Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Police collection
Just how SACD should be..great multi-channel mixes (surround sound).
In 5.1, the classic songs on this album do take a bit of getting used to, but I reckon are ultimately an improvement on the original. As a hybrid cd, this CD can also be played on an ordinary cd player in old fashioned stereo.
Great value and a great example of the new(ish) technology and how...
Published on 25 Mar 2003 by B. Forde

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware!
I bought this thinking it was a DVD-Audio disc. IT IS NOT. It is a DTS-encoded CD, which means surround sound but not fantastic quality. I've since noticed there's a SACD of the same album available on Amazon - buy that one instead if you have an SACD player.
Published on 18 Sep 2007 by N. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Police collection, 25 Mar 2003
By 
B. Forde (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Every Breath You Take: The Classics (Audio CD)
Just how SACD should be..great multi-channel mixes (surround sound).
In 5.1, the classic songs on this album do take a bit of getting used to, but I reckon are ultimately an improvement on the original. As a hybrid cd, this CD can also be played on an ordinary cd player in old fashioned stereo.
Great value and a great example of the new(ish) technology and how we will listen to the next generation of albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new mix for a classic album, 1 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This is a review of the DTS (Digital Theatre Surround) version of 'Every breath you take, The Classics' by the Police. For those who don't know, this is an audio CD of the album, re-mixed for a 5.1 DTS capable surround processor. DTS is the more recent, and far more superior in terms of sound quality, system used in movies for surround sound. This disc is not a DVD with a DTS soundtrack - it has no video content - but is a re-mastered and mixed version of the album first available in 1995.
My original CD compilation of the Police dates from 1986, and my comments on the new version therefore reflect comparisons with that version. First of all, how can you play this new disc? You will need either a CD or DVD player with a digital output linked to a surround amplifier or processor which can decode the DTS soundtrack. If you do not have this capability, it is possible to play it on a DVD player that has an on-board DTS decoder, (not to be confused with a player that can only output a DTS signal) and then you can connect it through your player's analogue output to the line input on a stereo amplifier. This will give you a high quality stereo mix, but not the full 5.1 mix.
Now to the music. My first listen was with the surround effects switched off, giving a stereo image. Compared to my 1986 compilation, the first thing that hit me was the altogether more realistic sound. The comparison would be the difference between listening to the band perform on stage behind the curtain, and then with the curtain raised. Sting's vocals are more focused with greater clarity and you can hear the breath in his voice. Andy Summer's guitar takes on a bell-like quality, his riffs coming through loud and clear. Stewart Copeland's drumming comes across with more attack and his excellent rhythmic patterns are easily picked out. Sting's bass is possibly a little more prominent than on my 1986 album, but it does not take anything away from the other instruments, and gives a livelier feel to the album. 'Don't stand so close to me' is the original version, not the 1986 re-mix, but 'De do do do de da da da' is not a version that I have heard before. Perhaps it comes from the 1986 sessions? It starts with 8 bars of wonderfully clear 'a cappella' singing before the instruments join in. It is a more laid back version and the urgency of Stewart's drumming is no longer there. Whether it is better than the original is a matter of taste, but the sound quality is excellent. Switching on the surround sound has the amazing effect of opening up the sound stage so that you can pinpoint the components parts more precisely than before. The amount of information coming from each channel varies from track to track, but it is a very pleasurable experience. All in all, this is an excellent album in an excellent new mix. Is it worth the extra money? If you really appreciate quality music, and you already have a good quality surround system, then this is for you.
The main difficulty for me in pursuing DTS recordings is their lack of availability. Here Amazon comes to the rescue! I had been trying to obtain another DTS title ('Band on the run') from a couple of mail-order services since March 2001, with no success. I ordered that title, plus 2 more, on the 8th November from Amazon, and received them on 30th November. Amazing!
I listened to the disc through my hi-fi separates system to which I have added a surround processor, surround and centre speakers, and a sub-woofer. If you are not into movies but are following the line of multi-channel audio, provided your processor has a DTS decoder, this album will play on a multi-channel SACD player using the digital output from the CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Note on the format, 26 Sep 2009
I'll quickly say this a great album and well mixed for 5.1, and if you're looking to buy this you probably already know that.

Now, the disc format - it is a DTS Music Disc, in other words it is a redbook CD with 5.1 DTS track on it. You will need a DTS capable decoder connected by SPDIF (optical or coaxial) to a standard CD player or DVD player. If you play this in a standard CD player connected by a stereo analogue cables to a standard amp you will only hear white noise.

It is NOT a DVD-Audio disc, as Amazon have stated. I repeat, it is NOT a DVD-Audio disc.

I hope this helps clear up Amazon's very confusing and inaccurate description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware!, 18 Sep 2007
By 
N. Jones (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this thinking it was a DVD-Audio disc. IT IS NOT. It is a DTS-encoded CD, which means surround sound but not fantastic quality. I've since noticed there's a SACD of the same album available on Amazon - buy that one instead if you have an SACD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SACD gem, 10 Jun 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Breath You Take: The Classics (Audio CD)
For the owners of SACD players and Police Fans,this compilation is a must. Hidden away on the multi channel 5.1 layer is a new version of "De do do do,De da da da" that this reviewer has never heard before. The surround mixes of all the well known tracks are pretty good too so if you're a big fan then do yourself a favour and upgrade your sound system to SACD. The experience is a joy to be heard and worth the expense to hear this little gem!

post note.This title is also available as a Dts cd (playable in most decent dvd players and home theatre set-ups) minus tracks 13 & 14. Worth tracking down if you can find one as the SACD is becoming rare.The Police - Every Breath You Take [DTS 5.1 CD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect- get it, 7 Mar 2006
By A Customer
an excellent collection, but also worth noting is the stunning mastering, this in the best version of Roxanne i've ever heard, they fixed the pitch wobble during the first few guitar Chops
i deducted one point because i felt this cd was a little short and they could have added Synchronicity II & so lonely.
so for a definitive police best off you either have have to buy this version in stunning quality and lose the 2 tracks i mentioned or buy "Greatest hits" and accept slightly inferior quality but a longer cd
I definitely listen to this CD more than "the very best of sting and the police" because of the superior mastering/audio quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sting every breath you take (SACD), 21 Dec 2003
By 
DARREN ROGERS (NORTH SHIELDS, TYNE & WEAR United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Every Breath You Take: The Classics (Audio CD)
this is the first sacd that i have bought and it won't be the last. the 5.1 surround sound is much better than the sound quality of a dvd disc and is 10 times better than a normal cd played through 5.1.
you haven't heard music until you hear sacd, top marks:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my first sacd, 7 Dec 2005
By 
job (yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Every Breath You Take: The Classics (Audio CD)
WOW. my first taste of sacd and what a great album !. All the classic tracks heard in a way that is truly mindblowing. The 5.1 mixes are genius and if you have not heard the delights of sacd then you are really missing something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 mix breathes new life into old classics, 9 Feb 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Livingston Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Every Breath You Take: The Classics (Audio CD)
One of the better Police compilations on the go. The 5.1 mix reveals a warmth and spaces that may have been lost on the original mixes and demonstrates the new technology to good effect. The stereo mix is equally good. A sound move to bring it out as a hybrid disc so that it will also play on conventional cd players in addition to sacd. One star though has to be deducted due to the omission of "So Lonely" and "Synchronicity II" which would have made it a more complete "Best of".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent quality! Every bit the classic it is said to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Breath You Take: The Classics
Every Breath You Take: The Classics by The Police (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews