Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seriously good version of a Floyd classic!
With perfect timing to coincide with the thirtieth anniversary celebrations of Pink Floyd's classic, Dark Side Of The Moon, comes this ambitious, authentic and even amusing reinvention.
Using the pick of the reggae and soul community, who spent over three years on the work, Dub Side Of The Moon is one of the more outrageous attempts at reworking Floyd tunes that has...
Published on 5 Mar. 2003 by Matthew Johns

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very straight translation to reggae
Got my copy of Dub Side Of The Moon this morning. On first listen it sounds like it's actually a very straight translation to reggae (I was hoping for some really wild variations on the theme, as I imagine Adrian Sherwood would have done for example), but it's good and it works. It's probably how a lot of users of the magic tobacco have heard Dark Side Of The Moon for...
Published on 14 Mar. 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stands the test of time, 7 April 2004
By 
Sean Watson (Wiltshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
When i heard about this album, i just had to get it. Like many people I know the DSOTM inside out, and was intrested and somewhat apprehensive as to what a cover would sound like, but there does seem to be an effinity between Pink Floyd and dub/regae (don't ask me why, there just is, ok ).
Having now listened to Dub Side of the Moon (many times) i have to say i'm very impressed, it strikes me that it was done as a work of appreciation of DSOTM not a rip off, from the first note you just know this is going to make you smile, especially the intro to Money, most importantly it stands the test of time, so often with 'novelty' records, they can be amusing or intresting at first but soon grow tiresome, not this, it stands as a great album in it's own right.
Most people will already know if they will like Dub Side of the Moon. Put it on when friends who are into DSOTM are round, and watch there faces!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Covers Album Ever?, 21 Sept. 2007
By 
Mr. Stephen Edwards "se1955" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Unusual, in that it's a cover album, rather than an album of cover songs, if that makes sense. If the purpose of a cover version is to bring a new interpretation or sound to familiar work, then this is as good as it gets.
The songs are actually pretty faithful to the originals, but the reggae rendition adds another dimension, which seems to meld perfectly. The title is a little misleading, I'd say it's reggae with a bit of dub rather than out-and-out dub.
I'd also say that the success of the album, musically, should be taken as huge compliment to Pink Floyd.
I welcome the element of wit which diverts from the slight, typically early '70s, tendency to rock pomposity of the original, but I guess the odd Pink Floyd purist might be outraged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing job!, 8 May 2007
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
I'm a big Pink Floyd fan and actually I don't listen a lot of dub, however when I listened the album I realized that the "easy star all stars" musicians are masters.

The full album is a comfortable experience, I really enjoy this great job.

The album, from start to the end, is a comfortable experience, I really enjoy this great job.

Last weekend I saw the group alive and I got absolutely amazed with the excelent quality of the group.

100% recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply briliant, 20 Feb. 2009
By 
ajpegg (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a must have album for anyone with a taste for reggae and a love for Dark Side Of The Moon.

Simply stunning and very well done, it brings together the passion of reggae and the underlying melodies of possibly the greatest album of the last century.

Five Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 30 April 2006
By 
M. Cooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
this cd is probably the best way to a honour such a brilliant cd which is dark side of the moon. "Money" and "Time" sound like they were written to be played in a reggae style and this guys hit the head on the nail. Brilliant stuff for both reggae and pink floyd lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 12 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
I liked this. Don't buy many CDs these days but, after hearing most of this album on an online Dub Radio station, I just had to get a copy. I'm a big fan of The Floyd and also like 70s dub. Although this album has a quite a modern sound to it, there is a touch of old school dub. Well done to the guys on the project as I reckon they have produced a great album that should appeal to any Floyd/Dub/Reggae fan. Especially liked the versions of Time & Brain Damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd, Dub-Stylee, 4 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If, like me, you enjoy listening to say Tomita's version of Holst's Planet Suite, or Jacques Loussier playing Bach, or even Duke Ellington jazzing it with Mary Poppins (that's great!!), you'll love this. It is a bit tongue in cheek, but not silly; if you are familiar with 'Dark Side of the Moon' you will appreciate what a good job has been made of this dub version. I play it over again without ever tiring of it: excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic quality rework of a classic work., 16 Aug. 2011
By 
Ahmed Gouda "ahmed672" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a great album that demonstrates how a timeless classic like the "Dark side of the moon" can be so versatile & delivers musical & lyrical excellence in all shapes and forms. This is thanks to the ingenuity of Easy Star All Stars who managed to produce a complex album, rich in details all executed seamlessly with perfect sound quality.

The music is smooth and spacey yet psychedelic with deep dub bass lines that delivers a changing reggae sound with a great underlying dynamic & rich sound layers. You only appreciate the depth of this album with a good set of headphones that capture the rich sound details.

Their interpretation of the tracks and the elaborate textures of sound and details in many of the tracks is impressive, for instance "TIME" and "the Great Gig in the sky" are seamless. With great material to work with, Easy Star not only reworked the Dark side of the moon, but also added some originality to the score with good tracks like the Rasta man scene, a very dubby reggae tune that just adds quality & lightness to the album. This is definitely a 5 stars album. Big it up for Easy Star All-Stars. Much respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dread side of the moon, 3 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Cover versions are rarely as good as the real thing, cover albums even less so. This album however turns over tradition by being every bit as good as the original. If you love rock but thought you didn't do regee then think again, this really is a true son of the original. Turn down the lights, get well chilled and turn it up to 11!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crucial music, 28 May 2009
By 
Samuel Rohwer "jesu the risen one" (gloucestershire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dub Side Of The Moon is just one of those brilliant albums. a classic. it is a reggae/dub version of pink floyds Dark Side Of The Moon. if you dont know or like pink floyd it is still very good reggae with a touch of sixties psychadelic genius. buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dub Side Of The Moon
Dub Side Of The Moon by Easy Star All-Stars (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews