Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing sound and great bonus tracks!
Finally some justice in this world - "Reach The Beach" has finally been remastered after all these years and it sounds AMAZING. The packaging has been upgraded - lyrics to all songs including the bonus tracks, and some liner notes as well. This is an essential '80s modern rock album. If you know "One Thing Leads To Another" you will LOVE this CD. The bonus tracks are...
Published on 26 Feb. 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SKIP THE BEACH
I heard the song "Outside" on a compilation CD many years ago and it just stick with me for many years. I revisited it on YouTube recently and loved it; like The Police's "Walking on the Moon" better sounding cousin, very atmospheric and cool. I bought Reach the Beach along with The Fixx's Ultimate Collection on the strength of re-listening to several Fixx...
Published 9 months ago by Mark A


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing sound and great bonus tracks!, 26 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Reach The Beach (Audio CD)
Finally some justice in this world - "Reach The Beach" has finally been remastered after all these years and it sounds AMAZING. The packaging has been upgraded - lyrics to all songs including the bonus tracks, and some liner notes as well. This is an essential '80s modern rock album. If you know "One Thing Leads To Another" you will LOVE this CD. The bonus tracks are great, especially the 12" versions of "One Thing..." and "Saved By Zero." Add this to your cart now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The British INXS, 6 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Reach The Beach (Audio CD)
The Fixx are a British band that have been sadly overlooked by their homeland and have found fame mainly in the US. This CD was originally released in 1983 and includes extra tracks by way of B-Sides and 12" mixes.
If you like INXS I'm sure you will enjoy this. The singles are particularly strong - Saved By Zero and One Thing Leads To Another. The sound moves on from their debut album Shuttered Room and you could say is more Americanised. There isn't a bad track and I'd recommend this as a great starting point for the band. This mix of guitars and synths makes this a classic 80's record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 80's? Why Only The 80's This Is A Classic, 3 Feb. 2011
By 
A. J. Molenaar "Black & White Hitter" (Volendam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reach The Beach (Audio CD)
5 Stars all the way, especially with the bonus tracks; "Deeper And Deeper (long Version)" is one of my favourite songs by the Fixx.
But also "Going Overboard" is a great track. Plus the extended versions of "Saved By Zero" and "One Thing Leads To Another".
But the original album was a 5 star to begin with, every song is "absolutely fabulous". And this album keeps on finding it's way in my cd-player over and over again.
Why? Well every song has it's own "Thing". Maybe the way the guitars blend with the synth's over these great rhytm sections and the voice of Cy.
Sometimes screaming, sometimes almost wishpering but always to the point, just like the lyrics. Maybe of the sounds; Rupert (Prophet 5 & PPG) and Jamie (Guitar) create soundpalletes that are quite different than any other band and again Cy's voice is outstanding. But don't forget the bass, here it's just not to much, not to little, it's again to the point.
Don't forget Rupert Hine, his production makes The Fixx shine and sparkle.
If you don't know The Fixx, well this is their best. Start here, the rest will follow.
But it's also on of the best albums of the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius....., 31 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Reach The Beach (Audio CD)
....and one of the key 80s pop masterpieces. Perfectly capturing the naive futurism of the time, The Fixx expertly crafted this synth-pop LP which is as fresh now as the day it was released. Deserves to stand alongside ABC's Lexicon of Love, Aha's Scoundrel Days and Propaganda's A Secret Wish in any list of the finest LPs from that unfairly maligned decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great British secret, 10 Oct. 2010
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reach The Beach (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of hearing a Fixx track on pirate radio in the early 1980's. I played it to death when I was a teenager, Cy Curnin has a great voice and some of the guitar work surpasses what Andy Summers was aspiring to achieve in The Police. Their album Ink is also another great piece of work well worthy of a listen. When I replaced all my vinyl a few years ago, it took me ages to track down a copy of Reach The Beach on CD ... and it sounds even better through headphones on the iPod. Its not hard to see how the Americans took to The Fixx in such a huge way and if I am honest the album only contains one below par track ... Liner isn't their best offering .... but every other track is a memorable one and songs such as Opinions, The Sign Of Fire and Saved By Zero are real stand out pieces of work. Do yourself a favour .... buy this or Ink and get yourself into The Fixx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An 1980's Masterpiece, 1 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Reach The Beach (Audio CD)
I'm not really a 1980's music fan. I liked "Hipsway" "Devo" and maybe a few others and I can't even remember why I bought "Reach The Beach" by The Fixx.. but when I played it, I thought Wow!! this is really good and when I listened to it again, it's not good it's brilliant. "Saved by Zero" with it's high treble, fantastic!! then "One Thing Leads to Another" superb!!..All the tracks are good, and anyone who listened to the album thought it was great, even the postman, who heard it bellowing out of my bedroom window, rang the doorbell to ask who was playing the music.. it sounds as fresh today as it did then. "The Fixx" were a seriously under-rated band. It is now out on a remastered CD and my advice is to consider buying it, I would be very suprised if you regreted it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic: as simple as that, 24 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reach The Beach (Audio CD)
"Reach the beach" sounds still as fresh as 30 years ago. There might be a little bit of nostalgy in me impression, but I'm not sure to find young bands nowadays making such consistently good, proficiently yet gracefully played pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reach The Beach (Audio CD)
Brilliant Album from The Fixx , still sounds great today .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reach the Beach (Audio CD)
Good item, fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SKIP THE BEACH, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reach The Beach (Audio CD)
I heard the song "Outside" on a compilation CD many years ago and it just stick with me for many years. I revisited it on YouTube recently and loved it; like The Police's "Walking on the Moon" better sounding cousin, very atmospheric and cool. I bought Reach the Beach along with The Fixx's Ultimate Collection on the strength of re-listening to several Fixx tracks. Yes, there's some good stuff on Reach the Beach, but with the exception of the singles and Outside I'm afraid I wasn't moved. The material is just not strong enough. My suggestion; buy The Ultimate Collection and download Outside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reach The Beach
Reach The Beach by Fixx (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews