Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation album - great song selection!
I really love this Zep compilation album. I totally disagree with the reviewer before me who said the song choice was crap. With classics like Kashmir, Houses of the Holy, Whole Lotta Love, Stairway to Heaven and my personal favourites - All of My Love and Ten Years Gone, the reviewer possibly got confused with another band!!?? Considering that a compilation album can...
Published on 28 Feb 2006

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Copy Protected - Carefull
I give this 1 star to draw attention to the review - I would definitely give this 5 stars normally for quality of sound and content but be warned that it is produced in Germany and is copy protected which will mean you can play it with no problems on any machine other than you PC with Windows 7 or later. I could not understand at first why it played so well in the car but...
Published 6 months ago by MikeyRed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation album - great song selection!, 28 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Early Days and Latter Days - The Very Best of Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
I really love this Zep compilation album. I totally disagree with the reviewer before me who said the song choice was crap. With classics like Kashmir, Houses of the Holy, Whole Lotta Love, Stairway to Heaven and my personal favourites - All of My Love and Ten Years Gone, the reviewer possibly got confused with another band!!?? Considering that a compilation album can only have a certain number of songs, I think they chose a good selection. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Showcase For Rock's Greatest, 21 May 2003
By 
I. Bullen (Wigan, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Early Days and Latter Days - The Very Best of Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
This is a masterly introduction to the Led Zeppelin legacy. If you don’t own any albums by them then this will serve as an excellent taster. It’s not the definitive Zep collection, that distinction belongs to the mighty Remasters, but if your budget is limited then this is well worth getting as it contains all the classic Led Zep tracks plus a number of lesser-known tracks guaranteed to have you buying up (most of) the back catalogue as soon as possible.
So what do you get in addition to Stairway To Heaven? Well from the early days, we get 4 tracks from Led Zep 1 for starters, including the incendiary primal blues rock of ‘Babe I’m Gonna Leave You’ and ‘Dazed And Confused’. Led Zep 2 is strangely under-represented, the obligatory ‘Whole Lotta Love’ (classic Top Of The Pops theme, pop-pickers) is joined only by ‘What Is And What Should Never Be’. Similarly, Led Zep 3 also only gets two tracks (although given its lack of popularity compared to the albums released either side of it this is less surprising). This is my only gripe with the album really – surely the likes of ‘Heartbreaker’ and ‘Bring It On Home’ (from ‘2’) and ‘Gallows Pole’ and ‘That’s The Way’ (from ‘3) could have been squeezed on there (particularly as Led Zep 4, or whatever you want to call it, has 5 of its 8 tracks on display).
The Latter Days features a good selection of tracks, too. I was particularly pleased to see ‘No Quarter’ from the ‘Houses Of The Holy’ album as well as ‘Trampled Underfoot’ from ‘Physical Graffiti’ for which this album served to remind just how good that particular track is. Later epics such as ‘Kashmir’, ‘Achilles Last Stand’ and ‘In The Evening’ show how much the band developed musically throughout the 70s and are arguably the best tracks from ‘Physical Graffiti’, ‘Presence’ and ‘In Through The Out Door’ respectively.
There isn’t much to dislike really. Every track is great despite my earlier arguments for other tracks to be included. With a back catalogue so strong there are always going to be one or two of everyone’s favourites not featured. This is a great collection of the very best of Led Zeppelin. If you want to know what the fuss was about, get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more could you want?, 12 Jun 2004
This review is from: Early Days and Latter Days - The Very Best of Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant, may not be an ultimate best of selection but hey, its enough to get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pretty fine introduction to one of the all-time greats., 8 Mar 2003
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Early Days and Latter Days - The Very Best of Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
'Early Days & Latter Days' is a pretty fine introduction to one of the all time greats, though it's not that different to 1990s double-set 'Best of' that accompanied the great 4-disc box-set (which is an even better introduction to the band!). This compilation takes in most of Zep's back catalogue- though nothing from the BBC Sessions double-set, nought from the bloated Song Remains the Same live collection (a good thing), nothing from so-so outtakes album 'Coda' (I'd have liked to have seen 'Ozone Baby' included) & sadly no 'Travelling Riverside Blues' or 'Hey Hey What Can I Do' - which popped up on the boxset (otherwise unavailable elsewhere).
We get four tracks from 69's debut album: the brief joys of 'Good Times Bad Times ' & 'Communication Breakdown'- that latter having a primal spirit more akin to harsh punk than the hippy era. The cover of Joan Baez's 'Babe I'm Gonna Leave You' is inspired, taking in the acoustic part of Led Zep that people tend to overlook (it's all hammers & snappers & satan. Yawn...)Nice to hear a relatively short 'Dazed & Confused'- which doesn't go on for half a decade like it does on 'The Song Remains the Same'...Their second album was recorded 'on the hoof' & remains one of the classic rock albums, the Zep just up for it, bigtime. Surprisingly we get just two tracks from an album that should be owned by everyone- the overfamiliar 'Whole Lotta Love' (don't mean it's not great- see my comments on LZ4 material)& one of my fave's: 'What is & What Should Never Be'. Don't know how they could have passed over the joys of Thank You, Ramble On & Bring it on Home though...I think their third album is another great release, though its largely acoustic joys are passed over for the huge Immigrant Song & the epic blues of Since I've Been Loving You. With songs like Tangerine and That's The Way being featured in 'Almost Famous' it feels like another missed chance for people to dig an album that isn't as revered as the one's that preceded and followed it...The untitled fourth album is perhaps over-represented & over-familiar- not that the songs are bad, I just can't take this release like I can't take 'Dark Side of the Moon' or 'Sgt Pepper'. 'Battle of the Evermore' is too Lord of the Rings & 'Stairway to Heaven' I'm allergic to (even though it could hardly not be included). Of the tracks here I can only take 'When the Levee Breaks'- whose drumbeat would influence hip-hop & be sampled en masse (see Chapterhouse's Pearl, Beastie Boys 'Licence to Ill' or the early material from Eric B&Rakim).
Disc 2 opens with two tracks from 73's 'Houses of the Holy'- opener 'The Song Remains the Same' & a surprise choice: the epic 'No Quarter' that sees John Paul Jones offer some great keyboards. Odd that 'The Ocean' is passed over- put it down to space...The collection takes four-tracks from my fave Zep album, 75's double-set 'Physical Graffitti': the belated title track to the previous album, the epic eastern soundtrack of 'Kashmir' , the Doors-y 'Trampled Underfoot' & one of Page's best guitar performances: 'Ten Years Gone'. Fantastic...But something had to give & Plant's car crash was the major event that pushed them into alien territory. Here we have the downbeat 'Whole Lotta Love'-style blues of 'Nobody's Fault But Mine' & the huge opening track from 'Presence': 'Achilles Last Stand'- which is huge & infinite stuff. Again, pity more of this album can't be heard- 'For Your Life' having a divine guitar sound & 'Candy Store Rock' being a more laidback Led Zep (the "Oh Baby/Baby" refrain being very Britney Spears!)...The final, somewhat dissappointing 'In Through the Out Door' album is represented by the two best songs: the touching 'All My Love' (written for Plant's son Karac, who had died of a viral infection & containing John Paul Jones best keyboard performance) & the huge 'In the Evening' - which I feel has more in common with The Cure's 'Disintergration' album (The Cure's Porl Thompson has since played with Plant).
'Early Days & Latter Days' is a fine introduction to one of the greatest bands of all time- having said that I don't think it's definitive & it misses off many great songs. Led Zeppelin aren't a band you can deny & here you can hear their trademark soundscape & Plant's much imitated/never bettered vocals. Every home should have some...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Copy Protected - Carefull, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Days and Latter Days - The Very Best of Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
I give this 1 star to draw attention to the review - I would definitely give this 5 stars normally for quality of sound and content but be warned that it is produced in Germany and is copy protected which will mean you can play it with no problems on any machine other than you PC with Windows 7 or later. I could not understand at first why it played so well in the car but not on my PC. Did some research and apparently Warner label does not use something called the Redbook system and on anything produced in Europe they put this copy protect code on the disk which makes it hiss and sound distorted like your speakers have blown. There is no way around it, even using another player because it recognises that is has recording capabilities.

As I have (typically) only the PC as a Hi-Fi in my home it is no good to me unless I want to sit in the car or buy a Hi-Fi to listen. If you have that and do not want to listen to it on your PC - Great Purchase and great value. I would have liked to exchange it for another without copy protected (EU) but Amazon will only exchange like for like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dog, 3 Jun 2009
This review is from: Early Days and Latter Days - The Very Best of Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
This retrospective from the world's most well-known Rock band is pretty impressive; with a healthy track list, enhanced discs, and some decent photos on the sleeve; this is a good bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LED ZEPPELIN, 12 Feb 2004
This review is from: Early Days and Latter Days - The Very Best of Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
The band with the greatest name for a group i've ever heard and the music's fantastic as well. Although i don't own this , i own all of the songs from the studio albums.There is really no reason to buy this as you can get many led zeppelin albums for just over a fiver so you might as well just buy led zepplein 1-4, the houses of the holy and physical grafitti.The others are great but not essential. This double album is simply full of brilliant songs - dazed and confused is sheer brillaince,stairway to heaven is one epic you'll never forget, although my favourites are kashmir,whole lotta love and since i've been loving you.Immigrant song can't fail to make you howl along to the superb voice of Robert Plant and Jimmy Page's guitar playing is simply the best ever, excluding maybe only jimmy hendrix.5 songs are lifted from their best album, the 8 tracked led zeppelin 4, and these are all great.The truth is, this in my view really is the best of led zeppelin but a better bet would be to buy all of the albums i had mentioned before, especially led zeppelin 4.You should be ready to rock and roll to one of the truly greatest bands there has ever been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A semi-vital introduction, 3 Jun 2004
This review is from: Early Days and Latter Days - The Very Best of Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
It can't be easy to decide what counts as the 'best of' one of the greatest bands in history. As with all such compilations, you feel obliged to cover every album in the bands' career: and the trouble with Led Zeppelin (and every other band) is that some albums are so much better than others. Still, the aim to showcase the 'early' and 'latter' days is a handy way of introducing the newcomer to the band. Led Zep were a band that covered so many genres (hard rock, blues, mystical folk...) that it's useful to present the band in a relatively digestible format.
The 'Early Days' disc covers the four 'no name' albums: i.e. Led Zeppelin I-IV. The main problem the disc has is that it doesn't take much from albums two and three, each weighing in with a mere two songs each. It's probably something to do with the fact that album IV is widely held to be the 'definitive' album that it weighs in with a mammoth five songs, culminating with the indispensable 'Stairway To Heaven'. But the four songs taken from their classic debut (the first four songs) are all justified selections, so it would've been more sensible to cull two of the songs from IV and give II and III an extra song each. But I digress. The fact is there isn't really a bad song on the disc. Instantly appealing songs like 'Communication Breakdown' and 'Rock and Roll' complement the longer, more complicated, but equally worthy songs like 'Babe, I'm Gonna Leave You' and 'Since I've Been Loving You' very nicely.
The nucleus of the 'Latter Days' disc is formed by the four songs lifted from the splendid 'Physical Graffiti' double album: 'Houses of the Holy' through to the beautiful, bruised 'Ten Years Gone'. The patchy 'Houses of the Holy' album suffers from another bizarre selection anomaly: why 'The Song remains the same' instead of 'The Rain Song' and/or 'Over the Hills and Far Away'? But the real sticking point arrives with the Led Zep lite complexion the disc takes on towards the end. Of the last four songs only 'Achilles Last Stand' comes close to replicating what came before.
It's a shame the album ends on such a whimper. Perhaps it would've been more prudent not to stick to a chronological order, which only serves to demonstrate how downhill Led Zep went towards the end. Even better, they could've broken the golden rule and ignored the last two albums so that the REAL best of the band could've shone through. Of course, the newcomer wouldn't have heard any new Led Zep album before this and so be unaware of what this album misses out on. If you don't know much about the band then it's probably worth shelling out on this to see what all the fuss is about. But be advised: it won't be the only Led Zep album you'll need to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Led Zeppelin Vol 1&2, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the best selection of Led Zeppelin tracks put together,had a copy for years with Stairway To Heaven missed off,the wait was worth it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FOUR STARS ONLY BUT GOOD VALUE, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Early Days and Latter Days - The Very Best of Led Zeppelin (Audio CD)
CD arrived at last. Some great tracks, some a bit disappointing. Good value though, the sound quality was excellent as was the video. The warning about copy protection did not prevent me uploading the discs to my Brennan Jukebox without any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews