Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not As Bad As I Once Thought.
1972's The Mutants is a Doctor Who story that has been marred throughout its life. The story has consistently been voted the worst of the Pertwee era offerings. I don't mind admitting that I was part of that ban wagon, the overall execution of Bob Baker and Dave Martin's second script was dire. The CSO was terrible, the acting poor {Cotton!!!} and the sets unappealing...
Published on 10 Mar 2012 by The Real M.B.E. Of Tooting

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting extras, fairly good story
The Doctor and Jo Grant arrive on a planet where 'mutants' are being hunted down and destroyed. But soon they find there's more to these creatures than meets the eye.

This is a story which, with its anti-racism message, sets out with good intentions. However, you know what they say about the road to hell. As a story it's fairly entertaining with some good...
Published 22 months ago by StormSworder


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting story but drags on a little, 9 Dec 2010
This story comes from the "exile" period of Jon Pertwee's era on Doctor Who.

Yes, he travels to another planet but he is, in this story, an intergalactic DHL man as he is asked to take a message from the Time Lords to the planet Solos. So why is this an interesting tale?

Well, it's not the "delivery boy" plot that's for sure. Basically, this story is an allegory on two issues. Firstly, this story deals with the way the Earth Empire sees any planet as fair game and their territory (for this read the history of the British Empire). The second allegory and was more contemporary was the theme of Apartheid. The non-mutated Solonians fear their mutated counterparts, whilst the Earth Empire, in the form of the Marshal, uses this as an opportunity to build a power base.

This story falls into the category of a story with a message which formed part of the Barry Letts' era. Granted, the costumes and the special effects are dated but we look at this with the benefit of things such as CGI and modern prosthetics.

The only real downside is the story's pacing and this story could have been done in four episodes rather than six.

The extras look interesting, particularly the Noel Clarke hosted "Race Against Time".

Overall, a good package for this story, but minus a star for the reason of the story's pacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super 70s space adventure!, 26 Nov 2010
By 
P. Sanders "prhsuk" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
There was a period where I dismissed a lot of Pertwee stories as tedious, cheap-looking padded nonsense, but since watching them again on DVD I've really begun to enjoy them, especially with the extras revealing just how experimental some of the effects were for the time and the sense that Barry Letts was actually trying to develop a narrative arc for the Doctor over his tenure.

I watched "The Mutants" again recently and I loved it. This is Pertwee era doing a rare full-blooded space SF adventure, with no UNIT, no Master or Daleks. Instead it's cool spaceships, barren planets and really well done insectoid aliens. The plot is intelligent and thought-provoking and it's nice to see Jo and the Doctor away from dreary 1970s England and by themselves on an adventure. It starts with the mystery of a Time Lord gift and opens up into an intelligent critique of South Africa and British colonialism. I even enjoy the 70s vision-of-the-future sets.

Sure it's long at 6 episodes, and as per usual a few of the performances are a little wooden, but I don't care. Pertwee in space!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who - The Mutants (1972) - When the 3rd Doctor & Jo Grant fights for equality for both Mutants and Humans, 11 Jan 2014
I really enjoyed all of the Jon Pertwee era of Dr Who as it demonstrates the social and economic matters that where occurring during the early 1970s, and how appetite movements within South Africa. As in the 1970 adventure `The Ambassidors of Death' in shows that not all aliens or monsters are evil, and in case of the Solosan Mutants they are the victims of the evil, sadistic and closed minded Marshall played brilliantly by Hammer Horror classic actor Paul Whitsun-Jones to the best cameo appearance by Geoffrey Palmer as the Solos Administrator who wants Solos to become Independent.

In this story, we have a blend of actors from all area of the UK who acted with great pathos especially from another Welsh Hammer Horror Actor John Hollis who played Hermit Scientist Sondergaard, Northerners James Mellor who portrays Solos Warlord Chief Varnon and Christopher Coll as Security Chief Stubbs to the overseas actors, please step forward Canadian Actor Garrick Hagon as Ky, the Solon Rebel who wants the Earthlings or the `Overlords' to stop bombing and polluting Solos with evil chemicals created by Professor Jaegar played by Polish actor George Pravada to Stubb's pal and fellow Security Guard Cotton played with great easy by West Indian actor Rick James. There is some reviewers said that Rick James's acting wasn't up to scratch, but in my personal view, this could have been Rick's first acting job, and he could have been nerves could have been on his mind acting with more experienced actors, but despite that it still an outstanding story, so I award this a full `five' stars.

But one thing, I would love to see the completed version of Tom Baker's Doctor Who 1979 unfinished and incomplete adventure `Shada'. I do apologise about mention again and again, but in my opinion I think that 3D realistic CGI is needed, and Tom Baker, Lalla Ward, John Leeson, Christopher Neame, Daniel Hill and the other cast members of 'Shada' could be done by using the same method by combining live which includes Acting Extras to portray the Main Cast in reproduced and replica costumes with blue masks for the realistic CGI animated faces to be added on, and the Timelord Prisioners on 'Shada' in matching late 1970s sci-fi prison outfits and 1970's style wigs (the same techniques as the re-vamp Star Wars Movies), blue screen and digital enhanced voice recording technology to 3-D Animate and Construct Tom Baker's missing and incomplete 1979 adventure `Shada' instead of bone-idle, lazy, lacklustre, pathetic and incomplete 1992 VHS version released by BBC 2E.

Iain Levine out of his own pocket had already had the completed version of `Shada' completed with both Lalla Ward, Christopher Neame, John Leeson (who is providing the voice of K-9, instead of David Briarley), Dennis Hill and the other cast member. Iain Levine employed a voice over actor who impersonated both Tom Baker's and Dennis Carey's voices, so the project was already done. It was only some closed minded person form BBC E2 who put a stop to it, it could have been the high fee from the Douglas Adam estate or the animation wasn't up to scratch, but a lot of Whovian including myself are curious of finding out what `Shada' would have been like if the 1979 strike never happened, and they are pleased that his televised completed adventures are now released, but to me and several Whovians feel that the Tom Baker era of Doctor Who is only 96% complete.

For all long-term Whovians, please start an on-line petition campaign on `E-Mail', 'Facebook' and 'Twitter' to ask Planet55\Quintas Entertainment to bring out the full and complete 3D animated version of 'Shada' to be released as a 'Special Edition' DVD to mark a tribute to writer Douglas Adams and producer Graham Williams, and to celebrate Tom Baker's 80th Birthday for 2014, come on BBC E2, please listen to the long-term fans for ONCE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are really into Dr Who, then you will know that Pertwee is the greatest incarnation,and not only the greatest but by a margin only the Dr could travel through.

Must watch television and for Dr Who fans a chance to see the greatest Dr at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mutants, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this story. Some great side characters who really get to me. Excellent acting and storyline, takes me back to my childhood enjoyment of Mr Pertwee, who was my first Doctor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Doctor Who, 31 July 2012
By 
Jonathan G. Lloyd "JOn" (Chestefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed watching the Original Series and this is a passable story of the Jon Pertwee Era. I may watch it again in a few months time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is good stuff!, 17 Sep 2003
By 
Andrew Kyle "Fangg" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr Who - The Mutants [VHS] [1972] (VHS Tape)
Its episodes like these that remind you of two things: why Dr Who was so popular in its prime and also that science fiction these days doesn't hold a candle to the classics! The story starts with a fantastic premise - the Time Lords giving the Doctor a device to deliver to someone, but without explanation, and the story just peels out from that with twists, turns, a downright bad villain, and some classic dr who monsters. At six parts long in one video its also a great value buy. There are a few ropey special effects but for dr who fans this should not be a problem! Jon Pertwee shines as the Doctor once again, acting like its all actually happening and making the whole thing entertaining and believable. A great story and one to add to the list of the best. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 3rd Dr, 14 Sep 2013
Love the 3rd doctor and this is a classic episode. Jon at his best with a great theme and story with great villains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have You Got Your Oxy Mask?, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A story about Imperialism and Apartheid, and the oppressed masses are starting to mutate into monsters, and the Dr has a box to deliver that explains that the mutation is part of the planet's natural cycle, because the cycle has been disrupted by the imperial Overlords on Skybase, so the Time Lords have sent him with the box to sort things out...

It's not the most clearly focussed of scripts, but as usual from the Bristolians it's packed with ideas, and most of them work, it's just that they're not all tied together particularly well.

On the plus side, Paul Whitsun Jones is doing sterling work as the Marshall - all porky, black uniformed megalomania - a walking, talking statement of how being an Overlord gets you big dinners, and he's corrupt, cruel, homicidal, cynical and wildly deluded - an unhappy mix of megalomania and psychosis. It's not the most subtle performance, but very watchable. Meanwhile George Pravda seems to be trying to wring some interest out of the little that the script offers him - his one good line 'Your regime should give him plenty of scope'. It's not Mr Pravda's finest hour.

Meanwhile the Marshall's two sidekicks both decide to be good guys instead, and the one played by Christoper Coll is very effective, but the one played by Rick James isn't. Some have accounted this to the way the lines are written, but I'm not sure that I can see any great difference in style between Cotton's lines and Stubbs's. It just sounds to me that Rick James isn't delivering them very well. I can't see any narrative reason for Stubbs to die when he does - if it were me, I'd kill off the one with the dodgy delivery.

But the rest of it is well-played - Geoffrey Palmer is particularly good - and the design is very effective, I like Skybase particularly, inside and out, and the costumes are good pretty much across the board, Overlord and Solonian alike - the only exceptions being the Investigator and his two aides in their copper coloured hoods, which look like they've just come from investigating Flash Gordon (possibly in silver underwear).

And the zap effects look good too, and the Hyperion in space, and even the CSO isn't that bad, so why do I hesitate to give it even three out of five?

OK, in the first place, while Skybase looks great, the surface of Solos is dull - Buddleia and a smoke machine - it's a considerable relief to see a bit of blue sky at one point.

Then there's the story (as mentioned above); it doesn't hang together particularly well, and the Dr's own place in it is far from clear; once he's delivered the box to Ky, he then has to decode the tablets for him - without any help at all from Sondergaard, who's supposed to be the expert - then he has to help repair the damage done by Jaeger, then make a report to the Investigator... It's rather as if he comes to Solos and does odd jobs.

The cliffhanger to Episode Four is stupid. If you blow a hole out of the side of a space station, all the air gets sucked out of the room and all the people inside are sucked out too and they suffocate. They do not lie on the floor, struggling half-heartedly until they decide they can get up and go out through the door.

And then there's the Mutants themselves, and I think this is probably the biggest problem of them all; while they look great, and took a good deal of hard work to play (John Scott Martin described it as being like 'a life sized scampi and rubberised, so it's devilish hot inside'), they don't do a great deal as they don't get used enough; very simply, there are not enough Mutants in The Mutants.

And yes, that first shot; since Monty Python had already established 'It's...', perhaps they might have done it a bit differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as bad as people have told me, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Gordon G. Razey "dr who" (Aberdeen Scotland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Have bought it having never seen it and not knowing what to expect i have to say i absoutly enjoyed it. Not as bad as people have told me. I found it slow at first but once the plot got going it got good.

The plot is the doctor is sent on a mission to deliver a package from the timelords and gets drawn into the political situation on the planet solos which is on the brink of independence and has to figure out why the population is mutating before the evil marchall dstroys all life on the planet. Only bad things i can say are rick james (cotton) cant act for toffee plus the actor Paul Whitsun-jones (The marchall) could be guilty of over acting in places.

Extras were great. Commentary has 8 people involved and is fun but sadly no Barry letts but he gets mentioned a lot. Mutt mad your normal 20 minute making of doc with the usual appearences(nice to see barry letts still making apearences and nice to also see Garrik Harrison for somebody different but where was katy manning?). The highlght of the extras has to be the Noel clarke narrated documentary race against time. The 37 minutes long documentary is engrosing and informatve but also asks questions that it doesnt answer. Dressing dr who has an interview with James Acheson who started on dr who but has since won accademy awards. The 27 minute interview with James is dusussing his time on who and it sounds like he enjoyed the majority of his time on the show. Also on the dvd a small clip from blue peter, a photo gallery and a trailer for the next release The ark.

Overall i would give this a 4 star rating. Story was enjoyable but not perfect and the extras were good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr Who - The Mutants [VHS] [1972]
Dr Who - The Mutants [VHS] [1972] by Christopher Barry (VHS Tape - 2003)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews