Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music to just listen to
Having heard only one track from this album before i took the bold step of buying it. Something i have done before and regretted. Not this time. The only track i had heard before was 'Sweet as Honey' and i thought if the rest are this good then it'll be OK. This album contains 10 absolutely outstanding tracks. Each one beautifully crafted and layered with strings,...
Published on 9 Aug 2003 by Graeme Murray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What happened to the bonus track?
I bought this CD on the strength of the bonus track 'Love Will Tear Us Apart' as listed by Amazon. I received the CD as described/pictured, but it did not have the track. What happened to it?
Published on 26 Sep 2012 by Abar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music to just listen to, 9 Aug 2003
By 
Graeme Murray (Welwyn Garden City, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
Having heard only one track from this album before i took the bold step of buying it. Something i have done before and regretted. Not this time. The only track i had heard before was 'Sweet as Honey' and i thought if the rest are this good then it'll be OK. This album contains 10 absolutely outstanding tracks. Each one beautifully crafted and layered with strings, acoustic guitars, great trip-hop drum loops and quality vocals to take you on a sublime chilled out journey. Forget 'Air' and 'Zero 7'. This is the business. Whether you're lying on a beach, in the garden or in the bath, take an hour to enjoy 'Sound Echo Location'. It's a long way from Heaven 17 or ABC (Glenn Gregory and Keith Lowndes are the main people behind the project) but a great step forward and right up to date.
Forget yourself, take some time out and immerse yourself into the empyreal world of 'Honneyroot'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Irresistible album, 9 July 2003
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the basis of a decent 'q magazine review'. However, I was still suprised at the true quality of the album. 'Sound Echo Location' is a beautifully crafted album, a sensuous blend of contemporary electronica with real instruments and voices and the effortlessly evocative feel of a film score. From the pioneering simplicity of their electronic roots Glenn Gregory and Keith Lowndes have combined a wealth of talent and expertise to create this album of heart and passion, an album that oozes pure class and hypnotic melody. Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
i honestly didn't think those heaven 17 boys had it in them!! A beautiful electronica/ambient/chill out album which is surely going to become a cult classic.
sorely underated i guess because of its difficult to market sound. Even the eco-friendly packaging is great - what more can i say?
a hugely ambitious and successful project! and a very welcome suprise to a lot of the rubbish in the charts at the moment.
Sultry, sexy and perfect to unwind to - an awesome achievement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very, very classy...., 4 Oct 2006
By 
Scubaboy "sydwal" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of a few tracks that were included in the excellent Seamless Recordings (Bargrooves) compilations 'Escapism' Vols. 1 & 2. Have to say, I've not been disappointed at all. Glenn Gregory and Keith Lowndes have been around a long time as Heaven 17 and ABC respectively back in the 80s, and it's obvious they've got a great ear for a tune or two. The melodies here are often sublime, with ambient chillout being the overall theme - a world away from their pop past.

The album reeks class and is extremely well produced - as you'd expect from such 'old hands'. Don't buy this if you're expecting anything other than cool chillout that washes over you. A couple of other reviewers seem to have expected something else - I don't know why. Even so, there's more than enough to keep the listener interested, and songs such as the brilliant 'Starshine' and the exquisite 'Falling' make sure you don't drift off into ambient bliss.

So why 4 stars? Because it's an excellent album but not great. The title track is a bit of a disappointment. It's electro-heavy and sounds like someone twiddling knobs and buttons in a studio to me - maybe it's a grower. Also, the inclusion of the classic Joy Division song 'Love Will Tear us Apart' is a little incongruous. Beautifully done, but doesn't quite fit with the rest of the album for me. In spite of this, the album is worth a go as the overall quality of the music makes up for any minor shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ASTONISHING, 23 Dec 2004
By 
luke (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
Where to start?!...I bought this album online after seeing them play live at a club in London - the music sounds as magnificant on record as it did during their hypnotic live set. I haven't left the house without this c.d. for 2 months, if there's any justice in the world 'honeyroot' are gonna have a MASSIVE future. If you ever take a piece of advice in your life - BUY THIS RECORD.......NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a stunning debut, 29 July 2003
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
Supremely chilled out, wonderfully musical and an extremely beautiful record. This is an album that should be in everyone's collection - hypnotic, mysterious and ultimately rewarding. Much more than just electronica - of which i am usually not a fan - this is an exceptional record. BUY IT!! nuff said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heaven 17? No chance!, 23 Jun 2003
By 
Andy McNab (Brentwood, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
I bought this album for various reasons 1) I was an original fan of Heaven 17 (penthouse and pavement etc) but also because Q gave it a 4 star rating, and I thought let's check it out.
The comparisons to Leftfield are justified - however there is more than an influnence from French muso's AIR. Bottom line is this is miles away from Heaven 17 and not a bad thing as times have changed- but if you want an album that is perfect for driving along those long windy roads on a summer's day with the roof down, it'll be hard to beat! Well worth an investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album to chill out to, 20 July 2004
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
Usually I dont go for this type of music, but after hearing their single "falling", I was very intrigued to hear more, so I bought the album, and I LOVE IT! My favourite of all is the song that led me to the album "falling," it is a beautiful song that takes you away from here to another world, and seems to lay down how you feel when u are in love with someone.
Other great tracks are the dancy "sweet as honey" and the computery sound of "sound echo location". To sum up, a great album to wack on when chilling out after a hard day's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What happened to the bonus track?, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
I bought this CD on the strength of the bonus track 'Love Will Tear Us Apart' as listed by Amazon. I received the CD as described/pictured, but it did not have the track. What happened to it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a let down !!!, 11 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sound Echo Location (Audio CD)
I bought this cd after hearing Falling and being absolutley blown away by it, thinking the rest of the cd would be in a similar vein I took the brave step in buying it and was really excited when it arrived last week. Unlike all the above reviews unfortunatley for me it has been a real waste of money. My musical tastes are quite varied, but this washed over me and I didn't even notice when the cd had ended. My advice would be to check out all the tracks first if you are thinking of buying this album and then decide, the packaging is very tasteful, but I found the music bland and wishy washy, probably not going to be popular with the other reviewers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sound Echo Location
Sound Echo Location by Honeyroot (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews