Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over the Hill?
Warning: If you are expecting an album packed with phat Hip Hop beats stop reading now. If you are willing to listen to some experimental downbeat rock tracks then read on... Although Cypress Hill have delved into the Rock scene - especially in the last few years - do not expect the heavy metal sound that is usually the result. Instead Muggs creates some dreamy tracks...
Published on 17 Mar 2003 by Mr. G. D. Simon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
Having heard that this album was going to be poles apart from Muggs' usual offerings, it sounded intriguing. However, I have to say I was disappointed, the first track sets the mood and rolls into the amazing Rain which has to be one of the most amazing tracks I've heard in a while. It starts to go downhill though. The album is made up with too many 'filler' tracks...
Published on 27 Mar 2003 by CRAIG NAPIER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over the Hill?, 17 Mar 2003
By 
Mr. G. D. Simon "a buyer" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
Warning: If you are expecting an album packed with phat Hip Hop beats stop reading now. If you are willing to listen to some experimental downbeat rock tracks then read on... Although Cypress Hill have delved into the Rock scene - especially in the last few years - do not expect the heavy metal sound that is usually the result. Instead Muggs creates some dreamy tracks infused with some enchanting vocals from one Amy Trujilo. At some points you are reminded of the many instrumental intermissions on the numerous Cypress Hill albums but that is about the only comparison one can really draw between Dust and Cypress Hill. The album is quite experimental and there a are two track that are reminiscent of the schizophrenic sounds of Aphex Twin.
The better tracks on the album include Rain, Gone for Good & Fat City, of which Fat City is - for me the best of the bunch. On the whole I would have preferred some straight forward hip hop tunes with the rock orientated and experimental tracks but this may have confused an album which, as it is, sit somewhere between the down-tempo rock and trip-hop. Not what I was expecting but a refreshing change nonetheless...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 27 Mar 2003
By 
CRAIG NAPIER (Largs, Ayrshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
Having heard that this album was going to be poles apart from Muggs' usual offerings, it sounded intriguing. However, I have to say I was disappointed, the first track sets the mood and rolls into the amazing Rain which has to be one of the most amazing tracks I've heard in a while. It starts to go downhill though. The album is made up with too many 'filler' tracks which have no real purpose. This probabaly explains why the album mainly comprises of disjointed tracks with varying styles broken up with these fillers to try and make the whole album gel together. I wanted to like this album but found it very average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Showing his skills!!!!......to pay the bills., 22 Mar 2003
By 
nibb_e (bradford england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
Muggs a figure most influencial in mid nineties hip hop with his all encompassing distinctive style of beat making for bands such as Cypress Hill Funkdoobiest and of course the House of pain,shows his skills in a solo venture ,the rock elementto his music was always present in the hip hop tracks he made for his label "Soul assasins" which at the time in the hip hop genre was "Running Tings" as it were.
The album mixes a harder rock edge with some more layed back tracks all excellently produced with one track "Blip" which would not sound out of place on Berlins Tresor label with Muggs experimenting with an electronic sound an aside but a nice change.
There is a guest appearnace by the now defunct House of pains lead singer Everlast also now solo and veeering to a bluesy sound as oppose to the riot hip hop of "Jump Around"and some other truly dreamy tracks with vocals by Amy Trujillo.
The album is not exactly what I expected given Muggs hip hop past,but anybody with a respect for good production and an open minded taste in music will truly enjoy this album like I have.
Lets hope to DJ Muggs set his hand hand to more production work solo or with another band in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars s on 1 track not a bad listen and cd was better than, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
what it says on the tin trip hop album in the vein of muggs and tricky rock sound with breakz and feel of late 90z hip hop but not in a cypress hill style only indie singers altho house of pains everlast mc:s on 1 track not a bad listen and cd was better than new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprising and wonderful album, 25 Mar 2003
By 
J. R. S. Morrison "Bibliomane" (Adelaide, SA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
Muggs, once DJ Muggs, was a part of Cypress Hill, who I loathed, and yet this new album is a gem. He's abandoned the tedious hip-hop and created a bleak, grimy album of beats and My Bloody Valentine guitar wails, with welcome vocals from the likes of Greg Dulli of the Afghan Whigs and the Twilight Singers. Not a rap is to be found. In short, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overrated and already dated, 26 Mar 2003
This review is from: Dust (Audio CD)
This album received some pretty saucy reviews around the time of it's release and, though never having heard any back catalogue, I took the plunge as it sounded like the new 'UNKLE' or the like. Unfortunately it was more like the old 'UNKLE' and below that par by some way.
Essentially Muggs has taken the Psyence Fiction template and more or less copied the format, with no more inspiration to the songs either. You name it DJ Shadow did it 4 or 5 years ago and did it better.
This is not to say that it's awful. There are some good tracks, (particularly the track featuring Everlast), but ultimately any favour these songs might find soon fades with repeated listening as the 'faux deep' lyrics show their true vapidity once the novelty wears off; and considering music technology's advances there has been no evolution in the last 5 years as far as I can tell from this album.
If you're looking for something meaty in this genre of eclectic trip-hop breakbeat then go for DJ Shadow's work over this. But if you don't really listen to music then this is a passable soundtrack to your day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dust
Dust by Muggs (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews