Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minstrel Magic
This is a very good album that proves that erudite rock and roll is still alive. Anyone who likes banal, commercial clap-trap like Linkin Park, Limp Biskit should avoid this album like the plague. You would not understand its beauty,its lyrical charm.
Half the album is instantly catchy, for example, the singalong swagger of Boys in The Band and the rugged punk of I...
Published on 29 Oct 2003 by Gonzo Blair

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rough and Ready
No, forget it...The Libertines are not the UK reply to the Strokes, they are their own band supplying rather rudimentary but interesting tales of urban 20-something mundanity.
The ghost of the Kinks is strong here as well as a smattering of all thats good about the punk years and the rebirth of 1989-1996.
There is nothing epic,widescreen or smooth about this...
Published on 31 Oct 2002


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Minstrel Magic, 29 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Up the Bracket [Bonus Tracks] (Audio CD)
This is a very good album that proves that erudite rock and roll is still alive. Anyone who likes banal, commercial clap-trap like Linkin Park, Limp Biskit should avoid this album like the plague. You would not understand its beauty,its lyrical charm.
Half the album is instantly catchy, for example, the singalong swagger of Boys in The Band and the rugged punk of I Get Along. Other tracks like Radio America and Vertigo sound, when first listened to, like they were written 5 minutes before they were recorded. They are not instantly catchy, Radio America sounds like it's going to fall apart at any moment. But it is the spontaneity of the music that makes the album a masterpiece.
It is evident from the album that the Libertines play music for enjoyment, not for money or a transient dose of fame, their raw sound being very unlike much of the over produced, sickeningly sweet music that captivates most of the British Youth today. The lyrics are paeans to a lost age, to the England of Oscar Wilde and Thomas Hardy. The Libertines tell it like it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Nov 2003
As a hardened music fan with over 25 years listening to, nay devouring music, I'd recently found myself becoming cynical to what was being pushed at me, rarely finding anything to set my pulse racing and near enough never finding anything to excite me to the levels that existed in my younger years. That was until Up The Bracket landed on my mat courtesy of Amazon. I put it on the CD player and 2 weeks later it hasn't been removed, despite having a number of other albums bought around the same time (including The Strokes, Travis and Starsailor's latest) demanding my attention.
I can honestly say I haven't been as in love with an album like this since The Stone Rose's released their debut. Outstanding in every way it grows better and better with every listen (and there's been quite a few of those so far). It's impossible to nominate outstanding tracks as they are are all outstanding and my favourite changes daily.
The Libertines combine the current New York cool of The Strokes with the old UK punk cool of the Clash, whilst chucking in a smattering of The Jam and The Buzzcocks and an understanding of English Folk (yes FOLK). The lyrics are oh so British which just adds to the appeal; intelligent, witty and so to the point. Instant identification. Things just don't get much better!
I hope the band get over their much publicised problems and record again because if they don't it will be a criminal waste of talent. And for all you undecided out there, if you like the current New York scene or have a soft spot for the punk/new wave scene of the late70's/early80's, or if you just like intelligently written pop/rock, do yourselves a favour and buy this album. I promise you, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NME's best British band, and it's not hard to see why, 22 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This band has had everything in 2003, from their lead singer being banged behind bars, with an emotional comeback, to producing some of the best truly British rock/punk music for years.
The best songs for me are Death on the Stairs, Boys in the Band, Up the Bracket and What a Waster, but there isn't a single bad song on the album. Don't ask me to pick out a single song to go as my favourite, because it's impossible. They are all too good.
It's a rarity that any band will produce an album in which you can agree with every single song, but this is certainly something you can listen to all the way through without being disappointed, other than the fact that the album ends somewhat quicker than anyone would ever wish.
Pete and Carl have to be one of the great frontmen pairings of the current indie/rock/punk scene. Their guitar and singing techniques are like none other from any of the current selection of bands, only Eastern Lane come anywhere close but they still lack in many areas.
Overall, it is simply impossible to sell this album to any budding buyers properly without saying just have a listen, you need to hear it to believe it basically.
Oh, and the intro to "Up The Bracket" is the best intro to any song ever in my view!!
The Libertines rule, forever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars before the crack took hold there was this..., 10 Mar 2009
This review is from: Up the Bracket (Audio CD)
This is simply one of the best debut albums of the last decade. Following The Strokes in America The Libertines helped to make guitars cool again this side of the Atlantic for the first time since the demise of Britpop.

Since this amazing album much of Pete Doherty's actual music has been obscured by tabloid tales of crack abuse and his relationship with supermodel Kate Moss. So it is important to remember this is the reason that anybody cared in the first place, establishing Doherty as one of the most talented songwriters of his generation. It is the chemistry between the two frontmen however that really made The Libertines so special to their fans. The relationship between Doherty and singer/guitarist Carl Barat which teeters between love and hate, respect and jealousy is what gives the album its energy. As has been well documented this competitiveness coupled with Doherty's excesses would later tear the band apart but here it works perfectly.

'Time for Heroes' is a brilliant tune with poetic lyrics by Doherty while 'Up The Bracket' is another belter. Carl tends to rock a little harder opening the album with 'Vertigo' and finishing it with the fantastic 'I Get Along'. Their sound recalls British punk bands like The Jam and The Buzzcocks while at the same time combining the lyricism of The Smiths.

While the second Libertines album has its charms this is the album i would recommend to anyone thinking of giving the band a listen. While Pete and Carl may not have matched the magic of this debut with their individual projects they succeeded in giving British rock its confidence back and in the process inspiring a new wave of British bands. To any modern music fan i would urge them not to judge Doherty by what they read in the paper but to go and check out this great album first, then make up your minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up the Bracket, 17 Jun 2005
This review is from: Up the Bracket [Bonus Tracks] (Audio CD)
Rarely does a masterpiece of British music come along such as this. This has to be one of the greatest debut albums of all time, with so much energy, setting new standards for the rest of the music scene to live up to. Not since Definately Maybe, Ok Computer and Urban Hymns has the British music scene been indulged with so much talent. A brilliant predecessor for the self named The Libertines Album, which has a lot to live up to. Pete Doherty and Carl Barat's genius will blow your mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting debut from a promising band, 7 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Up the Bracket (Audio CD)
This did not take me a few listens to get in to, i instantly loved this album and it somehow manages to still get better with every listen. It's frantic, chaotic and exciting. It's full of character and charisma, and is strong from start to finish. Time For Heros is fantastic and possibly the best song lyrically on the album. Boys in the Band is great too, with a really catchy chorus about certain perks of being in a band 'and they all get them out (all get them out), For the boys in the band'. Radio America and Tell The King are the 2 slower songs on the album, and are actually quite beautiful. The last few lines of Tell The King are hushed quietly over an even more quiet guitar and it really has a beautiful spine-tingling effect on me. The Good Old Days has lyrics that i'm sure all big music lovers could relate to 'if you've lost your faith in love or music then the end won't be long'. The Boy Looked At Johnny is a personal favourite of mine, it's unusual and great fun. I Get Along is the perfect way to end such an amazing album, another trademark hectic Libs song. Pete Doherty has a fantastic voice that i just love, a great mixture of being able to sing and shout. All 4 members are very talented muscians, Carls guitar playing is especially outstanding. It's not about technical ability, The Libs have thier own style and Pete and Carl are excellent songwriters. This really is one of the best albums i own and the best album of the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a modern classic, 24 Oct 2003
This review is from: Up the Bracket [Bonus Tracks] (Audio CD)
This is an essential album.
There are a few tracks which are instantly great, time for heroes being the stand out classic, but some songs are slow burners such as tell the king and begging.
There has been much hype about the libertines, most notably them being called the british strokes, this is far form the case. The badn in themselves sound completely different to the strokes. What you get is a celebration of British life, Most Uk listeners will be able to completely relate to hte lyrics. for example "there are few more distressing sites than that of an englis man in a baseball cap" form time for heroes, displaying the woes of the people you see on street corners with one earing and a kappa tracksuit.
The band have undergone tough times lately with singer/guitarist being incarcirated for a month. But they are back on top now with a second album pending
my advice is this: download "time for heroes" if you like what you hear (you almost certainally will) then you must buy this album. it has such a range of different musical styles, form the beutifull tell the king to the catchy and upbeat "up the bracket"
put simply, if you're from the UK you will see exactly where this album is coming from and it will not leave your CD player for months
a modern classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!!!!!, 25 Feb 2004
By 
Jumpin' Jack Flash (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This album is non stop song writing genius from beginning to end!
Carl, Pete, John and Gary combine humour, regret and a billiant insight into city life with such brilliance it is no burden to listen again and again to every track on this superb debut album.
The sometimes out of tune clashes of guitars work so very well and vocals are weaved magically within the tune. This is a perfect blend of differing styles of music, Madness, dash of the Stones and a tiny pinch of The Strokes making a completely new genre which should be hench forth known as Libertine!!!
Trust the hype, believe it...Hell buy into it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Racket of Albion, 21 Aug 2003
The legendary liberine boys have yet again come up with an amazing 'cockney Punk' anthem.
The beggining kicks in with a droaning yell from Pete Doherty
which follows up a kicking, upbeat, dance along, guitar tune which continues throughout the rest of the song, utter punk bliss.
the Libs have managed to squeeze this marvellous, fresh sounding punk beauty into just two minutes and 38 seconds, clearly punk music from Britain's finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The potential saviours of British rock, 18 Mar 2004
I'd heard Libertines songs on nights out and was very impressed, but like many people I wasn't convinced that they would be able to pull it off at album's length.
How wrong I was to be proven. Despite drawing heavily from classic British influences such as The Clash, The Jam and Squeeze, this alubm sounds fresher and more innovative than most others out there at the moment. Arrogant, cocky and downright crude in places, this is what rock 'n' roll should be like.
Both lyrically and musically, this album could not have been produced anywhere other that Britain. From the Strokes-like garage rock of I Get Along to the Weller-esque social commentary of Time For Heroes, this album excites and entertains every time it is played. An essential purchase for thos who wish to hear what could be the beginning of something very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up the Bracket [Bonus Tracks]
Up the Bracket [Bonus Tracks] by The Libertines (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews