Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splinter Cell is an essential!!
Splinter Cell isn't like your ordinary shoot 'em up game, you don't go in guns blazing everytime you see an enemy walking about. This game is about stealth, and you get a wide array of equipment to use to help you get by, from optic wires to look under doors, blending in shadows to hide from the enemy, to using infra-red sensors to decode keypadded doors.
Getting...
Published on 7 Oct 2003 by yukin1085

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as you've heard
Although this is generally a very good game, there are a few little glitches that really pull it down a good way.
First of all forget what you've heard about the amazing light and shadow effects. In a substantial number of places (probably at least twice in every level) I found myself standing in the middle of a perfectly well lit room, and yet the light meter was...
Published on 17 Jun 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Splinter Cell is an essential!!, 7 Oct 2003
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
Splinter Cell isn't like your ordinary shoot 'em up game, you don't go in guns blazing everytime you see an enemy walking about. This game is about stealth, and you get a wide array of equipment to use to help you get by, from optic wires to look under doors, blending in shadows to hide from the enemy, to using infra-red sensors to decode keypadded doors.
Getting used to the controls may seems quite daunting at first, but generally you gradually get used to it as you're introduced to the earlier levels of the game. This game uses predetermined save points, which I think is better in the long run as the freedom to save right before or after any point takes away the challenge aspect of the game, and makes it seem much more like anyone can complete it.
Be prepared though, you must have the perseverence to see this one through as there is no doubt that you will get stuck at some point or another. If you do have the patience to think things through, then this title is a must buy.
4 stars out of 5 is fitting since it would be wrong for me to say that any game can't be bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Softly Softly, Catchy Monkey, 5 July 2004
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
It seems that Ubisoft's stealth adventure Splinter Cell will never be able to avoid the inevitable comparisons with Konami's Metal Gear Solid series. Having played and enjoyed both, I can say that Splinter Cell deserves to be held up there with the finest games of this genre on merit.
Playing as Sam Fisher (an undercover operative for the 'Third Echelon'), your job is to infiltrate various locations around the world, drawing as little attention to yourself as possible. The plot itself involves the Georgian President operating with rogue Chinese & Russian radicals to wage war on the USA and it is your mission to prevent them from succeeding. In some cases, the storyline seems a little true to life (The war on terror, American soldiers being executed) which may leave some people feeling a little bit uneasy.
Some levels are more stealth orientated than others - it is possible to get around certain parts of the game with all guns blazing once the alarms have been deactivated (if that is more your type of thing). Other parts require you to avoid tripping any alarms which involves hiding dead bodies, using the sniper rifle, interrogating the enemy etc.
In summary, Splinter Cell is a fine example of a stealth adventure game and is very innovative throughout. There are ten levels that are progressively more difficult to overcome - if I have one gripe it would be that towards the end of the game, there is an element of deja vu. I can highly reccommend this to anyone with a PS2 who enjoys a bit of a challenge and as a technical achievement it is up there with the best on the platform, including MGS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST, 3 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
I dont no what these people are on about. They obviously dont no how to play splinter cell. Splinter cell is the stealth game of all stealth games.
I wasnt expecting much from this as it was the first splinter cell and i had already completed pandoras tomorrow and played chaos theory.
It is just as good as both of them. The only difference is, is in chaos theory you got a few more gadgets and moves. I thought stealth on this one was harder than both pandoras and chaos theory and in my opinion thats a good thing. The harder the better in this kinda game i reckon.
I love splinter cell. My patience is really bad with games like metal gear solid and stuff but for some reason splinter cell i get into so much. Everything you do you need concerntration and constant focus if you wanna play it properly.
Its amazing. I love this game. Graphics are top notch and the story lines are cool and the cuts scenes are nice and the game play is cool but you gotta be gentle with that joypad so no one hears you.
You think you like stealth games then get this or one of the splinter cell games. I think this one is the hardest out of the 3 but there all really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars slowly builds up to a great game, 6 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
when i first played splinter cell, i initially found it boring, slow, and cumbersome, not to mention hard enough to result in frequent bouts of curses spurting from my mouth. however, (though i still say its too hard!) the slow pace and slightly awkward controls have grown on me, and, as the game progresses, levels and gadgets become more interesting. beware as casual players may not particularly enjoy this experience, due to the patience needed to progress. however, when you've mastered sam's movements, it becomes very satisfying to drop, spider like, from the shadows above onto unsuspecting enemies, or battle uzi weilding thugs while standing round a corner from them, with your back against a wall, firing over your shoulder.
altogether, a great game (after a few boring hours at the beginning), let down by minor complaints such as steep difficulty curve, and lack of a save anywhere function. Good points are the cool gadgets such as optic cables, great graphics, good atmosphere and sam's wide array of moves. Still say solid snake would whup him, though...
Graphics 9
Sound 7
Gameplay 9
Lifespan 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action, stealth, what more could you want?, 4 Mar 2003
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
Splinter Cell puts you in the role of an American secret agent, Sam Fisher, working for a special operations agency, Third Echelon.
This game allows you to do everything you can imagine that a secret agent would do. There is a range of amazing gadgets to use, which adds to the experience of the superb gameplay. There are optical cables that allow you to see through to the other side of doors, lock picks, which can be used to unlock certain doors and an assault rifle with capabilities such as stunning, using grenades and also just for killing enemies.
The game also allows a much greater control over the character than most games offer. This means that the environment can be used to an advantage, as he can climb on pipes, and use the walls to springboard himself onto higher ledges or platforms.
The developers have thought of everything, which makes this one of the most realistic games around. However this results in losing health more rapidly than other games, which can be fixed by medical kits, which are found at different places on various missions. Another backdrop is, where you could obtain ammo from dead enemies in other games, you cannot with Splinter Cell, and unlike medical kits there are very few ammo packages on missions. This means that on most missions the ammo you enter with, is all you've got, so you have to ration you're ammo very carefully.
Everything about this game, such as the stealth aspect and the many gadgets to use more than make up for the few glitches in the game, and although the story isn't the best around it does compliment the gameplay, which is what makes this game a 'must have' for all gamers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing and challenging, 2 April 2003
By 
K. Harrnacker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a great game for anyone who likes stealth and espionage. Creeping around embassies, CIA headquarters, burning buildings and even an oil rig, the game play is varied and challenging with a progressive learning curve.
A lot of the time, you're sneaking around and often, triggering alarms or causing a fatality can end the mission, so you have to be careful. Fortunately, there are no rules against bashing people over the head, then hiding the body in a store cupboard which is a particularly satisfying way of disposing of the enemy.
The game has a lot of elements of MGS2 but loses some of the more frustrating aspects - you can hang over the edge of a wall or ledge indefinitely without losing your grip, and unconscious enemies don't jump back to life and shoot you. There are also some pretty nifty moves, such as zooming down zip cords or my particular favourite - jumping up and wedging yourself between two walls with your legs (from where, you can launch a devestating attack on your enemy below).
The game is thoroughly absorbing, with the checkpoints and save points well spaced so you don't get /too/ frustrated when you die in between. If I had any criticism, it's that perhaps the gameplay is slightly too linear - there doesn't seem to be a lot of replay value (like MGS' dog tags or Hitman's 'Silent Assassin' rating) but it will probably take experienced gamers a few solid days to complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST GAME EVER!, 2 Feb 2007
By 
L. Hancock "Lozz" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game not knowing anything about it, instantly I fell in love! At the start of the game there is very useful training, which most other game don't show you. This tells you all you need to know to get you through. Although total game play is quit short, it is very exciting and most enjoyable. Being the first in the splinter cell's this game set you off on a ride of wanting more after completing each game. Luckily the 3 game's (Pandora tomorrow, chaos theory and double agent.) that follow are each and individually better then the last. I would recommend it highly to anyone!

* Graphics = 9/10

* Fun = 9/10

* Excitement = 10/10

* Difficulty = 8/10

* Controls = 9/10

* Overall = 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splinter Cell is a must!, 2 April 2003
By 
N. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic game that has now reached the PlayStation 2, and it does not dissapoint. The graphics are smooth and refined, the game play is brilliant, and the controls are very easy to use. Here are 5 reasons why you should buy this game.
What is good about this game,
1. The graphics and lighting effects are absolutely brilliant
2. You really get a sense of involvement in every level
3. Moving around with the controls is a very easy
4. The stories line missions are very complete
5. Huge range of gadgets available
What is bad about this game,
1. Not enough ammo pickups
2. Moving bodies before the get discovered is very difficult
If you are sceptical about buying this game (like I was), then don't be, in my opinion this game is a masterpiece, you must buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What if I go in noisy?, 19 May 2003
By 
Mr. SCM Bell "Black Cat Theory" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
Splinter Cell is for my money the first really solid title in the Tom Clancy range. Obviously marketed as a rival to the stealth and cinematics crown held by Metal Gear Solid 2, S.C. pitches itself at the audience with a far less bizarre, convoluted and other-worldly bent and gets straight to the point launching you into the world of special forces/espionage hard-nut Sam Fisher.
The game ingratiates itself to you immediately by giving you a brief but effective tutorial allowing you to perform each of Sam’s basic abilities and filling in some of the story line as you go. From the outset you will be gripped by just how cool Sam looks and sounds (thanks to the vocal talents of Michael Ironside). His black suit, night vision gear and cat-like grace make Raiden from MGS2 look like a wet ponce!
The different athletic manoeuvres and range of equipment on offer from the outset of the game make it clear that there will be numerous paths to each goal and how you achieve them is up to you. Once into the proper missions, for the most part this seems to be true. Although the beautifully drawn, breathtakingly textured locations are basically linear (a la Max Payne and the Getaway) you can play it in your own style. You can choose to play carefully, shooting out the lights, keeping yourself well hidden and incapacitating your foes without actually killing them, or you can play risky revealing your position to deal out brutal head shots and using your oponents as human shields to inflict even more casualties. The choice is yours.
The learning curve is gentle but not annoyingly easy. From the outset you can tell that the makers of the game want you to complete it, they don’t want you to be stuck on one bit for three months, get fed up and exchange it for Vice City! As your tasks become slightly more complex, it is to the developers credit that they have managed to bring in a bit of variety. A game which has little cut-scene padding and is basically just sneak from point A to B laying out anyone who gets in your way could be boring but not so with Splinter Cell. One mission may involve a quick no-holds barred infiltration, while in the next the story line may preclude you from killing anyone. Coupled with this the environments are pleasantly varied and much of the scenery can be interated with. This game demonstrates the serious next gen physics which we have now come to expect from games.
I think, however that the ultimate selling point of this game is gadgets. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a thrilling array of toys in a game. From remote control guns, CCTV cameras and proximity mines to Sam’s multi-purpose assault rifle, camera jammer, rappelling rope and night vision, there is enough here to keep James Bond up at night... sweating.
I am trying to think of something bad to say about S.C. to wind this up, but as I can’t I shall leave you by saying that this is indeed MGS2 without all the padding. It’s fun from start to finish, the controls feel like second nature in a matter of minutes and it contains some of the best voice acting I’ve heard in a game for a while. It is cool. Very cool. If you are serious about your PS2 you need to play this one through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best game in the world, 16 Jun 2003
By 
S. Kirycos "chotti_99" (Cheltenham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) (Video Game)
This is game that caught my eye right from the start! There have been lots of quality action games brought uot in the recent years. Games like Soldier of Fortune, Medal of Honour, Delta Force etc. They all have one thing in common though. You have to kill a ridiculous amount of enemies. Even in realistic games like Raven Shield the amount of kills you notch up is bordering on the stupid. This is a game with a difference. Although there is still plenty of killikn to be done, the game concentrates mainly on the stealth aspect. More evidence to this is the limited ammo power you have. In the first few stages the only thing you are armed with is your gun. Shooting is quite hard but most of the shooting is done under the cover of darkness so you have plenty of time to take aim. The game in itself is not an easy one. If you decide to kill an enemy (which may not always be the appropriate action) you have to make damn sure that you hide the bodies so that you wont give your cover away. Of course one of the main attractions of this game is the variety of actions you can take. Particularly interesting is the use of your opponents for opening doors and even as a shield. As i mentioned before this is not a simple game so don't be suprised if you find yourself returning to the beginning of levels in order to correct a mistake or hide a body you forgot about. What impresses me the most is the fact that the control of the main character is not nearly as hard as I had expected and the variety of movements seem to have been dealt with very well indeed. I have to say that this must be one of the best games I have ever played and I can't wait for the sequel. If this game is anything to go by it is going to be outstanding!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2)
Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (PS2) by Ubisoft (PlayStation2)
£9.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews