track alone is worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic ACDC, 21 Oct 2009
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
My favourite album of the early Bon Scott ACDC years.

I started to type which tracks were the stand outs but theres not a weak track on this album.
Favourites are Love at first feel, Ride on and Aint no fun...

A must for any ACDC fans collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem, 26 July 2003
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
Well, I've always considered DC to be the best rock band ever. I have had a number of albums, and enjoyed them live but for some reason I missed this album.
BUY IT.
Ok it is 'raw' - none of the clean produced Back in Black (still one of my favourites) but it is fantastic.
Dry, powerful and oozing quality - Bon at his best - as good as his fantastic Highway to Hell.
The band play in an 'older' rock and roll style but the DC drive is there. Angus may not shine through as he does later but that lets the tracks be balanced.
Above all, this just shows what a quality act AC-DC is and is a fitting tribute to Bon Scott - I hope he is down there, beer in one hand, women in another with this playing at full blast in the background.
I am not worthy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive, 8 Aug 2014
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
Listen to the opening riff to Dirty Deeds alone before the vocal comes in; most guitar players would find it pretty simple to play. But forget the technique and just listen to the sound - to my ears it immediately says 'threat, menace, testosterone'. It doesn't need any words to make its message clear. The simplicity of the riff grabs its theme instantly - and frankly no jazz guitar player, for example, could create it.

And that is the difference between the very best riff merchants like AC/DC and the millions of also rans who would die to get anything near theirs (think Crue, Ratt, Twisted etc.,).

Bon Scott is one of those unique rock singers (like Freddie, Ozzy, and Morrison) who seems to be able to embody the songs. You feel as if he is singing to you directly from within his world. Always conflating sex with love (Love at first feel) he basks in his sexual potency and revels in demoniacal desire ('I lead a life of crime...'). Bon's world view is one in which everybody is corrupt, especially those offering love, frequently presenting himself as a gleeful sinner ('for a fee, I'm happy to be, your back door man').

Of course these points cover the entire Bon Scott era and Dirty Deeds is simply another essential classic among many.

While Angus is the star guitar player and Phil, Mark and Malcolm deliver the killer backing, Bon is my real idol in AC/DC. As a kid he was like a big brother and with lyrics like those in Ain't No Fun (waiting 'round to be a millionaire) he really identifies with you.

Songs like Dirty Deeds and the finger licking Squealer just ooze dirty sleaze. There's Gonna Some Rocking is delivered with such menacing cool and Problem Child has a riff that hardly seems to get going yet ends up pretty much shaking your entire house down into rubble - play that loud and your neighbours will want to move house double quick.

And I have to say this; ALL the Bon Scott era albums are ESSENTIAL. If you're an AC/DC fan then you simply must have them.

IMO AC/DC are the Greatest Rock'n'Roll band of all time - and Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is about as dirty as you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It ain't big and it ain't clever... but it rocks, 16 Oct 2008
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
I first heard this album back in the summer of 1982 and it sounds as good now as it did then. I was already familiar with For Those About to Rock (We Salute You) and I'd heard bits of Highway to Hell and Back in Black but this was what converted me. The songs on this album are infantile, puerile, barely adolescent... and absolutely brilliant.

From the crash-bang-thump intro to the swaggering title track to the fade out at the end of the distinctly sleazy and tasteless Squealer this is pure, unbridled rock'n'roll joy. The album is full to the brim with classic tracks: the sleazy Love at First Feel, the behind-the-bike-shed single-entendre-laden Big Balls, Rocker and Problem Child ("...and my mother hates me!") coming on like Chuck Berry's lovechild being sectioned... and, out of nowhere, probably AC/DC's most introspective track ever, the heavenly blues of Ride On. Production, courtesy of former Easybeats Harry Vanda and George Young (Ang and Mal's big brother) is simple and direct: everything clearly audible, no bells and whistles and nothing out of place.

To be honest, if you're not overly familiar with Bon era AC/DC you should probably come at this one having checked out Powerage or Let There Be Rock first, but that doesn't stop it being a five-star album. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from One Of The Best Rock/Metal Bands Ever, 15 Sep 2006
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
This is a great album. It`s different & yet the same as There debut High Voltage. There`s more of the Rock`n`Roll style playing & there`s some really good tracks here as well. It`s maybe not as instant as High Voltage but its still showing some good moments. "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" is a typical example of AC/DC`s early years. "Love At First Feel" continues the mood with a great singable chorus & a great pounding beat. "Big Balls" has Bons famous sense of humour all over it. You`ll laugh as you singalong to it !

"Rocker" is a very one dimensional number. Full on balls to the wall rocker. "Problem Child" has one of the bands best known riffs. The forunner to Bad Boy Boogie off of there Let There Be Rock Album."Theres Gonna Be Some Rockin" takes the band back to simple style R`n`R playing. "Aint No Fun" is a longer track starting slowly then picking up the pace halfway through. "Ride On" is a great slow tune with a lazy type of feel to it before "Squealer" rounds things of. Again this albums 30 odd years old & sounds better & more fun than any of the modern Metal scene does. If your going to put a few [ & you should do ]AC/DC albums in your collection then this is highly recommended. I`ve owned a copy of this album in one form or another for over 20years & i still pull it out to play it which kinda says it all really doesn`t it ! Go Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge pods., 19 April 2003
It has been said that this sounds more-or-less like every other Ac Dc album. While this is true in terms of style (but when it ain't broke then why...) the album is very much an example of the earlier -Bon Scott-era- incarnation of the band. The guitar sound is that typical simple, bare bones, overdriven valve amp tone. In fact it sounds like it was recorded in a garden shed. Not that it is lacking in sound quality, but the volume really comes over on the recording - a good thing. Massive.
The edges here are left rough - it sounds as if the entire album was recorded in one evening of drunken frivolity, with Bon Scott in playful mood. The live feeling is supported by Angus' soloing which is considerably less arranged than it can be (e.g. on Black in Black).
Every Ac Dc album generally has a couple of peurile numbers. In this case they are 'Big Balls', a finely crafted excuse for a song about having emormous pods "...my balls are always bouncing, to the left and to the right, its my belief that my big balls should be held every night.", and 'Squealer', which is presumably about breaking in a virgin (or something).
'There's Gonna Be Some Rockin...' and (on the Australian release) 'RIP (Rock in Peace)' are breakneck 12-bar R'n'R performed a la Ac Dc, a style that really works well and sums up the album - good, meat-and-potatoes rock and roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I love the CD, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First things first, I love the CD, I love ACDC and I think this has great songs, unfortunately this CD was in a horrible condition; the case was a bit tatty but I expected that. What I hadn't expected though was for someone's name to have been inscribed on the actual CD and for their to be so much gunk underneath the CD that it took about 10 minutes of consistent scrubbing to make the CD actually work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews