Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2004
The only way to describe 'Hellalive' is that it is truly amazing. Any Machine Head fan who's been to their shows will tell you they are an incredible live act, and this album showcases the raw talent on offer. 'Hellalive' sees the boys from the Bay tear it up in London's Brixton Academy during 2001's 'Supercharger' tour. And tear it up they certainly do.
The album begins with the brain crushing 'Bulldozer', the best track off the slightly disappointing 'Supercharger' album, and the first thing to hit you is the fact that this sounds like a studio album. That's what is so great about 'Hellalive', it might as well be a greatest hits compilation since every song sounds studio polished. I could go through the album track by track but anyone who has the other MH albums knows full well that they are incredible and all fine choices for a live show. Standing out for me are the classic 'Old', 'None But My Own'; the epic journey of thudding riffs, wonderful solos and a huge thrashy breakdown and, finally, the transition from the hauntingly beautiful (and possibly MH's best song) 'The Burning Red' to the crowd favourite 'Davidian'.
For seasoned MH fans there's nothing else to say but BUY THIS ALBUM! For those of you who either don't know much MH and are looking to find out more, or for those who are new to live albums my advice is to buy this and let Flynn and the lads show you how modern metal is done.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2003
Many bands over the years have released live albums. Some critize this saying that they are just trying to make some money when studio recordings are on a low, and i agree with this in most cases.
Hell Alive is an amazing live album, machine head just boast ability an talent on this album. A good selection of songs all performed at an amazingly high standard. Usually you'd rather listen to the studio recordings rather than the live recording, but some of the songs on this album i'd rather listen too live.
This is the kind of album you can listen to through and through and not get bored, this is actually my favourite machine head album, purely because it has the best songs from each album.
If you are a machine head fan, this album is a must, if you have never heard machine head before i suggest you start with "burn my eyes", which personally i think is clearly their best studio album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2003
Machine Head's first official live release is, quite simply, brutal! Spanning their entire career to date, the set was predominantly recorded at their triumphant Brixton Academy show in 2001 and captures the essence of MH brilliantly- supercharged riffing, murky bass rhythms, pounding drums and vocals ranging from the softly spoken to the downright larynx splitting. Every track improves upon the studio versions, although my only complaint is the frequency of Robb Flynn's mentioning of London before every song- it's just not the same as 'Scream for me Long Beach'!!
As an introduction to the band its perfect, whilst diehard fans will want it as a souvenir of the MH live experience. On this form it still beggars belief that their profile isn't higher within metal circles.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2012
How many Machine Heads are there? One? Two?

Of course, the Oakland thrash band fronted by Robb Flynn, and now on its seventh studio album, is unique; but it has gone through a number of different phases. There's the Machine Head who released "Burn my Eyes" and "The More Things Change". The Machine Head who released "The Burning Red" and "Supercharger" and, most recently, the Machine Head who produced "Through the Ashes of Empires", "The Blackening" and "Unto the Locust". In each phase of their career, the band have attracted a new wave of fans and, inevitably, lost some along the way. Arguably, the most controversial and divisive of the band's albums were "The Burning Red" and "Supercharger", which saw the band tap into the growing trend for hip hop- and rap-influenced heavy metal. Many fans of the first two albums were disgusted and, although "The Burning Red" won the group some new fans, "Supercharger" saw the band's stock among the metal community fall to its lowest point since their formation.

This is the backdrop against which "Hellalive" was created - but while "Supercharger" was being panned by the music press and fans alike, metallers flocked to see Machine Head's live performance at the Brixton Academy in 2001. Why did they go? Because Machine Head are one of the greatest live acts in metal. I don't usually bother much with live albums, as many bands disappoint on live recordings; but not Machine Head. From start to finish, every track on this recording is exceptional. The band play with precision, energy and raw enthusiasm. The crowd love it. Rob Flynn loves it. Even the tracks from "Supercharger" are well received - they sound like they belong there, right alongside classics like "Old" and "Davidian".

I cannot recommend this album enough. If, like me, you are a fan Machine Head's older material, this is an excellent reminder of days gone by - especially if you were lucky enough to have been present when it was recorded (why don't you have this already?!) If you've come to Machine Head relatively recently and want to get to know their back catalogue, then this is the place to start. The recording perfectly captures the live Machine Head experience of the early 2000s, and the songs lose none of the power or quality of their studio counterparts. The set list is comprehensive - an excellent representation of material from the first four albums, so there's really no need to buy all of them right off the bat: get this first!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2003
Machine head are still Kicking butt and this record proves why they are still one of the best live acts around, the cd starts with Bulldozer a track from their latest album Supercharger, while not a big fan of the Supercharger Release, this track comes over very well, the crowd scream at the start is deafening! the next on track on the album is "The Blood, The Sweat, The Tears" or as rob flynn likes to call it "The Blood, The Sweat, The Beers". Enough of the new stuff its time to bring out the old skool heavy stuff "Ten Ton Hammer" from "The More Things Change" album & "Old" from the classix "Burn My Eyes", these are amazing tracks shame rob flynns voice isnt as thrashie as it used to be, cause then these tracks would of been perfect, even though saying that these tracks still kick butt and the crowd reaction is amazing. next is "Crashing Around You" robb flynn explains his anger at the world on this one, slow but great track. 3 classic tracks now "Take My Scars", "I'm Your God Now" & "None But My Own" and i think that "None But My Own" has got to be my favorite track off the album, the build up to the song is slow but it gets the excitment running through ya veins and when it finally cuts to the heavy part of the intro it blows ya head clean off ya shoulders, its so heavy and sounds so good! next 4 tracks are "From This Day", "American High", "Nothing Left & "The Burning Red" nothing special about these but still top quality stuff, the two finishing tracks are the allmighty "Davidian" & "Supercharger", as allways "Davidian" smashes all, its crushing, domination and damn right heavy! the outro to "Davidian" has been changed aswell, not as good as the original i thought but still amazing! "Supercharger" was a great end to a great album, this whoile record was quite simply METAL!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hellalive was the first live album from Machine Head, recorded primarily in 2001 at the Brixton Academy in London and released in 2003.

The band play a mixture of material from all of their studio albums up until that point, to an excited crowd. The band seem genuinely pleased to be on stage and playing which gives the concert a great feel. Their performance is absolutely electric and even songs from their critically reviled Supercharger album sound amazing on this live album, as the band play them so hard and passionately.

Hellalive works almost as a greatest hits package, delivering every song that ever had a music video up until that point in the track listing. All the old favourites like `Ten Ton Hammer,' and the classic `Davidian,' are present and correct and performed extremely well.

Two of the tracks feature future guitarist Phil Demmel and were taken from a different date, one year after the main concert, which makes up for the cover songs which the band did not include on the cd from the original concert.

Overall, Hellalive is a pretty essential Machine Head release. The performance is great, the track listing is comprehensive (this would be a perfect album to buy as a first album by the band as it gives you a flavor of all their first four albums) and the sound is pretty good as well. Obviously, this isn't going to be as good as the Elegies DVD because there are no visuals, but as a Machine Head live cd I have absolutely no complaints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2003
Let's just say, live albums are usually a waste of everyone's money. A waste of time. A waste of effort on the record label's part. But this kicks ass totally. If like me you haven't seen Machine Head live, I'm guessing this is the closest you can get without doing it. It's almost like you've seen them having heard this album. The atmosphere's there, it's like Robb Flynn is in front of you all the way through, screaming, singing and speaking privately, the music sounds great, it's ALL good. In case you're wondering something along the lines of 'I have all the albums, what's the point?', I'll just say, I have all four studio albums, and while the songs are the same, they seem totally different. If the show Machine Head do sounds like this, they ought to be the best live act around. How the hell they don't even get a nomination in awards, I don't know. All the songs sound good, even the bad ones. 'American High' is probably the worst song they've ever done, and even that sounds really good. Stand out tracks are the classics: 'Old', 'Davidian', 'Ten Ton Hammer' and the best Head song ever, 'Take My Scars'. If you've ever bought a live album before, get this, it's the best one you'll have. If you're a Machine Head fan, get this, it's great being able to hear them live whenever you want. Hell, even if you're not a Machine Head fan, it's probably worth getting. And these lads had best be touring in Britain again some time soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2003
This cd is a very good live recording although admittedly you can tell it's live in that all songs vary slightly from their studio recordings, the energy of the live performance is portrayed perfectly. Having been at the show that this was recorded from i can get almost as excited listening to this cd as i can from the actual live experience.
'Hellalive' spans Machine Heads career of nearly a decade and is therefore ideal for any die-heard fans such as myself or anyone who is trying to get into this band. Flynns vocal style has matured over the years but the old songs are improved further by his maturity. The guitaring is not quite the same without Logan Mader thrashing away but still it's near perfect.
Throughout the songs are short interactions with the crowd and their chants can be heard all the way through. The crowd is pining for more and this cd gives all that and more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2003
With hellalvive you get machine head in there element... LIVE
this cd faithfully recaptured seeing them live for me and i seen em every tour they played since the more things change so would say im a vetren of there pits
the sound quality of the cd is excellent not hifi just setting the standard for which live cd's should be graded by, you cant help but feel pummeled by the end of the cd, with practically every Machine Head song you need to see live on the cd if only violate was on there......
my highlights have to be :
Davidian
Im your god now and,
Take my scars
buy this cd if youve been lucky enough to see machinehead and remember how awesome it was
alternativly
buy this cd if youve never seen them live and require educating as to what you have missed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
This is a great live album and is well worth getting as the sound quality is pretty damn good. The crowd noises are lower in the overall mix which is what I prefer as you can really hear the songs properly. This is an excellent way to hear Machine Head on stage and in your face, "Hellalive" is well worth the price as it includes tracks from the first four Machine Head albums and the songs are flawlessly performed. Any Machine Head fan can rest assured that this is a must buy album and that you will not be disappointed in the slightest!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)