Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Angel series
Same excellent shows in this season of ANGEL. David Boreanaz is superb as Angel. This series has everything, its so witty, fast paced and beautifully shot and written I'd recommend it to anyine who likes a suprise. My favorite shows are Billy- about a guy who has the power to make other men brutalise women. Offspring- a very pregnant Darla. Lullaby- Darla in labour and a...
Published on 31 Oct 2003 by Kathy Goodwin

versus
74 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Between "We Got There" and "We're Way Beyond There"
Difficult season to comment on. Some point midway it gets an arc - but not like season 2 got from almost the world go. And it takes a few episodes apart for character development (but nothing like season 1). The end becomes epic and in Holtz with a troubled foe to match our troubled Angel. The Connor storyline (in view of season 4) seems now almost pointless. As does...
Published on 8 Aug 2003 by Sandra


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Angel series, 31 Oct 2003
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Same excellent shows in this season of ANGEL. David Boreanaz is superb as Angel. This series has everything, its so witty, fast paced and beautifully shot and written I'd recommend it to anyine who likes a suprise. My favorite shows are Billy- about a guy who has the power to make other men brutalise women. Offspring- a very pregnant Darla. Lullaby- Darla in labour and a very unusual 'birth'. Waiting in the wings- My favourite episode ever! A wonderfully funny/sad show. The cinematography and story are stunning. All about a magical ballet. Angel & Cordy are HOT and of cause nothing goes how you'd expect or want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Life's full of surprises...', 15 Jan 2007
By 
Customer - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Season three of Angel is usually considered one of the best in its entire run, this is true to an extent. But I think the seasons each improve upon the last in many ways, thus after this season things only get better. I think its fair to say that the show hit its stride in season 3 and its events help to set the cogs in motion for the final two seasons.

'Life's full of surprises', that being the main theme of season 3; when Darla shows up pregnant at the hotel after her little tryst last year with Angel, things get serious. I won't give away the story arc, but the latter half of the season deals with Angel's son Connor and in the earlier part we are introduced to Holtz, the vampire hunter who persued Darla and Angelus back in the 1700's.

With the addition of the quirky scientist 'Fred' to the fang gang and the gradual integration of 'Lorne', this enabled the writers to explore the increasingly complex relationships between the main characters. The writing having greatly improved upon earlier seasons, meant the characters, the small and larger story arcs could progress at a steady compelling pace. Relationships of all kinds take centre stage this season, including the Fred, Wesley, Gunn love triangle and the familial ties that bind father and son. As well as people getting together, there was a fair amount of people and things falling apart.

Consequently, the season finale leaves us with a cliff-hanger leaving us with the unsettling message that great changes are just around the corner... I sorta get the 'where do we go from here?' feeling at the start of season 4, and nothing sets this up like the end of season 3. Ultimately, this season raises a lot of questions; most of the answers will come later, some not at all, but the most important role this season takes is to setup the events that will inevitably cause the circumstances of Angels last two years. Thus this season sets the cogs of fate in motion and delivers one of the series most dramatic and emotional story arcs.

The best episodes of the season include: 'Billy', 'Birthday' in which Cordelia feels the full effects of a human carrying the visions for such a prolonged period. 'Waiting in the Wings', the Joss Whedon penned episode where the fang gang go to the ballet, however the ballet is never complete without some good ole' spooky fun. Other good episodes of the season include: 'Offspring', 'Heartthrob', 'The Price' and 'Loyalty'.

The DVD extras include a few extra scenes from 'Birthday' and 'Waiting in the Wings' and a few commentaries which add some insight into the show, as well as featurettes analysing season 3.

So all in all, well worth buying whether you're new to Angel or not. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Between "We Got There" and "We're Way Beyond There", 8 Aug 2003
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Difficult season to comment on. Some point midway it gets an arc - but not like season 2 got from almost the world go. And it takes a few episodes apart for character development (but nothing like season 1). The end becomes epic and in Holtz with a troubled foe to match our troubled Angel. The Connor storyline (in view of season 4) seems now almost pointless. As does Wesley's betrayal. There just doesn't seem enough guilt or loss there to justify Lilah and his return to *True* Rogue Demon Hunter later on.
I agree that there are exceptional episodes. But also run-of-the-mill plain boring ones ('Fredless' 'Dad' and 'Waiting In The Wings' come to mind - a JW-written&directed episode can suck was my lesson).
So perhaps this is the transitional Angel Season. Fine. But there are no DVD extras to make you sit up and look at the screen, so I'm thinking 3 stars is pretty fair (for me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing season..., 14 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Season 3 saw many big changes for Angel: the focus of his love changed from Buffy to Cordelia and he got a son - Connor - from his old flame Darla. But I think that one of the best things about this season is the fact that Angel isn't the only one with an important character arc.
Cordelia continues her journey to sainthood by being brave with the visions and incredibly supportive (for the most part) of Angel in his times of need, but this is really Wesley's season. Poor Wes spends a large part of this season trying to figure out the links between an ancient prophesy and Angel. This leads him to kidnap Connor away from Angel with disastrous consequences for all concerned. By the end of the Season, Wes is utterly alienated from his friends, is quite literally sleeping with the enemy and is in an altogether much darker place than he was at the season opener. Alexis Denisof does a wonderful job.
Overall an excellent season with good stories/arcs and strong performances from the leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best season so far for the vampire with a soul, 13 Nov 2003
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I've watched every season of Angel including the fourth one but this is my favourite of the lot. The story is great, Holtz is a great addition and really does sound sinister, his quest for redemption is believable and you do have sympathy. The Conner story is emotional and brings out some great acting from David Boreanaz. Cordelia, Fred and Gunn all have depth added to their characters but the best transformation is Wesley. He is nothing like the geeky loser he was in Buffy. Here Angel really sets itself apart from Buffy and now has its own following. As usual the lines between good and evil in this season are blurred. Its not always clear who is right and who is wrong. Highlights include Waiting in the Wings, Lullaby and Sleep Tight. Not only this but the season ends in real dramatic fashion. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The peak of Angel's run., 5 Oct 2007
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Yep, for me this is definitely the best series of Angel, where all the minor flaws from the first two seasons were ironed out but before the still good but slightly bloated fourth season. This third series represents all of the best things about Angel, and comes out on top in practically every way.

First off, the cast is at its best as all the major players have now arrived, i.e. Angel, Cordy, Wes, Gunn, Fred and Lorne, making this the first full series with what most people would probably consider the "classic" lineup. The addition of Fred was definitely a good decision (despite what a couple of my friends might say), as she both adds something new to the group (surely the only people who could possibly dislike her are those who enjoy drowning puppies) and shakes up existing relationships, in particular Wesley and Gunn's friendship, and Angel himself is on excellent form, all the brooding having got a bit tiresome in parts of season 2. It's also in this series that Wesley evolves into my favourite character in Buffy or Angel, with a descent into darkness that is both believable (this being vitally important when you consider the rather clownish figure he cut in his early days in Buffy season 3 and even the early seasons of Angel) and genuinely tragic, and has enormous consequences for the rest of the show's run. Cordy, too, shows massive growth as a character in this series, coming to terms with the responsibility of her visions and her mixed feelings towards more than one male character.

Series 3 is also the best series of Angel for both stand-alone episodes and a season-long arc, and for maintaining a perfect balance between the two, a balance which was definitely lost in the plot-heavy (though, as I say, still good) 4th series. This season's main plot arc is once again my favourite out of the 5 seasons (along with the finale of series 5), peaking in some excellent episodes around the middle of the series (Offspring, Quickening, Lullaby, Loyalty and Sleep Tight) and at the season's climax (Benediction and Tomorrow), and is matched by some of the best one-off episodes in the show's run, my favourites being That Old Gang Of Mine, Billy and Waiting In The Wings (written and directed by Joss Whedon).

I hope I've managed to give a good idea of what this series is all about without giving anything too major away, the only thing you really need to know is that if you like Buffy and/or Angel, neither show gets any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just to let you know that there is now an official season 6, 16 April 2009
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Angel was the best series on television, and I felt such regret when it ended. If you're reading this, chances are that you probably feel the same. However, because it was never the fans who deserted Angel, Joss Whedon himself personally supervised an official (and canonical) Season 6 in full colour graphic novel format. It's called Angel: After The Fall and it continues the story as it would have been had Angel continued. The drawn likenesses are spot on and all the action, plot and humour of the TV series has been captured perfectly. As someone who never buys comic books, I bought the first volume Angel: After The Fall: After the Fall: After the Fall v. 1 (Angel (IDW Publishing)) hesitantly, but it's fantastic, it really is, and if you want to find out what happened after that fight in the alleyway - the official story as told by Joss Whedon - then you must buy this. Find out what happens to Angel, Gunn, Spike, Illyria/Fred, Wesley, Lorne and also Gwen, Nina and Connor. Hope you don't mind that this isn't a review of Season 3 as such, but I hope you've found it helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Angel' finally realizes its potential!, 3 Mar 2008
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 3 of Angel shows many things: how much the show moved away from its parent programme, the excellent Buffy; how much the show grew since its inception; how daring the writers and producers got with the whole idea of the show; and most of all, how stupid the people at Fox are for cancelling this unique, brilliant programme. I get angry every time I think of how they cancelled it.
Anyway, they did, so all we have left are the truly brilliant Seasons 3, 4, and 5, and the slightly flawed but still great Seasons 1 and 2.
The third year of Angel is all about surprises and consequences-- Darla comes back, and she's not alone. Wesley takes a big risk and ends up out in the dark after betraying Angel and the group. Angel continues to brood but finally gets a chance at unconditional love...and Cordelia nearly dies from the burden of the Visions, then has to decide whether or not to leave the group forever (or so she thinks). Gunn (my favourite character) finally gets more screen time and a better storyline, as he and Fred get together, which at first I didn't believe but as time goes on you see how cute they are. Lorne provides brilliant light relief as the demon who reads people when they sing and becomes friendlier to the whole group as he moves into the hotel.
But the best thing about Season 3 is the relationships between the characters, new and old. Unlike earlier seasons, the standalone episodes are not as good as the season's full story arc, which brilliantly links Wolfram and Hart, the prophecies about Angel, his past misdeeds, and the theme of redemption and all this leads to two of the best things about these episodes: Holtz and Connor. The idea of Angel with a baby takes a bit of getting used to, but by the end of the season it's an amazing storyline. It also ends on the best cliffhanger Angel ever got-- the Season 4 ending isn't as good at all, and though the Season 5 one is the best, it's the last one so it's too sad to appreciate :(
People are so often thrown off Buffy and Angel for some reason I don't understand, maybe it's the fantasy stuff, but anyone who likes brilliant television needs to watch both. Immediately.

Standout episodes in Season 3: Well, all of it, but here are my faves: Offspring (Angel/Holtz flashback), Quickening (Darla approaches labour), Lullaby (a brilliant ending for Darla), Waiting in the Wings (a creepy and funny Joss Whedon episode), Loyalty (talking burger!), Sleep Tight (betrayal), Forgiving (Wesley misery), A New World (Connor/Angel interaction is brilliant and poignant), Benediction, and the finale, Tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An optimistic group's fall to darkness..., 20 Nov 2006
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Last time we left the Angel Investigations team they were back in the Hyperion Hotel after trouble in Pylea and rescuing Winifred ("Fred") Burkle, only to hear of Buffy's death.

Despite that, the group appears to hav bonded into a strong family, each looking out for each whilst getting Fred (Played by Amy Acker) to fit in to what goes on as a sort of rehab. And for a little while we are in the usual Angel Inc stuff, they find trouble and they deal with it. However that changes when Darla returns...and she is pregnant with Angel's child. The impossible birth yeilds many great troubles for the team, and is not helped by a demon called Sahjahn who brings back Holtz, an old foe of Angelus, intent to destroy Angel and Darla.

The characters this season go through many dramatic changes, and is done in a convincing manner, particularly Wesley, who makes difficult choices and you are not sure whether to support him or not, not because its presented in a dodgy manner (It isn't), but becasue it is a genuine debate in morality. Nonetheless, the cast goes well together and fit into their roles extremely well.

The action and horror is great too, and sticks with the classic tradition of a Joss Whedon show, including the over-the-top punching sound effects!

So buy and watch with the rest of the series, and enjoy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angel becomes a daddy and then things get really bad, 24 Jan 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Angel - Season 3 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
At the end of the second season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," when Buffy skilled Angel, the series reached its operatic height. The climax was the culmination of everything that had been set up and provided a level of pathos rarely seen in network television. During the third season of "Angel," the counterpart to "BtVS" reached its height in a moment that was stunningly surprising. But then the story arcs that dominated this third season were totally surprising.
Season two of "Angel" had ended with the gang returning from Pylea only to learn from Willow that Buffy is dead (How good is Alyson Hannigan? She just looks at Angel, never says a word, and it is clear what has happened). Season three starts with Angel still in a bad mood after a long summer of mourning Buffy, but then three significant threads are revealed. The first is a prophecy in the Nyazian scrolls, that predicts a being or an event that will bring about the end of time. The second is the arrival of an immensely pregnant Darla (Julie Benz), who informs Angel that he is the father. The third is the arrival of Holtz, a mortal enemy of Angelus and Darla, who has been brought from the past by the demon Sahjhan to kill them both.
Of course, these threads all collide, and this is only the story arc that dominates the first third of the season. Darla's pregnancy derails any romantic entanglement between Angel and Cordelia, the evidence of the one night stand with Darla adding insult to the injury of the gypsy's curse. Then there are the complications of the pregnancy, which should have been impossible given mommy and daddy are dead vampires, because it turns out the baby has a soul and that Darla cannot deliver naturally (as if that has meaning at this point).
This sets up the aforementioned great moment in "Lullaby" when Darla gives birth in the rain in the alley behind Caritas. How great was this moment? I basically told everybody I knew about what happened--we are talking people who never watched the show and had no interest in ever watching it--and they were all impressed by the power of the moment. What impressed me the most was the performance during this season by Julie Benz. When you consider how little there was to Darla during the first season of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," the change in the character is impressive, but then on "Angel" that is par for the course: witness the transformations of Coredlia Chase and Wesley Wyndham-Pryce. But I still think there was something special about the totally captivating performance by Benz.
The Darla plot thread is replaced in the rest of the season by the Connor plot thread, as Angel has to learn how to be a single parent to a baby boy. Holtz is still in pursuit, gathering his own collection of warriors to go up against Angel and his gang, and getting ever closer. But the key development turns out to be the prophecy in the Nyazian scrolls, which is finally translated by Wesley. The former Watcher discovers that the prophecy says that Angel is going to kill his own son, and with Wolfram & Hart spiking Angel's blood supply with blood from Connor so that the baby starts smelling like food to him, Wesley has to take things into his own hands and in "Sleep Tight" we have what you would have thought was a great season finale, but there are still six episodes to go.
The final story arc has Angel dealing with the loss of Connor and then the surprise when his son returns, but not as a teenage demon fighter. However, having spent years in a demon dimension being taught to hate Angelus by Holtz, this is not a happy reunion and it is payback time in "Tomorrow." You look back at this third season and it is pretty impressive how much happened in these twenty-two episodes. One of the reasons this season was so strong was that there was so much going on in terms of the show's subplots. Having brought Fred back from Pylea, she develops an early crush on Angel only to become involved in a love triangle with Wesley and Gunn. Then there is Lilah Morgan (Stephanie Romanov), who comes into her own at Wolfram & Hart now that she is no longer in Lindsey McDonald's shadow (e.g., "Billy").
The make it or break it part of this season is the return of Connor all grown up. I have to admit that I understand the grain of salt with which it needs to be taken with regards to how long can Angel take care of a baby? Rachel has a baby on "Friends" and you can see how often anybody even remembers to talk about Emma. So from a writing standpoint I think this a good move, as understandable as when Pam woke up and found Bobby alive in the shower on "Dallas" (it was the easiest way of getting things back the way they were). Besides, Josh Whedon, Tim Minear and the rest of the writing staff were just pouring things on fast and furious by that point. The only part that I had trouble with was Cordelia's ascension as a higher being.
The extras are getting better on these DVD sets. There is the expected commentary on "Lullaby," as well as on "Billy" and "Waiting in the Wings." There are a few deleted scenes, outtakes, and screen tests for the new kids on the block, Amy Acker and Vincent Kartheiser. But the chief extra features are the featurettes, which include a "Season 3 Overview," a piece on "Page to Screen," and, my obvious favorite, a celebration of Julie Benz's performance in "Darla: Deliver Us from Evil."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel - Season 3 [DVD] [2000]
Angel - Season 3 [DVD] [2000] by David Boreanaz (DVD - 2004)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews