Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars - for all the wrong reasons!
Dreamcatcher almost gives Lifeforce a run for its money in the greatest unintentional comedy ever made stakes. I had to rewind whole chunks of the movie to check my eyes weren't deceiving me: oh, if only I hadn't had the flu the one week it played over here - to have seen this one with an audience! After a solid opening its descent into insanity is so rapid and so...
Published on 20 July 2005 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the worst cinematic movie ever,contains spoilers.
How actors like Morgan Freeman,Damien Lewis and Tom Jane starred in something so terrible is beyond me.
Can't really remember much about it barring things like space weasels and over the top acting,i'm sure this was a spoof but the makers pretended it was a serious film,as either a spoof or straight movie its truly terrible.
So glad Mr Freeman and Mr Lewis went...
Published 1 month ago by MS SS


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Now that was BAD, 19 April 2014
This review is from: Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I found the novel that this was based upon in a charity shop, and to it's credit, it was an enjoyable book. nothing deep, but enjoyable with good writing, characters and with a very fresh concept for aliens. I found the DVD the weekend after I finished it, and wondered why I had never heard of it. Upon watching I realised. It's simply awful. The scriptwriter evidently hates Steven king, as he has went out of his way to mess around with the plot to the point where the entire final third of the book is lost in 30 seconds of screen-time, and points in the book which were dark and atmospheric just become silly. Even Morgan freeman manages to horrifically botch his performance to a level that I didn't believe was he capable of. It is pretty funny if you view it with an open mind, perhaps as an unintentional comedy?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dream catcher, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this film is brill. if you like stephen king you will enjoy this film its about a group of boys who befriends a young boy named duddits and duddits give the boys magical powers for saving him from some nasty boys. then the boys have grown up and they go to beavers cabin in the woods for a holiday what they dont know is that aliens have landed and one of them takes over the young mans body. then all hell breaks loose theres lots of aliens worms that attacks people eventually duddits is involved by this time he is seriously ill but he comes along and in the end duddits turns out to be a goood alien and fights the bad alien and wins its sad in a way at the end but happy too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea for an alien but...., 20 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As a fan of Damien Lewis and Stephen King, I received this as a gift. It started promisingly and had some interesting ideas on aliens, but the background to the characters wasn't explored fully. After checking out the original ending in the special features it made the new ending look like something from men-in-black. The original ending was more simplistic and effective I thought.
Damien is a fine actor as always, although this role doesn't allow him to flourish. I had to wonder why the evil alien happened to have a public schoolboy accent, which was a little cringy!
There is a reason this is such a bargain in the used section... however that said, fans of Stephen King and Horror movies should appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Dec. 2014
By 
P E Simms "Paula Simms" (New Forest, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
It is a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not hold true to the book...disappointing for King Fans, 20 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film starts off fine, we are introduced to the four main characters in the same way as the book, and for a while the story holds true, but after the first half an hour or so the story tends to go off the tracks, missing out important scenes from the book and also important characters. In the film ALL of the people infected by the 'byrus fungus' gain some telepathic powers, wheras in the film it is only our main characters who do. I was very disappointed also to see how the chase to Quabbin Reservoir was greatly shortened in the film as this was one of the main parts of the book. Owen and Henry were pursued by Curtis (known as Kurtz in the book by his fellow military men)along with two major characters, Archie Pearlmutter who was able to track Owen and Henry using the telepathic power he had gained from being infected by the byrus, and another soldier called Freddy Johnson, who in the book turns out as a major player at the finale. Also anyone who has read the book will have noticed a distinct lack of bacon. OK that may seem wierd to people who have only seen the film but it was a major part of the story and also an excellent outlet for some of Stephens own brand of comedy. And also in the book Duddits is NOT an alien. And Mr Gray does not kill by transforming jonesy's body into that of an alien, instead he should be using his strong telepathic abilities.
So I hear you asking why did i give this film three stars and not any less. Well the reason for that is some of the excellent special effects, my favorite scene being that where a troop of helecopters mow down a group of Aliens crowding around their fallen Spaceship. I would reccomend that you read the book as opposed to watching the film. Anyone out there who see's the line will be guided away from the DVD and straight for the book. And anyone who has read the book should not bother with this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Worth looking at
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
brilliant sci-fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE worst film I have ever seen that didn't know it sucked (CAUTION: BEERS NEEDED), 14 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is so bad that its worth watching just to laugh at how terrible it is. The acting is bad, the storyline is worse, but if it knew it was a comedy it would be alright. Although, having said that it is for this reason that im considering buying it on DVD because it seriously is the funniest unintentional comedy ever. In the same way that laughing at someone not with them makes it even funnier, you are laughing at this film not with it. Its one of those films that you see if you flick through sky movies late at night and you realise why its on at that time after about one minute of watching it.

This film + Friends + Beer = (*****)
This film + Someone expecting a gripping thriller = ( )

(At one point they have to sit on the toilet seat to stop a monster from coming out and eating them.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Great item :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
nice thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003]
Dreamcatcher [DVD] [2003] by Lawrence Kasdan (DVD - 2004)
£2.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews