Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's A Coin-Op Hit!
Yes it's fluff and pure escapism, and loosley based on the Super Mario computer games, but it's a fun film!

Children will enjoy it for the adventure and out of this world effects and stunts, while adults will enjoy a laugh with the tongue in cheek plot and performances from Bob, John and Dennis.

A great film and one that has been overlooked for a DVD...
Published on 12 Feb 2007 by Mr. C. Gelderd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The 90s
What happens when you take a brightly-coloured series of iconic video games and build a narrative around them for a film? Probably involve two heroic brothers (who happen to be Italian plumbers) going on a quest to rescue a princess from an evil dragon, right? Well... sorta, that's what Super Mario Bros does. Except it was made in the 90s, so instead...

Look,...
Published 9 months ago by Monster Zero


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's A Coin-Op Hit!, 12 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Yes it's fluff and pure escapism, and loosley based on the Super Mario computer games, but it's a fun film!

Children will enjoy it for the adventure and out of this world effects and stunts, while adults will enjoy a laugh with the tongue in cheek plot and performances from Bob, John and Dennis.

A great film and one that has been overlooked for a DVD release until now!

Enjoy it, and leave your brain on hold for 90mins of Super Mario Bros FUN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An utter classic, despite it's major shortcomings., 2 Jan 2012
Super Mario Bros the Movie manages several well-known things - firstly it's the first ever mainstream Video Game Movie adaption, and secondly star Bob Hoskins has stated it as the worst film he's ever made.

So how can I review this film so highly, despite the main star's objections to the quality of it?
The truth of the matter is that this film isn't actually as terrible as the hype states it is. Being the first Hollywood adaption of a video game series, and being extremely different from it's source material, there wasn't really anything to compare it to. If you were hoping for a genuine conversion of the game's storyline into a movie, then you are going to be highly disappointed - but then you've made a rather rash assumption that the basic story of the game series would work as a film to begin with. Movies need to be like epic events, a major moment of the character's lives catalogued within an hour and a half (minimum). The game's theme of 'Bowser has the Princess, run into castle and have toad say "Your Princess is in another castle" 7 or 8 times before the end' doesn't make for a good film.

Excuses aside, the film does succeed in the way it intends to. It is extremely fun. Unlike other films with it's reputation, the Super Mario Bros Movie is genuinely enjoyable and even more so thanks to the few downfalls in it's script. Bob Hoskins cracks me up as Mario "Get Your Belt on Kid! We're goin' in!", and Dennis Hopper is clearly the inspiration for Doctor Evil from Austin Powers "See you later, Alligator". The movie manages to do something few films manage - it improves with age. I'm not going to state that it's as superb as Blade Runner (As stated on the box), because they're from two very different worlds. Blade Runner is a classic in terms of being a thought-provoking high-calibre sci-fi drama, Super Mario is a classic in terms of being a cheesy fun-fueled thrill-ride. The only reason these two were compared in the first place was the similarity of a run-down ugly futuristic city, both of which were furnished with surprisingly high quality set design and standards. I would love to see a full Blu-Ray restoration of this movie because there is so much intricate work done on the backgrounds and in the details that the additional quality Blu-Ray affords would allow us even more joy. There are some good jokes in here, the pace is good and never slacks, and while there are some bad script-writing problems the enjoyment should allow most people to gloss over those issues without much problem (Look at Star Trek 2009, horrific script, plotholes and some truly terrible Hollywood writing but because it was so fun and full of action, it is hailed as a great film). This makes it more closely related to being the Star Trek 09 movie of its day, with special effects that were (at the time) really impressive and a mixture of family humour and more adult action (Bob Hoskins sticking his face in a black woman's chest - golden).

I would love to see a restored Blu-Ray of this movie, as it is a great fun movie. It is more fun than a lot of more recent video game based movies (The Resident Evil series is stale, the Degeneration movie was missable, the Final Fantasy films were badly directed, the Japanese even got it wrong with Yakuza: Like A Dragon...), which are mostly bland (Something nobody could say about Super Mario Bros, whether they like it or not) or outright horrific, especially if made by Uwe Boll.
Super Mario Bros is not the best movie ever made by a long margin, but it never intended to be. It was not supposed to be a movie epic like Blade Runner or 2001: A Space Odyssey, nor was it supposed to be a direct translation of the game, which in itself would have been far worse and less enjoyable. It was intended to stand on its own two feet as a fun, family-oriented action movie with darker sci-fi undertones and while it never accomplishes them to perfection, it certainly succeeded well enough to continuously provide a fun and entertaining movie experience.

Some ideas are quite cool, others are a little childish, but that tends to come with the territory with family-friendly Hollywood movies. Again, now more than ever, Nintendo are family-oriented and their Wii console is centred around allowed the kids in as much as the teens and adults - another sign of this film being more accurate now than it was even at the time of its release.

As for possible Blu-Ray extras, I would adore an audio commentary by Bob Hoskins with him just hating on the film and getting irate. You can imagine that would be a funny commentary. Such things have been done before, the Raw Deal Blu-Ray has an HD extra of a movie critic slagging off the movie. He-man DVDs have fan-commentaries ragging on the quality of the episodes while still speaking fondly of the series they adore. If the extras on these don't harm the sales, then the same thing for Super Mario Bros would only raise the sales of this film as people would be keen to hear what he has to say since his outbursts on the movie in the media. Other extras can include original script outlines and differences, several deleted scenes (Which have been spotted in promotional media and found in shooting scripts and screen tests) and the possibility of a re-cut to lose elements which lost this film it's deserved acclaim - such as the bad animated sequence at the start which can be replaced with the original footage of Koopa chasing Daisy into Brooklyn.

Hope to see a decent Blu-Ray release of this movie soon. They've got Blu-Ray releases of Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat and other video game movies of the era, Super Mario deserves at least the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS FILM IS AMAZING, 31 May 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Brothers [DVD] [1993] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Dont listen to what the others say, even if this film isnt really like the games, it doesnt stop it being an amazing film, i first saw this way back in 1994 when i was 9 and i loved it and still do, all the actors are great, especially dennis hopper as koopa and that fine chick, samantha mathis as daisy! the special effects are also great and also humerous, please watch this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you remember, 16 Jun 2009
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Oscar nominee Bob Hoskins and John Leguizamo are an often overlooked double act that made this film an absolute joy. Hoskins displays a untapped (no, I haven't seen Who Framed Roger Rabbit?) comic brilliance, displayed in facial expression, body language and line delivery, while Johnny Leg runs around after the girl quipping as a young New Yorker should.

The Goombas look awesome. Shoddy animatronics are always good for a laugh.

I've subtracted two stars for Oscar nominee Dennis Hopper's dreadful King Koopa performance (worst dialogue ever) and the fact that Bob-omb is pronounced with a stutter, like b..b..bomb, when it SHOULD be pronounced like two words, for the awkward effect. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun!, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Definitely fun, suitably odd and quirky and thoroughly enjoyable! A bit too pricey for my liking though, however I've got it now and I'll enjoy it over and over again! My 12 year old daughter has threatened to pinch it from me because she loves it too! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The 90s, 8 Oct 2013
By 
Monster Zero (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What happens when you take a brightly-coloured series of iconic video games and build a narrative around them for a film? Probably involve two heroic brothers (who happen to be Italian plumbers) going on a quest to rescue a princess from an evil dragon, right? Well... sorta, that's what Super Mario Bros does. Except it was made in the 90s, so instead...

Look, you remember the 90s. Everything went dark. Edgy. Postmodern. Nihilistic. The grunge generation and the post-capitalist fallout meant we all woke up and realised that actually, the world was a pretty messed up place once the hazy 80s filter was removed. It also meant that movies and popular culture in general took a strange sideways step - Frank Miller and Alan Moore became the brand guidelines for new projects, and Mario Bros very much falls under that umbrella of influence.

That's not to say it's bad - it's certainly weird enough to justify a watch, but this is a movie where things are just the wrong kind of dark and twisted throughout rather than a Nintendo-friendly kids flick. It's a brave choice, one that doesn't always work but is worth watching just to appreciate how strange it actually is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Brothers [DVD] [1993] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Disappointed with this purchase as the region does not play on my dvd player. I can only play this film on the computer. Probably my fault for not reconizing the import when purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant film, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Brothers [DVD] [1993] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
the film is brilliant it was very hard to get hold of it but thanks to sellers on amazon its easy to find anything nowadays,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mario bros, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Brothers [DVD] [1993] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
i got it for my big brother we watched it when we were kids he loved it brings back the old days lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars super mario brothers, 23 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good film, husand been wanting it for ages. watched it about half a dozen times now. glad I got it for him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Mario Brothers [DVD] [1993] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
3.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews