Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master at work, 7 April 2003
By 
Bil (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life of Mammals [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
..And he-arr, deep in the bowels of the Amazon DVD forest, comes a remarkable DVD set. Bursting with beautiful photography, good science, the accessible (but not patronising) style of Sir David Attenborough, opens up the world of mammals to the masses. Arriving on four DVDs, which contain all ten episodes plus extras (which are thoughtfully placed at appropriate points through the series rather than on a seperate disc) we learn about the varied and wonderful creatures to which we are related. How they live, how they feed, breed, and die... from the majestic lions on the plains of the Serengeti, to the polar icecaps, and the baboons in the Amazon rainforest, are all presented in exceptional detail & with Attenborough's infectious enthusiasm for the subject matter.

Many mammals are nocturnal by nature, so for the first time many animals are caught on film through the use of infra-red cameras... watching a pride of lionness' hunt by night is a staggering experience and will give your subwoofer a workout, not to mention chill the blood! There are also close encounters with numerous types of dolphins, the rare blue whale, monkeys & bats of all various kinds, and so on. Truly something for everyone here.

Can't recommend this series highly enough. Another great from the undisputed king of nature programmes, you'll want to watch this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Viewing, 2 Mar 2004
By 
S. Polling (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life of Mammals [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Will there ever be a better presenter of documentaries about the natural world than David Attenborough? For decades now we have been lulled into learning about nature by a man who manages to convey his unique passion for all things alive with a panache that cannot be matched. This is the man who could have been running the BBC, but decided instead to remain an employee and continue producing documentaries. Life of Mammals may well be his best work yet.
The series begins with "A Winning Design", which distinguishes mammals from other living organisms. This episode follows marsupials, and hence spends most of its time in Australia. There is some wonderful footage of the duck-billed platypus, perhaps the most bizzare mammal alive today. From here, the next three episodes deal with small herbivores as David charts the development of mammals by examining animals of greater and greater evolutionary complexity. Spectacular later episodes include "Meat Eaters", in which large cats and dogs are compared, and "Life in the Trees", in which David is hoisted to the top of the rainforest canopy to observe the astounding gibbons, who move from branch to branch with breathtaking speed and agility. There is also the amazing "Return to the Water". David stands inside a life-size computer-generated blue whale, and states that the ancestors of these giants were "deer-like creatures" - a fact that surprised me! The last two episodes then examine man's pre-cursors in social monkeys, baboons and finally man himself.
This series, along with the Blue Planet, must rank alongside David's finest work. Fortunately, he shows no signs of slowing down, although one can only wonder if there is any creature he has not yet filmed, or if he could add to what he has produced here. There is a host of previously unseen behaviour in this series, mainly due to the advantage of cameras that are capable of filming with practically no light. The behaviour of platypus in their nest, as well as lions hunting at night, are particularly memorable. David has produced another masterpiece, and it is hard to see how the BBC will ever replace him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids too!, 15 Jun 2005
This review is from: Life of Mammals [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
With three boys ages 3,5 & 7, DVD requests were always Bob the Builder, Thomas, Tweenies, etc. No longer! David Attenborough has the rare talent of capturing the attention of adults and young children alike. This series is excellently presented, beautifully shot and thoroughly enjoyable. If you would rather your children learnt something when watching the box, then this is the DVD for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 25 Mar 2006
By 
P. Haslehurst (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life of Mammals [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
It's an often overused word, especially in relation to David Attenborough, but this series is truly a demonstration of Genius. Yes, with a capital G.
Since I can remember, David Attenborough has been involved in some truly awe-inspiring projects - The Natural World, Living Planet, Life in the Freezer, etc etc. What unites the various programmes is the obvious dedication and love of the subject matter from all involved.
Beautifully shot, edited and narrated, The Life of Mammals is an epic study of some fascinating wildlife. Starting with the Platypus, surely the oddest of all mammals, and moving gracefully and majestically through countless other species, the series ends with a fascinating treatment on Humans themselves.
Attenborough's chosen subdivisions of the group makes the large volume of material easier to digest - Chisellers, Meat Eaters, Water Dwellers, Opportunists, Tree Dwellers, Insect Hunters - they're all equally interesting, endearing and lovable.
As with any Attenborough project, there's a fair share of groundbreaking technology used to give a new insight into the natural world. Luckily this new technology is used sparingly, and with obvious benefit where it is.
There's rarely a dull moment's viewing in this series, or in any other Attenborough - BBC collaboration. Lovers of nature documentaries will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't get much better than this, 25 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Mammals [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
All the makings of a classic series - with David Attenborough you can't go far wrong. We don't have TV, and we live in France. My kids are French speaking, so these DVDs allow them to learn about animals and listen to English at the same time.
For me, I have watched nature programmes for years, but with this set of DVDs I am continuing to learn about animal behaviour: Orang-Utans manoeuvring boats for example.
This DVD boxed set is only part of our collection - along with Blue Planet : Complete BBC Series (Special Edition 4 Disc Box Set) [DVD] and Planet Earth : Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD] they give us entertainment and education at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done BBC and the Mammals, 13 Mar 2008
This review is from: Life of Mammals [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
David Attenborough introduces the mammals effortlessly and very well. He seems to be happy in each location and aware that the efforts of the team will result in brilliant television when broadcast. I think the programmes flow from one to the next better than other LIFE series because I didn't feel let down by a weaker episode. I'm not sure whether to thank the BBC or the Class that is the mammals for this. Cats Dogs Rodents Marsupials Anteaters Omnivores Primates Seals&Whales entertain and fascinate, but even so this could have flopped were it not for the world masters at work on sound visuals and editing. Credit to David Attenborough for dividing the mammals by DIET, this allows creative titles such as 'the Chisellers' the 'the Insect hunters', making it easy to empathise with the creatures and understand the trajectory of each programme.

Special features are 3 brief high quality programmes introducing the viewer to BBC crew behind the cameras. Fact files on Disc 3 have more facts than I expected, good detail. The music (mainly orchestral) does not intrude too much and prevent the combination of good dialogue&visuals&sounds which are the trio that make a good documentary. Probably the best television/film I have ever seen including anything from Hollywood and Europe. 5 superbright stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandson Likes This, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having said that it is probably something to watch in quite a few doses - maybe one episode a night. Photography is excellent - not a fan of Attenborough as he has got older but thought he was very good on this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Excellent BBC Documentary., 10 Feb 2013
By 
Alan M. Jones (New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another of Sir David Attenborough's BBC documentaries and as usual it is excellent. He and his documentary team manage to secure a lot of footage of wildlife that I have never seen before therefore it is highly recommended. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life of mammals, 19 Jan 2013
By 
ATM (Cotswolds, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Mammals [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
My father in law was replacing his video collection to DVD, he's pleased with the purchase and that his collection doesn't take up as much room, not forgetting the quality is much better than video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wildlife heaven, 23 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life of Mammals [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
A brilliant collection of Attenbourgh and nature at their best, incredible footage superb quality picture a must for wildlife and natural world fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life of Mammals Complete [VHS]
Life of Mammals Complete [VHS] by The Life of Mammals (VHS Tape - 2003)
11.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews