Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Androids Have Feelings Too
Red Dwarf - not just a celestial phenomonon but also the best Sci-Fi comedy to come out of the UK ever. The show comes into its own in series two with increased confidence from the relative success of the first series and a (slightly) larger budget allowing for even more cheap looking effects shots. The story lines are much better and a particular highlight is "Kryten"...
Published on 14 Jan. 2003 by ad_the_lad

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great service...shame about the product
Just to be clear, the product as in the red dwarf dvd's are themselves great and the delivery and packaging also...its just they don't match up to the merchants review of the item, claiming it contains more material than it actually does. I have since found these same description mistakes for the same product on a few other sites. I'm sure its an honest mistake and have...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Lowgun


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Biff - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Despite its budgetry constraints this second series was absolutely wonderful with stunning, wacky story lines and hilarious wit.

At the time it was a risky series to put out but its success proves the producers right.

A wonderful fresh approach to comedy.

And Rimmer...... perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You got me tongue tied, 9 May 2014
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
After a good start with the first series, Red Dawrf managed to exceed expectations with the second series with stronger plots and more character development and briefly introducing the show to a future main character in Kryten. While Kryten didn't make his debut as a main character until the third series, the first episode of the second season introduces the character very strongly and shows exactly why he had to be brought in as a show regular.

However, despite Kryten only appearing in one episode, the series is still very strong overall, featuring great episodes including 'Better Than Life' where the crew play a virtual reality computer game, 'Queeg' where Holly finds himself battling strong competition in the form of another computer, and 'Parallell Universe' where the crew meat their own selves in an alternative reality and also features the popular 'Tongue Tied' song which became very popular with fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 of the best, 23 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Me, being biased, will always be in favour of Red Dwarf over most contempory comedies of today as i have grown up with this show all of my life. Throughout my years i have tried to nail down why i have enjoyed this show again and again, and i have finally found the reason - as with all great sitcoms; simplicity is the key - well formed and essentially likeable characters interacting in a unique way and being able to find something of yourself in their personalities , and i have found that Red Dwarf manages this better than any comedy i have seen. Series 2 is my personal favourite as it has a sharper script than series 1 and retains the character based apppeal that latter series lacked- but the real reason why this series works, is the brilliant relationship between Lister and Rimmer that develops throughout as they become further apart, and closer together at the same time. The two episodes that put my point across are my personal faves which are 'Better than life', based on the book of the same name, which combines all the scope and imagination that i loved about the show and illustrates Rimmer's 'diseased brain' brilliantly, and also 'Thanks for the memory' which combines pathos and real emotion apart from comedy which brings you closer to the root of the primary characters. In my opinion, Red Dwarf as a whole and in particular series 2, raised the bar for any character based sitcom of which none have lived upto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Write To Inform You Your Father Is Dad....", 24 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
If Series One showed this was a comedy that had potential in the making, then Series Two in all areas had laid the foundations for the next six seasons. It is here Rob and Doug take their creativity and characterisations and give it another boost of life.
Whilst there was no drastic changes in the way it looks, unlike Series Three, Series Two has a much stronger and funnier script than the previous. It is also noticeable that Craig, Chris, Danny and Norman are all fitting into their roles better than before. I think the fact this was where they began to venture off the ship was just the icing on the cake.
Featuring the classic Kryten episode (played by David Ross), this is special considering it introduces a character that would become a firm favourite and permanent member afterwards. I also find Norman was great as the senile computer Holly, and his performance in Queeg was very funny. The interactions between Rimmer and Lister were greater and every episode they get funnier and funnier.
Once again, Series Two is packed with bonus features like A-Z of Red Dwarf from the 10th anniversary special, the usual smeg-ups and deleted scenes, a Doug Naylor interview on the series and the full uncut video to the biggest song from Red Dwarf (next to the main title song) Tongue Tied (Also Danny John-Jules' best performance).
I can't say anymore about this... just buy it now! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic British comedy!, 19 Mar. 2003
By 
David Precious (Stevenage, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Red Dwarf is classic British comedy at its best. First broadcast in 1988, it's still very popular today. I can't see how anyone wouldn't enjoy it. Even though it's a sci-fi type comedy, the jokes aren't really "techie" or "geeky", they can appeal to anyone.
The characters in the series (Dave Lister, Arnold Rimmer, the Cat, etc etc) are the show's strongest point, and develop well through the series. Dave Lister is in my view the funniest - he's lazy, slobby, and very funny. Arnold Rimmer is the "smeg-head" - his one big ambition is his career, to eventually make it as an officer. However, no-one seems to really like him, and he just can't pass his astro-physics exams.
I really can't fault Red Dwarf - I'd highly recommend you see if if you didn't see it the first time round. If you did, it's still a very nice collection to have on DVD. Who knows, the DVD set may go on to become a collectible classic :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!.., 24 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Red Dwarf very nearly didn't make it from the Radio to Television. Only the success of the Radio series and the good reviews recieved from the pilot episode convinced the good people in charge of the BBC to fork out the cash to make the first series. How thankful am I that they did!.. For they then went on to make the second series (and the third, forth, etc etc).
Red Dwarf is one of those comedies that just does not age. Although some of the sets look a bit 'hammie' and some of the props could have done with a few extra quid spent on them, the dialogue and the performances of the cast more than make up for it.
The second series helps build on the personalties of the 3 man crew (soon to be 4, cant wait for series 3 to emerge on DVD) and the ships computer Holly. The interaction between Lister and Rimmer is just as funny, if not funnier, than in the first series but we also start to see deeper into who they are and why they are like it. Rimmers reaction to news of his fathers death in 'Better Than Life', and Listers counter story of how he reacted to his own fathers passing is comedy genius and still makes me laugh when I watch it now, even though I must have seen that scene a hundred times.
To conclude if you are under 20 and have never heard of Red Dwarf, buy the first and second series and I guarantee you will be hooked, and if you are in your late twenties (like me), or older then you must have seen it...and loved it, so why are you reading this review?.... JUST BUY IT!!!..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still class - so many years later..., 22 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
In my opinion this series was a leap forward in terms of humour. The episode that stands up in my mind is Better than life. In it we see how self-destrutive Rimmer is when he turns his fantasy into a nightmare as he ends up with 7 kids and a wife. The definitive scene in the series however has to be the Tounge-tied dance sequence. Words cannot do justice as to how funny it is. If you are reading this review you must be at least interested in Red Dwarf and if so then buy it. Worth every single penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dwarf 2, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Excellent DVD all six eps; S2 plus extra disc of bonus stuff, interviewing writer, clips, out takes etc..
Very nice menu pages of ship sets, when you select episode you walk down corridors etc...
Remarkable value too! Well worth getting if not already owned.
Kryten only in one episode (original actor version) as not a regular until S3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection in one small package, 25 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Series Two is certainly my second favourite series (after Five) as it hosts one classic episode after another with 'Stasis Leak' being the weakest in this series. This is still heads and shoulders above any other episodes from Series Seven though.

Kryten:

The first apperance by that mechanoid; but he is not as we know him from Series Three onwards. The first apperance of Blue Midget. Am I the only one who prefers this to Starbug? 4/5

Better Than Life:

A bizarre episode. One second it is a pathos episode with the death of Rimmer's father annocced (is that how you spell it?) and then it is the comforts of the Total Immersion Video Game. 4.2/5

Thanks for the Memory:

Perfection is one word that sums this episode up. In fact it is this episode and 'Queeg' which give Series Two a popular status among fans. Another pathos episode and Rimmer is seen as a 'little lamb lost in the wood' and Lister is seen as a really nice guy. It is ironic that this time last series (Balance of Power) Rimmer was detestable. My third favourite episode of Red Dwarf. 5/5

Stasis Leak:

A strange episode as Lister is prepared to die just for three weeks with Kochanski, in the nuclear holocaust. It is strange with the future Lister. As the timeline being radically changed between Two and Eight, it is unlikely Lister will end up as the Lister seen here who has married Kochanski. 3.5/10

Queeg:

A fan favourite and Holly is at his peak. I do not want to spoil it for people who have not seen this but the threat that is Queeg is a little closer to home. Not much more to say about the classic episode... 5/5

Parallel Universe:

The 'party' episode of the series and is still strong. The central characters' female selves are wonderfully portrayed yet the Dog seems superfluous. It is a shame the writers did not develop the cliff hanger seen at the end but it tie up 'Future Echoes.' 5/5 without mentioning the Tounge Tied song.

Overall, this series takes the stronger and weaker points of the first series and improves on them wildly creating a worth while three hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An item no true dwarfer should be without!, 5 April 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
When i first heard that red dwarf was coming to dvd, i went through a series of emotions. Happy, very happy and finally extremly happy! As soon as could muster, i logged straight onto amazon.com and ordered Red Dwarf Series 2 and i am throughly glad that i did.
The dvd opens with the familiar shot of the 'dwarf and taks you into an easily accessable menu. The quality of the episodes has, if not anything, increased with its notable absence from tv. You can see clearly shining, throughout this series, the writing genius of grant and naylor as the episodes are consitantly funny! So thats the episodes, but what about the extras? truly awesome is all i can say. The commintary alone is worth the £15.99 of your hard earned cash as it gives of nuggets of information throughout hearing it, quality gags and they make you feel like a true englishman throughout.
I would recommend to anyone anywhere to relive those great moments such as tony hawks consistant apparance throughout various episodes, the largest april fool ever, the memorable scene from kryten when the credits roll for "androids" and the constant genius words such as gimboid, goit and smeg.
The only drawback is that were gonna have to wait several millenia for red dwarf 3. Smeg! heres to you buying red dwarf 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988]
Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] by Ed Bye (DVD - 2003)
£3.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews