Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Random......... but oddly brilliant!
Where do I start with this film?!?!?! Probably by saying that it requires a certain sense of humour(!), I found it really funny, but I can see that others REALLY wouldn't! A Princess Bride reference might help (but PLEASE don't get offended if you don't agree- I'm just trying to find ANYTHING to compare this movie to!!!), as the parodies and tongue in cheek comedy are...
Published on 6 Oct. 2009 by E. Wright

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars "Neighbours" meets Victorian operetta
Hard to say exactly why this made me feel unwell.
The weather is lovely. The bodies are lovely. The cast throw themselves into it like lemmings. But somehow it is like a trifle with too much liquid...Perhaps the 80s hairstyles, perhaps the witless hero, or the camp pirate king. Perhaps the total absence of the irony and whimsicality of Gilbert's original Pirates...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. David Titley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Random......... but oddly brilliant!, 6 Oct. 2009
By 
E. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pirate Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Where do I start with this film?!?!?! Probably by saying that it requires a certain sense of humour(!), I found it really funny, but I can see that others REALLY wouldn't! A Princess Bride reference might help (but PLEASE don't get offended if you don't agree- I'm just trying to find ANYTHING to compare this movie to!!!), as the parodies and tongue in cheek comedy are there, but if you can imagine this, but CHEESEY, in a piratical setting and with a few songs (often based on those from Gilbert and Sullivan's Pirates of Penzance)then you may have JUST started to get an idea of what this film's like!.

The story follows an unpopular high school girl, who is tricked by her 'friends' and ends up going out to sea by herself in a small boat. Not the best idea, as she gets washed up unconscious, when her dreams take her straight to a swashbuckling adventure. The storyline is based on the one in Gilbert and Sullivan's the Pirates of Penzance- if you're familiar with it you'll spot the parody!

I can't really say who will find this film as funny as I did, although if you're fond of parodies, are familiar with the Pirates of Penzance, don't take yourself too seriously and don't mind a good old fashioned bit of cheese and a few bad jokes then why not give it a try?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Pirate Movie - blast from the past, 23 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pirate Movie [DVD] (DVD)
When I first saw this film in 1982 I had to watch it over and over again. It is like pantomime, jokes on many different levels and good fun for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Pirate Movie, 6 Oct. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirate Movie [DVD] (DVD)
When I first saw this Movie I just rolled about laughing. The police were brilliant. If there was just one movie this year then this has to be the one, Outrageously funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Fascinating and for mentaly free adult people., 14 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirate Movie [DVD] (DVD)
First than all, sorry for my bad English.
I really enjoy this film every time I wath it, it's very funny and the actors were great, you can imagine watching throu the screen (Like reading between lines), how the actors enjoyed theme selves getting ready each scen.
For me a very good musical film for free people only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "Neighbours" meets Victorian operetta, 3 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. David Titley (Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirate Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Hard to say exactly why this made me feel unwell.
The weather is lovely. The bodies are lovely. The cast throw themselves into it like lemmings. But somehow it is like a trifle with too much liquid...Perhaps the 80s hairstyles, perhaps the witless hero, or the camp pirate king. Perhaps the total absence of the irony and whimsicality of Gilbert's original Pirates of Penzance. OR it could have been the new and sickly songs, or the dire choreography and unnecessary 'numbers'.
Unfunny too...
Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirate Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I've always loved this film as I grew up watching it! The dvd is good quality - doesn't crackle like my video recording from the tv! A MUST BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job for kids and adults, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirate Movie [DVD] (DVD)
A parody of a couple of Gilbert & Sullivan operettas, very musical, Australian-style, panned by the critics, and a flop at the cinema - but we loved it! When the kids were home sick from school, they sat mesmerised in front of it, singing along with the words, they knew it by heart. Why it has not been more of a success, I do not know. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Pirate Movie "Dvd" "Region.1 Import", 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kristy Made This After The Critical Backlashing Of her Previous Film
"White Dog",Wich Was Labelled as,"Racist" and Was Never Released in
Us Cinemas,However Once Again The Critics Were Less than Kind and
Sadly,"As They Often Echo Others Opinions" Dismissed It as a,"FLOP"
"Nobody Hardly Mentions It Was One Of The Highest Grossing Australian
Productions Released In The Us By An American Studio","20th Century
Fox",Even at the Time Of Its Production Kristy Was Full Of Enthusiasm
for The Film Saying How,"The Part of Mable Is More To Me Than all
The Previous Roles Ive Played",She Also Fell In Love With Australia
Saying How The People,"Instictively Care About Peoples Feelings".

But It Was Kristys Transformation From The Shy Mousey,"Teen" Mable
To a,"Golden haired Barefoot Beauty" That Made The Boys Go,"WOW"
I Dont Think People Realise Just How Beautiful She Really Was,"
Beleive Me Under That Tough Tomboy Exterior Kristy Was All-
Woman",Even Now People Still Have Nothing Better To Do Than Post
Vile Comments,"What Your Looking At Now Is a Very Brave Woman
battling A Tragic Mental Illness","Its Such A Joy To See Her
Smiling Again",Yet All Ive Largely Read Is Just So Hatefull
/Negative and Just Plain Nasty.

Yes The Film Is A Bit Silly,"But Then Its Supposed To Be"
Sadly,"Again" The Movies Lack Of Critical Success Led To
Kristys Tragic Breakdown During The Shooting Of,"I Wont
Dance/A.K.A Just The Way You Are" The Following Year,"
And Led To The Aftermentioned,"Desiese" Later Diganosed
As,"Servere Bi.Polar Disorder".

This Disc,"Along With Del Film Pirata" Are Probably The Best
2 Versions Available,"Dont Go For The Uk Release Versions as
Their Both,"PAN AND SCAN",Though One Gripe Remains,A Total
Lack Of any Extras,"Concidering This Came Out In Her 50th
Birthday Year" No Promotional Material/Stills/Photo Gallery
"Very Dissapointing",However If You Want To See Kristy as
Her Fans Would Like To Remember Her/Happy/Healthy and At
Her Most Attractive,"And YES SHE CAN SING" Then I Strongly
Advise You Give This Often Maligned Gem Another Look.

Barry J
"KENT"
"UK"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good fun, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirate Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This is a movie that doesn't take itself too seriously and is full of innuendo and double meanings. With some of the songs from the Pirates of Penzance, and some 80's music it is a fun mix of fantasy and reality. Definitely a lot of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memory lane, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirate Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I was a child when i first saw this and fell in love with it.
It was great to see it again after so many years.
I do hope the soundtrack will be available sometime soon on audio cd by amazon.co.uk
My fingers are crossed !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pirate Movie [DVD]
The Pirate Movie [DVD] by Ken Annakin (DVD - 2003)
£3.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews