Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten masterpiece
A marvellous album. I bought a copy in 1971, and have never tired of listening to it. Recorded in London with old pals Chris Spedding (guitar) and Jack Marshall (drums), this is Jack's finest hour, methinks.
Sandwiched between his time in Cream and West Bruce & Laing, this is like neither. Though the lyrics are by long-term friend and collaborator Pete Brown (who...
Published on 22 May 2003 by A.lan Stevens

versus
4 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cacophony Row
Having only known of Jack Bruce from his 'Cream' days I was astonished on reading the comprehensive cd sleeve notes by how respected as an overall musical talent he is and the amount of poeple he has collaborated with. So when actually listening to Harmony Row I found myself surprised and dissapointed at what I must describe as a very unfocused and disjointed compilation...
Published on 11 Mar 2004 by alan potter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten masterpiece, 22 May 2003
By 
This review is from: HARMONY ROW (Audio CD)
A marvellous album. I bought a copy in 1971, and have never tired of listening to it. Recorded in London with old pals Chris Spedding (guitar) and Jack Marshall (drums), this is Jack's finest hour, methinks.
Sandwiched between his time in Cream and West Bruce & Laing, this is like neither. Though the lyrics are by long-term friend and collaborator Pete Brown (who penned many memorable words for Cream), the music is in a category of its own. To my mind, "The Consul at Sunset" is worth the price of the album by itself. As they say, "If you like music, you'll like this...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great albums, 23 April 2003
By 
Mr P "radletteer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: HARMONY ROW (Audio CD)
From 1971 originally, this album followed on from the remarkable Songs For A Tailor. Somehow it managed to reach the same enormously high standards.
Bruce sings and plays bass, cello, keyboards and acoustic guitar and is joined by the amazing Chris Spedding on guitar and the fantastic John Marshall on drums.
It is just a brilliant album from start to finish. Every song is a winner and the compositional skills in the songwriting has hardly ever been matched by anyone. This should be one of the most liked and respected albums ever. The fact that it is not only highlights the poor musical tastes of the majority of the music buying public. If you have not heard this before, give yourself a break, wise up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten masterpiece, 22 May 2003
By 
This review is from: HARMONY ROW (Audio CD)
A marvellous album. I bought a copy in 1971, and have never tired of listening to it. Recorded in London with old pals Chris Spedding (guitar) and Jack Marshall (drums), this is Jack's finest hour, methinks.
Sandwiched between his time in Cream and West Bruce & Laing, this is like neither. Though the lyrics are by long-term friend and collaborator Pete Brown (who penned many memorable words for Cream), the music is in a category of its own. To my mind, "The Consul at Sunset" is worth the price of the album by itself. As they say, "If you like music, you'll like this...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack's best singing, 5 Sep 2003
By 
David Terrar (St. Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HARMONY ROW (Audio CD)
Like several of the other reviewers I bought this album back in 1971. Superb songs, fantastic singing, and Chris Spedding and John Marshall at the top of their game in support. I can't remember how well it did in the charts that year, but I knew a lot of people who owned it, and the popular support was enough to win Jack best vocalist of the year in the Melody Maker poll for 1971. All the tracks are great, but Folk Song and Consul at Sunset are particular favourites. Don't hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bassist Bruce's Best- back in print at last., 22 April 2005
This review is from: HARMONY ROW (Audio CD)
For me Jack Bruce's vocals and strong melodic gifts, inspired by and fused to Pete Brown's surreal lyrics, make Cream's studio albums timeless. If you like Cream for their pop songcraft -as well as for their virtuosity- you'll want to hear Jack's first solo effort, Songs For A Tailor, and this one, his second album. As with Cream and as on Songs For A Tailor, there's a power trio at work here- with overdubs. The great Chris Spedding fills in for Slowhand, but does his own special thing, often going places Clapton didn't. The sturdy Jim Marshall is on drums, and Jack does the vocals, bass, keyboards and production. In other words, top-caliber musicianship that only the British are capable of.
Ultimately, though it's Bruce's ( and Brown's) baby, and it succeeds because Jack had the desire and abilty to push just the right distance beyond his rock, blues and jazz origins, while still making sophisticated and progressive music. Harmony Row is one of the best recordings of the 70's- or any other decade.
Jack Bruce's entire Polydor output was recently remastered and re-released, finally, after a 30 year wait, and each disc usually comes with a handful of alternate takes. Harmony Row and Songs For A Tailor are the essential purchases for fans, past present or future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest hour of one of our finest?, 10 Nov 2009
By 
J. G. Hastie "GogolH" (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HARMONY ROW (Audio CD)
Like many of the reviewers I bought this in 1971 and loved it instantly; Harmony Row was obviously a masterpiece, a consummation of the musical and lyrical ideas Jack Bruce and Pete Brown were bringing to Cream's studio recordings at the time of their breakup. This beautifully remastered CD confirms its masterpiece status all these years later. Although not a concept album, this is not just a bunch of great songs: there is a thread of continuity that makes sitting down and listening from start to finish a hugely rewarding experience ("The Consul at Sunset" must be one of the great codas). There are moments of exquisite tenderness as well as outbreaks of astonishingly dynamic jazz/rock, which sound live despite the fact that Jack had to overdub his unmistakeably propulsive bass and other instruments, having laid down the basic tracks with Jack playing piano (and really playing!) alongside the brilliant Chris Spedding and the great John Marshall. And Jack's singing - as with his bass playing, he is unmistakeable, and not afraid to take risks which of course come off beautifully. This album really deserved to sell in vast quantities, but it didn't - a sign that Jack Bruce was destined to be a greatly revered cult figure, rather than a hugely wealthy superstar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Bruce's finest albums back in print, 1 May 2007
By 
Wayne Klein "If at first the idea is not absu... (My Little Blue Window, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: HARMONY ROW (Audio CD)
Undeservedly long out of print, Jack Bruce's third solo album remains my favorite even if it is a bit less dynamic and consistent than his second ("Songs for a Tailor" was his second album."Things We Like" his jazz-rock instrumental recording was recorded first while he was a member of Cream but released second)album, the best songs here show growth.

When I listened to this re-release (I didn't pick it up on CD when it was released before as it went out print pretty quickly)recently, I was struck with how Bruce's opening track "Can You Follow?" reminded me of Peter Gabriel (or vice versa since Bruce came first). It's a great piano based ballad (which Bruce plays). "You Burned The Tables On Me" is a driving jazz inflected rocker that dominates the album. Many of the tracks here began with Bruce playing it on piano and then having the rest of the band add their parts. Once again guitarist Chris Spedding and drummer John Marshall appear (along with a guest appearence by former Jimi Hendrix Experience drummer Mitch Mitchell). Bruce's bass playing (always a highlight of any band he's been a member of)is outstanding as are his vocals. The album sounds better as well with Bruce in the producer's chair himself this time.

This reissue features extensive liner notes about the production of the album and bonus tracks. Although the bonus tracks are limited to demos and alternate mixes the reissue engineer Paschall Byrne and reissue producer Mark Powell include some first rate outtakes/alternate mixes. We get the first take of "Can You Follow This?" with just Bruce singing while accompanying himself on piano. "Green Hills" is Bruce playing the same song (which doesn't have vocals. Pete Brown also hadn't provided lyrics yet). "Escape To the Royal Wood (on Ice)" is an unfinished alternate take without the vocals. Likewise "There's a Forest" is an alternate mix that's worthwhile for Bruce fans to hear. Byrne and Powell master this classic perfectly--no compression to make it sound overloud and the album isn't EQ's to death allowing the dynamic range of the original release to survive intact on CD. I can't compare this to the previous version on CD because I only had this on vinyl. It compares favorably to the vinyl version and sounds remarkably warm and airy.

Although a bit more subdued than "Tailor", "Harmony Row" features some of Bruce's most melodic songwriting and playing to date. If it is a tad less consistent, the highlights to me are better than the best tracks on "Tailor". Bruce's albums after this would be a bit hit or miss but all of them have worthwhile moments. Unfortunately some of his best albums later in his career are out of print again. I'd also recommend-

Things We Like and Songs for a Tailor as well as More Jack Than God
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So You Thought Clapton Was God?, 4 Mar 2003
This review is from: HARMONY ROW (Audio CD)
Jack Bruce's "Harmony Row", sadly underrated by record buyers at the time of release, is easily one of the best albums of the early seventies.
The CD release is long overdue.
This is music with a real edge. From the opening piano notes of "Can You Follow", the music steers it's own uncharted path. Jack's voice is unbeatable throughout. "Folksong" is surely one of the most beautiful love songs ever written and the final track, "The Consul At Sunset" should be on everyone's lists of classics.
If you don't like this album, you don't like music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still the best bassplayer, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Harmony Row (MP3 Download)
Astonishing stuff. Agree with another commentator: bought the album when it came out and never get tired of it. Jack was the best of the best bassplayers, still not touched by any of the new 'fancy boys' who bore me stiff with their flashy stuff on UTube!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HARMONY ROW (Audio CD)
an old favourite on vinyl that needed to be changed to digital format for the sake of my sanity eric
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HARMONY ROW
HARMONY ROW by Jack Bruce (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews