Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gainful employment
Men At Work seemed to me to be a band out of their time. I first became interested when I heard their US hit, 'Who Can It Be Now?' They sounded as if they'd taken up the mantle of late 1970s music, like The Cars' debut album, their sound dominated by guitars and sax rather than keyboards. As such, they were a refreshing diversion. The better-known hit, 'Down Under' is...
Published on 13 Sept. 2007 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good bit of 80's Nostilgia
I was browsing lately and came across this album. A good bit of 80's nostilgia for the price of the disc. Some great tracks including Who can it be will ensure an enjoyable revisit to the early 80's.
Published on 7 Nov. 2006 by B Loughrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gainful employment, 13 Sept. 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business As Usual (Audio CD)
Men At Work seemed to me to be a band out of their time. I first became interested when I heard their US hit, 'Who Can It Be Now?' They sounded as if they'd taken up the mantle of late 1970s music, like The Cars' debut album, their sound dominated by guitars and sax rather than keyboards. As such, they were a refreshing diversion. The better-known hit, 'Down Under' is probably thought of as their signature tune, but 'Who Can It Be Now?' fits that role better. A song about a down-on-his-luck man who daren't answer the door, it reflects the band's personal struggles when they formed and the ironic name they gave themselves.
The album is full of great tunes, carried off in a perky manner. The first half of the album is perfect pop, culminating in the breathless 'Helpless Automaton.' They take more risks on the second half, particularly with the long, slow closing track, hardly putting a foot wrong. It is too pop to have the depth of a truly classic album, but it is one of the best pop albums of the 1980s and, at the price, fantastic value. One to be enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one hit wonders?, 22 Mar. 2003
By 
Daniel Dalton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business As Usual (Audio CD)
I think not. this is a good album. not great, but definitely better than you might think for a band which, in UK terms, only ever wrote one thing.
The style is half way betwen Pink Floyd circa "the wall" and Duran Duran, without the glamour, and with a slight sense of portent. These guys take themselves seriously, there's a lot of irony and disaffection in the lyrics, very much in keeping with the alternative zeitgeist of the '80s, and also in tune with a rather young bunch of guys making music for a mostly hostile clientelle. Anyhow.
The music has poor moments, sometimes being a bit limited in its scope, sometimes repetetive, sometimes simlpy dullo. At other moments however, there is majic to be found. All in all the abum probably is weakest in the middle. The finest moments are the last three tracks. Down by the Sea is a tour de force, probably most recently heard as Dom Jolly's surreal backing for a giant puppy fight in Trigger Happy guise. Here there is a sense of the culture of the band, using dialect and theme to create something slightly epic, in the Australian mould. a brilliant tune, worth the (reasonable) price of the album alone.
So one hit wonders, no, but the complete package, not quite that either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like most people I had binned my player so could ..., 29 Sept. 2014
By 
Anthony Lacy "Alacy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business As Usual (Audio CD)
I suffered from a 'Men at Work' earworm several times and had to hear this again. Like most people I had binned my player so could no longer play my vinyl version. Sounds fine, still makes me smile and I've realized what a groundbreaking pop-synth band they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business As Usual (Audio CD)
Funny how this album doesn't sound dated after all this time. It should be in any muso's collection. I wore out the vinyl copy I had years ago so this is a nice find. Like bumping into an old friend. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Getting it again on CD has been great really enjoying it, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business As Usual (Audio CD)
Had this album on cassette 30 years ago & remember playing it loads. Getting it again on CD has been great really enjoying it, forgot how good this band were / are.
Quality of the recordings is really good too & item was dispatched quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit more than just a Vegemite sandwich......!, 29 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Business As Usual (Audio CD)
As a first album "Business as Usual" is a very nice piece of work producing 4 top ten hits in Australia, with 2 of those being Number 1! If you enjoyed "Land Down Under" and thought it deserved all the plaudits it received, then I am sure you will love this album. Men at Work deliver catchy tunes coupled with clever lyrics, that will have you hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business As Usual (Audio CD)
Business as Usual certainly does the business ! It's one of those albums I recall paying the pants off on vinyl but haven't heard for a good few years. I had forgotton how great this album is !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here in Brazil it was great sucess and played all the time in Radio, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Business As Usual (Audio CD)
Here in Brazil it was great sucess and played all the time in Radio. I used hear it everyday first track to the end.
Great memories in my car trips, beaches, sun and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An aid to bringing back good memories of good times., 19 Dec. 2001
By 
mike.gp@lineone.net (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Business As Usual (Audio CD)
This in my view is the best example of Australian pop music of the 80's. I can almost feel the sun and smell the sea as I listen and escape the British winter blues.
Down Under is the track which MAW will always be remembered for and it is still sounding great 20 years on. Yet the opening track Who can it be now? is a stong opening track with a good balance between bass, drums and vocals. Colin Hay's vocals give MAW a distict sound, rough and rugged as you might expect your Auzie man to be, complete with the leather face of Touching the Untouchables.
I can almost taste the coolXXXX as the long out track Down By the Sea takes me away to remenise even further, and yes you guessed it, I did meet a girl from Sydney as I discovered this album in the early 80's. Sadly the album finishes all too soon and I wake to reality. Who knows, I could have caught a star.
Those songs seemed to have caught so much of human experience that we can identify with. This CD is value for money but if you wanted a more complete CD of MAW's work then there are others on offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Antipodean Genius, 29 Jun. 2013
By 
C. Mildner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hauntingly different when it first came out... Still fresh , and summery... tells how life down-under , should be for youngsters everywhere...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Business As Usual
Business As Usual by Men at Work (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews