Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last..., 4 April 2003
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
About time too...this is an awesome collection of the best (though not all) of Aphex's remixes, cycling through some of the more abstract (zeros and ones - my favourite track), through to an amusing remix of Windowlicker, and the original mix of a track from SAWII - very different indeed! This is a vital release in the Aphex discography - though not the best place to start for the uninitiated - because it really does trawl through his variety of styles, charts his progress over the last 13 years and shows his raw talent in injecting his own artistic signature into a wide range of material. The emphasis is largely placed his individual brand of beats, especially disc 2 (there are a few beatless tracks on disc 1), so most Aphex fans will be well pleased with this long overdue collection. My only complaint - shame there's no LP version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again..., 1 April 2003
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
Once again into the world of RDJ. From the earily beautiful and familiar Curve remix into the pure aphexicity of the Mescalinum harshness via a Faboo cocktail of reflex sounds venturing into a whole world of music, inlcuding a journey into a deconstruction of Philip Glasses Heroes by Bowie. A depth of sound and definitely 26 mixes worth the cash. Ultimately satisfying, more so personally than say Druqks, and definitely one for repeated listening... A pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quality albumn, 7 May 2003
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
Aphex Twin is one of the worlds strangest music artists. His music can switch from massive walls of sound to sublime angelic sounds, this albumn is no exception.
Comprised of various remixes Aphex has made over the the years since he first came to light this albumn is excellent. Although sometimes it does sometimes slip into comlete and utter maddness that is the beauty of his stlye of music. You can get a rush without any drugs being involved! You don't believe me well buy it and see.
To sum up this is the music of nightmares and dreams and if you have never heard Aphex Twin before a perfect introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing, 7 April 2003
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
Sheer deviant genius. This isn't remixing, this is a musical Frankenstein - the original music's dismantled, reassembled, restructured, often completely and utterly transfigure, to the point where it tends to owe far more to Richard James than to its nominal writers. A superb compilation - astounding, beautiful and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 25 Mar 2003
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
This is an, uhm, amazing album, put simply.
Well where do i start? with not a single bad track in sight, this album is pure beauty. it has been nicely divided into two cd's with the first containing more ambient and vocal orientated tracks, and the second focussing on more drill & bass, acid house stuff. this works really well, although the 'twin has proved with drukqs that blending contrasting styles can also work to great effect.
The work on here has all (bar 2 tracks i think) been released at some point in the last decade or so, but it has been so hard to track them down, only the most hardcore of fans will have heard them :-/
Standout tracks are the Heros remix, with david bowie screaming over dischordant classical strings, and also the remix of DMX Crew's You Cant Hide Your Love, and the Big Drum Mix of Gavin Bryers Raising The Titanic.
If, as the rumors suggest, this is his last album released on Warp Records, then this is a fantastic way to go out in style.
cracking stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars let's have some aphex acid, 27 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
A bit of a relief after the moody Drukqs, this aptly-named album is a collection of old and some unreleased remixes. Aphex Twin always gives the impression of knocking out remixes in his sleep, so it's not surprising that this collection is a bit hit-and-miss. However, when he's good (like the unsettling mix of Bowie's Heroes), he is very, very good...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another essential CD for the Aphex Twin fan, 22 July 2013
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
As previous reviewers have noted, this is not the best place for the uninitiated Aphex Twin listener to begin the journey. As a starter I would recommend the Chosen Lords or Selected Ambient Works 85-92 CD's, they show the depth of this talented musician.

26 Mixes for cash is interesting as it shows how Aphex can take massively diverse source materials and somehow make it his own. The signature sounds are all present and correct, his often off-kilter mapping is simplified by the straightforward layout of the original tunes. This is a bit marmite for Aphex fans and something that will polarise the listener. I for one didn't mind, sometimes his works can be very challenging and as far as I am concerned, it is okay to kick back and listen to something undemanding every now and then.

A worthy addition to Aphex's oeuvre that should be purchased by any abiding fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece, brought to you by the Twin, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
Well what can I say. Any fan of Aphex Twin will know what to expect, and will love this album. I am not familiar with many of the tracks which have been remixed, but I am almost willing to bet that they have been improved. Fantastic album, and this version is particularly nice, as it is a cardboard sleeve rather than one of the standard plastic boxes. A must buy for any fan of the Twin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and varied work, 25 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
AFX's latest release works well not just as a series of individual mixes but as cohesive album in itself. The first disc is very much like "I Care Because You Do" and shows the same attention to detail and cleverly constructed melodic rhythms.
The second disc appears to contain the more dancefloor oriented tracks, highlights for me including the condensed, stripped-down funk of the Windowlicker acid mix and the Baby Ford "Normal" mix, full of innovation that's been immitated a lot recently but never bettered. The SAW2 track 2 original mix is also excellent, quality techno. In actually fact there wasn't a track on the album that I thought "hmm, this lets it down a bit".
I can't really comment on how these tracks relate to the originals, since I only really know the DMX krew track, the Remix by AFX track (808 state Flow Coma) and a few others. That's not the point though I think; AFX was always going to do his own thing and what we have here essentially is 26 excellent AFX tunes.
Relaxing and interesting, thoughtful and with a sense of humour evident in his other work, I think this stands up well to the rest of the Aphex Twin catalogue. I've seen other reviews suggesting this is nothing more than what the name suggests, but it's not true. In my opinion, although Drukqs was going to be hard to follow, this is Aphex at his best, again. If you're a fan of electronic music you'll enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sonic terrorist of the electro waves strikes again, 29 Mar 2003
This review is from: 26 Mixes For Cash (Audio CD)
After the lukewarm return the critics gave him after the 2 CD set Drukqs, Aphex is back again but this time to show off his remixing skills. Or should the word " remix " be mentioned when mentioning Richard D James. In this case it's more " reworking " than " remix " but it's still the same old Aphex.
The tracks here are all stunning in their own individual right because you can't really complain about them. And while he may not be the flavour of critical cognoscenti anymore it's fair to say that this album will satisfy you regardless of what people say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

26 Mixes For Cash
26 Mixes For Cash by Aphex Twin (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews