Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars12
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2003
What a breath of putrid air ...
Combining elements of the Velvets, Jesus and Mary Chain, Joy Division, Garbage and Duane Eddy but with more than their fair share of independent thought and inspiration, this Danish duo have produced a high energy adrenaline rush that will leave you breathless.
For just over twenty minutes, they drive you through the darker side of rock'n'roll with a verve and power not seen this side of the afore-mentioned Manchester's finest. The prevailing mood is very dark, the predominant colour is black ... we're talking 'Live Fast Die Young', Black Widows, 50s icons, motorbikes, cigarettes and alcohol, with just the right amount of 'noir' humour and 'Gun Club' GUITARS!
Beg, buy, borrow or steal as many as you can find and give to your friends. Frankly, give it to strangers. This album is ESSENTIAL. I haven't heard such an excellent debut blast in years ... oh, and the included video's rather good, too ...
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
I'll start out by noting that I'm from Denmark, and that this won't affect my review of the danish duo's first EP.
I didn't quite know what to expect from them. Before "Whip It On" I'd listened to "Lust, Lust, Lust" and "Pretty in Black". Both albums sparkled in periods, but were also dragging along most of the time. The same can't be said for their debut EP. There's never a dull moment, and the music blasts away all through the 25 minutes.
The 8 songs are remarkably short, but this seems to be a very judicious choice from the duo. A longer running time would probably have made the EP forgettable since everything is recorded in Bb minor, and there are only something around 3 chords on each song. The first few times you hear the EP it'll be difficult to remember each song from one another, because of the same tuning throughout, but after just a few listens you'll be likely to have a lot of favourites from the record.
The vocal harmonies should also have a note, since the subdued whispers from Sune and Sharin flow perfectly together through the whole EP. There's not a weekspot on here, though some songs work better than others.

After "Whip It On" I took on their debut full-length album "Chain Gang of Love", which is just plain boring. "Whip It On" is to this date still The Raveonettes' greatest achievement, but what an achievement it is!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have bought a Raveonettes cd before, so pretty much know what to expect - but there is a sticker on the front of this Whip it On supplied cd that states 'Features the uncensored Attack of the Ghost Riders video', but I'll be stuffed if I can access it.(The pic of the cd on Amazon does not carry this sticker though)Any ideas how to? It does make me wonder if the cd supplied actually came with the sleeve this arrived in . . . . .
Apart from that, no concerns! Like the band anyway!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Amazing album, love the Raveonettes and will be buying more. Reminds me of Leeds Festival 2003 where I first saw them live.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
A great debut from a under-rated group, showing them at their best, West coast surf punk meets J&MC and rockabilly
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Distorted punk-pop-rock, with an eerie 50s-style cover and a small number of short, hard-hitting songs. Either it's a pretentious waste, or a glimpse of future excellent music -- for the Raveonettes' "Whip It On," it's a little hard to tell just what it is. Taken alone, "Whip" is a fairly interesting rock CD.
Starting with a piercing electronic screech, "Attack of the Ghost Riders" is a steady track, followed by the more flowing "Veronica Fever," the siren-filled "Cops on Our Tail," the heavy-thumping "Do You Believe Her," the rocking "My Tornado" with its haunting whispers, and a few others.
Comparisons to the White Stripes may be the wrong thing to listen to; the Raveonettes sound quite different from the Stripes. They don't have the flexibility or versatility; the songs are a lot more monotonous musically, as many of them seem alike. It's also very short -- only eight songs, and most of them are about three minutes or less.
Despite this, the music is fairly raw and dark, but broodingly danceable. The distorted, slightly vocals seem to blend in with the whirling guitar feedback, and the songwriting has the same dark quality as the music, sometimes well-written and sometimes just repetitive. ("Delinquent girl/and all her angels on death row") The words dwell on darkness, crime, Vegas lights, and catching rays off the sun.
The Raveonettes may be the next big thing, or they may not. "Whip It On" is a nice diversion but gives only some hints of what may be ahead for the Danish duo. A nice (if short) listen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Amazing album, takes me back to Leeds festival 2003, where I first saw them live.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2003
This is truly a great piece of work, and for us die-hard fans of Sune Wagner's music a nice new breath of air. For those of you unaware of the history of Sune Wagner (the guy in The Raveonettes), his professional career started some ten years ago with Psyched Up Janis, who produced brilliant albums that practically never saw light outside Denmark, such as "Swell", "Beats Me", and "Enter the Super Peppermint Lounge" — definitely worth checking out if you've got the Raveonettes fever too. Between the Psyched Up Janis project and The Raveonettes project, he formed the band "Tremolo Beer Gut", so for those of you thinking that this band has just debuted and can't wait until the next release, I suggest you check out the past 10+ releases from Sune's former projects.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Great album Rave on !!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2003
So there's another band that no one's heard of. They're from Sweden, or Finland. It's a boy/girl band and they sort of remind me of the White Stripes. They only have this one EP out so far and the first song is called 'Attack of the Ghost Rider' is brilliant. It sounds cliché at first, but all of a sudden there's all these crashing minor chords and it totally rocks. The boy and girl sing together, but they sound all bored and indifferent, and it's really cool. They kind of sound like they're whispering because the music is so loud. There are another couple of good songs "My Tornado" and "Do You Believe Her" which stand out in this album.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.46

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)