Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seriously good version of a Floyd classic!
With perfect timing to coincide with the thirtieth anniversary celebrations of Pink Floyd's classic, Dark Side Of The Moon, comes this ambitious, authentic and even amusing reinvention.
Using the pick of the reggae and soul community, who spent over three years on the work, Dub Side Of The Moon is one of the more outrageous attempts at reworking Floyd tunes that has...
Published on 5 Mar 2003 by Matthew Johns

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very straight translation to reggae
Got my copy of Dub Side Of The Moon this morning. On first listen it sounds like it's actually a very straight translation to reggae (I was hoping for some really wild variations on the theme, as I imagine Adrian Sherwood would have done for example), but it's good and it works. It's probably how a lot of users of the magic tobacco have heard Dark Side Of The Moon for...
Published on 14 Mar 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seriously good version of a Floyd classic!, 5 Mar 2003
By 
Matthew Johns (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
With perfect timing to coincide with the thirtieth anniversary celebrations of Pink Floyd's classic, Dark Side Of The Moon, comes this ambitious, authentic and even amusing reinvention.
Using the pick of the reggae and soul community, who spent over three years on the work, Dub Side Of The Moon is one of the more outrageous attempts at reworking Floyd tunes that has come along over the years. And it works fantastically well! It might seem sacriligious to some, but I think this is a great album! A fantastic job has been done from beginning to end. If you are a purist, hate cover bands, cover versions, and the like, you will probably hate this. If, however, you enjoy hearing fresh versions of old favourites, I urge you to check this out...
The idea came about in 1999 when New York reggae label vice president Lem Oppenheimer convinced his colleagues that this was a viable concept to cover. He imagined it would "echo Dark Side's album artwork - refracting Pink Floyd's music vision through a prism of reggaes's rich rhythmic and instrumental possibilities". Gathering some of the best musicians of their genre, the producers have approached the work seriously - so seriously in fact, that the (alleged) Wizard Of Oz syncronicity apparently works throughout!
Nyabinghi drumming kicks off the album, along with the heartbeat (this bookends the album). Speak To Me, with re-recorded comments (every sound, voice, whatever - has been rerecorded in an appropriate style) moves into a nice version of Breathe, easing the listener gently into the different sound given to this very familiar work. A great vocal as well from Sluggy Ranks.
A kicking drum'n'bass version of On The Run follows. The style fits this fairly timeless synth heavy track well. The song climaxes, then some very funny alarm clocks herald the start of Time. The opening (once the chimes have subsided) plays down the normal rototom drum solo, David Gilmour's solos have been replaced by some toasting, which works well. The song seems none the worse for the lack of guitars...
Great Gig In The Sky has been done really well - lovely, atmospheric, and a soulful vocal from Kirsty Rock. Money then kicks off - no cash registers but the sound of bongs (apparently - not that I would know) which puts a smile on the face. Musically, the song is very similar to the original. The vocal is provided by Gary "Nesta" Pine and Dollarman, who provides the effective toasting that replaces David's traditional solo.
Up next, Us and Them. A nice, uplifting bass line and a pretty faithful sax performance. Frankie Paul does a pretty straight reading of this track, just adding a touch of his own interpretation. Like Money, not a huge departure from the original. Us And Them blends into another faithful (if reggae flavoured) reading of Any Colour You Like, with David's solo replaced effectively with horns.
A stripped down Brain Damage follows, with Dr Israel sounding like he's singing through a megaphone in places, which naturally leads to Eclipse, which to my mind is the least successful rendering on the album. For what should be the climax, it seems poorly paced, particularly vocally, and muted. However, the Nyabinghi drumming that leads out, nicely wraps things up.
There are four bonus tracks - and they enter heavy dub territory! You get Time, which starts like a Zabriskie outtake, before heading into an instrumental, dub version. Great Gig In The Sky gives you more of the same but with some awesome bass. A great version! Finally, you have Step It Pon The Rastaman Scene/Any Dub You Like, which is based on Any Colour You Like but dramatically different, with a nice vocal by Ranking Joe.
It is a sign of a great piece of music that it can be covered in different ways successfully - think about the many ways that Lennon & McCartney songs have been covered; Dark Side is arguably the pinnacle of Pink Floyd's career. To still be so respected thirty years on, and in this case, in a completely different music community, is a sign of Dark Side's enduring quality and appeal.
As a concept, it sounds like it just shouldn't work - but it does. Their obvious respect and love for the original shines through and ensures the album stands up to repeated playings. This is no "interesting novelty" that a project like this could be in danger of becoming. Go on - give it a try. You'll be missing a treat if you don't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Tribute, 2 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
It took a lot of guts to take this project on and the results are stunning. As a huge reggae fan, I was amazed at the skill in which this, the ultimate concept album, was transformed into a reggae masterpiece. This is not a straight up Dub album, but there are enough elements of Dub throughout to please any fan of that genre. And to hear Frankie Paul, Ranking Joe, The Meditations, Sluggy Ranks and the like, flexing on these riddims, is a joy. Don't sleep on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I pity the fools..., 26 July 2007
By 
B. OMALLEY (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
...who fail to get this album. A couple of reviewers have slated this, one says it is cheating, the other says it is only good for a laugh. I presume these are die-hard Floyd fans, who are far too precious about the original work to see how brilliantly the All-Stars have rearranged this record into a dub masterpiece. If you like Pink Floyd but are not too anal about them, or if you are a fan of dub, then this album is a must. Brilliantly conceived and wonderfully executed, what are you waiting for??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is no dark side of the moon in fact it's all dub, 24 May 2007
By 
Mr. C Coulson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
This one passed me by on its initial release and it was only when I got one an Amazon recommends notification. It's a great idea and very well executed., certainly for someone like me who still has a soft spot for both the Floyd orginal and most forms of Dub reggae.

If dub has an age I'd say this performance sounds like late 70's / early 80's dub and the use of Ranking Joe who toasts over Time puts the sound firmly in the early 80's.

Whilst there are some standout performances like Breathe, The Great Gig In the Sky, Brain Damage and Us and Them there are some horrors like Money and Time. Whilst I like Ranking Joe when he's doing his own thing he rather mucks up Time with a rather tedious talk over that boast lines like "Time is the master and time can be a disaster" - not his best I'm sorry to say.

That aside it's great summer music and I've been playing it to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tribute worthy of the original, 10 May 2007
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
It is very easy to get a bit precious about Dark Side of the Moon and I think the guy who gave 1 star possibly falls into this category. I mean the original was a megga selling classic landmark in album recording. However times change and the world moves on and somebody dares to cover an album which I would have thought was uncoverable ........... and they make a damn good job of it. The All-stars have recorded an album that has a great dub sound and is positive, upbeat and even funny but is still in many ways true to the original. Make no mistake, this is not a Dread Zeppelinesque commedy album its great dub reggae. It does however have a humourous side to it, the standout track is Time and I defy anybody not to smile as the intro finishes and the song starts.

This is music for the summer - buy it and play it in the car when the sun shines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not help smirking while listening to this..., 24 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
A superb interpretation of a Pink Floyd classic - drop those LSD tabs; fire up that bong instead!
Not once did I feel that the album had been abused... It helps that the album inherently lends itself to a reggae remake - the rhythms align themselves well to the album tracks, as well as the railings against social injustices.
Top marks to the Easy Star All Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good job!, 20 May 2006
By 
K. "kpax25" (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Was introduced to this album while on holidays on a tropical island, and was bowled over! One of the best Floyd albums flawlessly made into a Reggae album... Who woulda thunk?! I just wish they told us who those Easy Star All-Stars are, as I seem to recognise a voice or two. On the fun side, the bong rythm on the start of Money is a classic!

Definitely a safe buy if you're into either Reggae or Pink Floyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 * for the complement., 10 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. P. J. Coombe (Southend) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
Its a very interesting album...I got home late last night as the coach I was on broke down....so coming through the front door, tired and hungry imagine my delight to see Dub Side of the Moon staring up at me, so having quickly russled up some inconsequential meal I hurriedly ran upstairs stuck the album into my CD player, put the head phones on and turned the volume up very loud...and there I was standing in my room w/headphones on listening to the first heartbeats of the album playing similar to the original Floyd version...so imagine my surprise as the first cords of rang out and instead of Gilmours loose string guitar sound playing in the opening bars of the track..this fabulous reggae beat pulls through and the album is of...
What do I think? well this album works because although it is so so different from the original it isnt different at all, you know what I mean. The tracks are all instantly recgonisable as Floyd, and the easy all stars stay incredably faithful to Floyds production, so much so that in tracks like "Money"(which when you hear the dub version you can see that this was always going to be the easiest track to re-produce) it doesnt vary too much from the path of Gilmour and co, but instead of cash registers at the start it is the sound of a man sucking on a hookah pipe....and indeed later on the infamous line "the lunatic is on the grass" becomes a lot more symbolic with this redeniton of the floyd classic.
The easy all stars reproduce the album with drum n' bass in places, horn sections and some quality regaae vocals, and in which this is probably more so a regaae album as opposed to dub, but dont get me wrong the bass is there and aplenty..
As they say in the album credits..merging Floyd and Dub is only going to appeal to a select band of members...but if like me you love both then this is an interesting album to buy.
The thing about this album and I suppose in a way the beauty of it.....whilst musically I have moved on in my musical tastes, Floyd very obviously holds a special place in my heart and we cannot get away from the fact that the music that they produced was legendary...still regardless of how good "Dark side of the moon" is as an album...you have to be in the mood to sit down and listen to it..and this is still very much the same with "dub side....." and that quality is very endearing...You still have to be in the mood for floyd to listen to this album as the whole album doesnt change too much at all...and I for one like it...
However to give it a proper appreciation..it needs a smoke, a beer, a saturday afternoon and some volume...with the willingness to sit back relax, not say a lot and just listen....now I dont know what your pre-thailand schedule is like, but am I right in thinking that Im sure you could fit in a couple of hours at weekend to do just that..let me know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quirk side of the loon, 8 May 2008
By 
L. Ward "Les Ward" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
This is an astonishing record! On paper the idea of a reggae cover of Dark Side Of The Moon sounds demented - but in practise it's truly fabulous. The All-Stars perform dub alchemy, conjuring roots rock out of prog rock like it was the most natural progression. Great Gig In The Sky had me sobbing at its beauty - honestly.

Any Floyd fans with a passing interest in reggae - or, alternatively, any reggae-ists with a passing interest in Pink Floyd - this is for you. Carefully treading that fine line between homage and parody, the All-Stars present a classic work of art in a new way that shines a white light into the prism of your heart. The result is a mind-bending rainbow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lizzy, 30 Aug 2007
This review is from: Dub Side Of The Moon (Audio CD)
This is an out and out copy of Dark Side of Moon. I've seen the All Stars perform it live and it's even better than the CD. It will never be the same as Pink Floyd's version and I don't think they have tried to do that. It just works beautifully as a Dub version and I think they've done a fantastic job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dub Side Of The Moon
Dub Side Of The Moon by Easy Star All-Stars (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews