Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Androids Have Feelings Too
Red Dwarf - not just a celestial phenomonon but also the best Sci-Fi comedy to come out of the UK ever. The show comes into its own in series two with increased confidence from the relative success of the first series and a (slightly) larger budget allowing for even more cheap looking effects shots. The story lines are much better and a particular highlight is "Kryten"...
Published on 14 Jan 2003 by ad_the_lad

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars red dwarf is a good series but not my top one sorry
an ok series. red dwarf is a good series but not my top one sorry.
Published 17 days ago by X_Hannah_X


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Androids Have Feelings Too, 14 Jan 2003
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Red Dwarf - not just a celestial phenomonon but also the best Sci-Fi comedy to come out of the UK ever. The show comes into its own in series two with increased confidence from the relative success of the first series and a (slightly) larger budget allowing for even more cheap looking effects shots. The story lines are much better and a particular highlight is "Kryten" where the crew rescues a slighlty demented android who likes a robotic version of Neighbours and being asleep. The cast are top notch in their performances, exaggerating traits to great comic effect. Well worth the money just for the episodes so the fine host of extras is a fine bonus. But the best of the series was yet to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are talking april, may, june, july and august fool, 7 Mar 2003
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
The second series of Red Dwarf improves so much on the first. For the first time the makers had the budget to create new sets which allowed the dwarfers to travel outside the confides of the ship.
You feel during this series that the actors have settled down into their roles which gives the writers more oppertunity to write more involved scenes and situations. (in this series we are treated to, androids, time travel, dimension jumps and much more)
The reason red dwarf works so well is all down to excellent writing by Rob Grant and Doug Naylor and the comic timing by all the cast involves.
In one scene Rimmer is confronted by his future self who informs him that in 3 million years he'll be dead. To which he replys: "Will I really! Well what do you suggest? Give up white bread? More ruffage?!"
Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fansmeggingtastic!, 4 April 2004
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
This DVD is absolutely brilliant. All episodes are well written and clever as usual and if you want to watch the commentary with the episode, it just adds to the comedy. Craig Charles, Chris Barrie and Danny John-Jules are hilarious performers and it shows through their comments.
The second disk is just as good with the smeg ups and the highly camp Tongue Tied dance. Smegging brill.
If you don't buy this now, you're a ginboid!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yes. What dwarfers have been waiting for., 11 Feb 2003
By 
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I love Red Dwarf. I grew up with it. It's up there with Star Wars for me, as it is for other people. It was actually very strange to watch something you started watching in 1988, a tiny little comedy with no budget and a very little audience, grow and grow into a worldwide, er, cult. With eight superb series and a movie on the way, its only right that each series gets the DVD treatment it deserves.
Stemming from a hastily-written radio show, the first series set up the characters and the situation, familiarising the audience to the unusual environment. This allowed them to finally go to town on the sci-fi elements in the superior second series, something denied the writers due to, well, stupid producers and stuff. They actually started to leave the ship and mind-frell the audience with time-bending stories and plots with more twists and turns than Ben Bon Brothers. Cleverly written and brilliantly acted, this show deserves the status it has accumulated.
The DVD extras are superb too. The cast commentary is more fun than informative, outtakes (originally seen on the terrible Smeg Outs tape), and a host of others too numerous to mention are pesent and correct. It's a fantastic package and it's just a shame we have to wait another three million years for the Red Dwarf III DVD.
I can't believe I got through this review without using the word "Smeg".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent series., 20 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Some situation comedies live or die by their inventiveness ... and Red Dwarf is certainly one such.

The problem with many is that the inventiveness "fails" as one series becomes two, then three, then five, etc. With Red Dwarf this simply doesn't happen. I have got eight series of this sitcom on DVD (and this review applies to, and will be submitted on, all eight) and the eigth is every bit as superb as the first.

I unhesitatingly recommend Red Dwarf to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heating Up, 3 Aug 2004
By 
J. N. Valner "schaedenfreud82mk2" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
The second series of Red Dwarf makes great strides to improving the shortcomings of the first series; the visual effects are better, the sets have more than a splash of colour added, and the cast of characters actually venture outside Red Dwarf. On top of this, the script is still brilliant and the characters wonderfully portrayed. Fans of the show will know that this is the series which first gave us Kryten the mechanoid (if only for one 'audition' episode), as well as Talkie Toaster.
The second disk does not disappoint, maintaining the high standard of special features set by series one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must buy!, 27 July 2003
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Red Dwarf isn't only great Science Fiction, it's also one of the best sit-coms ever written...FACT! This is two disks, the first contains the six episodes from the second series, the other disk is crammed with extras. My personal favorite of all the extra features is the isolated sound cues. This is a collection of some of the music from the second series including the excellent theme tune (I only wish i could play it on my CD player, i'd listen to it all the time!). The second series of Red Dwarf is flawless with some great writting and performances. I can't wait for series 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of the best Red Dwarf Series ever!, 8 April 2003
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
To be honest, before Series 2 DVD, I have only seen 'Queeg' 'Better than Life' and 'Parallel Universe' and even then only in re-mastered form. So this DVD was a new experience for me and totally different aspect from the re-mastered. I also experienced the joy of watching a episode for the first time ever. 'Kryten' 'Queeg' and 'Better Than Life' are three of the funniest episodes out of personal bests. The only other one that beats these three is 'Polymorph' which will be on Series 3 DVD. As for the DVD, it is the best yet. Slick, full of features and easy to use, the animated menus are once again, brilliant. The extras good too. The 'Tongue Tied uncut' was funny, as was the 'A-Z of Red Dwarf' this DVD is a classic to own. As before the episodes are in their original, un-re-mastered formats, but enhanced picture quality and better sound. Deleted scenes are more interesting to see as are the smeg ups which was funny. Once again the Red Dwarf team prove they are unstoppable... Roll on Tree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic British comedy!, 19 Mar 2003
By 
David Precious (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Red Dwarf is classic British comedy at its best. First broadcast in 1988, it's still very popular today. I can't see how anyone wouldn't enjoy it. Even though it's a sci-fi type comedy, the jokes aren't really "techie" or "geeky", they can appeal to anyone.
The characters in the series (Dave Lister, Arnold Rimmer, the Cat, etc etc) are the show's strongest point, and develop well through the series. Dave Lister is in my view the funniest - he's lazy, slobby, and very funny. Arnold Rimmer is the "smeg-head" - his one big ambition is his career, to eventually make it as an officer. However, no-one seems to really like him, and he just can't pass his astro-physics exams.
I really can't fault Red Dwarf - I'd highly recommend you see if if you didn't see it the first time round. If you did, it's still a very nice collection to have on DVD. Who knows, the DVD set may go on to become a collectible classic :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!.., 24 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Red Dwarf very nearly didn't make it from the Radio to Television. Only the success of the Radio series and the good reviews recieved from the pilot episode convinced the good people in charge of the BBC to fork out the cash to make the first series. How thankful am I that they did!.. For they then went on to make the second series (and the third, forth, etc etc).
Red Dwarf is one of those comedies that just does not age. Although some of the sets look a bit 'hammie' and some of the props could have done with a few extra quid spent on them, the dialogue and the performances of the cast more than make up for it.
The second series helps build on the personalties of the 3 man crew (soon to be 4, cant wait for series 3 to emerge on DVD) and the ships computer Holly. The interaction between Lister and Rimmer is just as funny, if not funnier, than in the first series but we also start to see deeper into who they are and why they are like it. Rimmers reaction to news of his fathers death in 'Better Than Life', and Listers counter story of how he reacted to his own fathers passing is comedy genius and still makes me laugh when I watch it now, even though I must have seen that scene a hundred times.
To conclude if you are under 20 and have never heard of Red Dwarf, buy the first and second series and I guarantee you will be hooked, and if you are in your late twenties (like me), or older then you must have seen it...and loved it, so why are you reading this review?.... JUST BUY IT!!!..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988]
Red Dwarf: Series 2 [DVD] [1988] by Ed Bye (DVD - 2003)
3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews