Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Squall
This film got slated by many critics, but I think it's great. You are taken through the life of one adolecent male making friends and relations of young men of his age and trying to get on in the world. It is a long film, yet it is not felt as you watch it. The acting, the direction and the photography are outstanding and you are taken through many emotions. If you want a...
Published on 1 Jun 2004 by J. C. Stanley

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star for DVD quality
It's a great film by Ridley Scott, the ship and scenery being one of the main characters of the film. Unfortunately all the beauty of the ship and sea, and spectacular scenery is overshadowed by the poor (very poor!) quality of the DVD.

My main complaint is about the graininess of the film, as well as missing additional features - no additional audio versions,...
Published on 28 Aug 2007 by Simona Gurbo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Squall, 1 Jun 2004
By 
J. C. Stanley (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Squall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This film got slated by many critics, but I think it's great. You are taken through the life of one adolecent male making friends and relations of young men of his age and trying to get on in the world. It is a long film, yet it is not felt as you watch it. The acting, the direction and the photography are outstanding and you are taken through many emotions. If you want a deep and meaningful film, then this is the one for you. Ryan Phillippe steals the show on many occassions and quite rightly so, yet all the young men work off each other very well. Jeff Bridges is always outstanding in all that he does, this film is no exception. Well worth the five stars in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but a touch limited, 2 Sep 2010
By 
Chris L (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Squall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is one of Ridley Scott's less well known movies but is still well worth watching. I personally have bought it as I think the sailing/storm sequences are good and that Jeff Bridges (again) gives an excellent performance. Visually the film is very good and the cast do a good job so why 4 stars? Well I feel that this could have been great but was'nt quite there and there are other films that have done it better. 'A Perfect Storm' does, well, storm sequences better and many other movies are as good if not better as 'buddy' type adventures. If you have not seen it though then I thouroughly recommend it as it well worth a couple of hours of anyones time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star for DVD quality, 28 Aug 2007
By 
Simona Gurbo (Riga, Latvia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Squall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
It's a great film by Ridley Scott, the ship and scenery being one of the main characters of the film. Unfortunately all the beauty of the ship and sea, and spectacular scenery is overshadowed by the poor (very poor!) quality of the DVD.

My main complaint is about the graininess of the film, as well as missing additional features - no additional audio versions, no subtitles, no commentaries and nothing from "behind the scenes". Pity... This film deserved much more than this.

If you're willing - I suggest you wait for another improved version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 18 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: White Squall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This isn't the type of film I would ever usually think of watching. The only reason I did was because I couldn't sleep one night while it was on TV, so I ended up watching it, and I'm so glad I did!
It's such an amazing film. It's not only about the ship, but about the relationships the boys build and the fears they overcome. The dolphin scene was horrible, but on the DVD I can skip past it, so thats OK.
It's a very sad film too, and it's good that you can feel such empathy with the characters. All of the boys do a great job in this film, I absolutely loved it!
And I'm usually a chick-flick kinda girl!
Anyone considering watching this definitely should!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So-so film, dreadful DVD transfer, 15 Jan 2008
By 
Jarle L. Nyvoll (RANDABERG Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White Squall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I owned this film on laserdisc - who remembers that format? - when it was first released. I thought it to be one of Ridley Scott's least interesting films - more or less an inferior retread of Dead Poets Society, in the vein of the equally unoriginal Dangerous Minds and Scent Of A Woman. There is a bit of eye-candy in the experience, though; both the landscape and the comely boys are rather easy on the eyes. And Ridley Scott knows how to compose his shots. So far, so average.

This DVD version of the film, however, is a cropped print of the original 2,35:1 original. My original laserdisc version offered less resolution, but the picture was immensely better. The DVD version is cropped down to about 1,85:1, i.e. standard 16:9, and it feels claustrophobic - and it's not supposed to. Avoid this release - wait for a better one to come along.

If you consider the film important enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The sea, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Squall [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I like ships, I like the sea and a good coming of age movie which is based on a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars item as described, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
item as described nothing less nothing more as i expected as i like ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Scott's best, but still worth a look, 12 April 2000
With masterpieces like Alien, Blade Runner and the criminally underrated 1492: Conquest of Paradise, Ridley Scott is one of my favourite directors. White Squall is something of a disappointment in that respect, but it certainly deserved better than the lukewarm reviews and dismal performance at the box-office it received. The plot follows the true story of a group of teenage boys as they do a lot of growing up on a ship lead by Ahab-like captain, Jeff Bridges. Unfortunately Todd Robinson's screenplay spoils what should have been an extraordinary tale of maturity and bravery by packing in far too many rites-of-passage clichés with a strangely tacked on finale straight out of Dead Poets' Society and I wonder what Scott saw in the script to begin with. He is after all, a director who usually sets standards that others follow, rather than the other way round. On the positive side, Scott's stunning visuals are all present and correct, with the golden photography and queasy camera-work perfectly capturing the force of the sea like no other film I have seen. Jeff Bridges once again proves why he is one of Hollywood's most unjustly ignored actors, giving a forceful performance that rises above the stereotype in the script. The youngsters are all excellent as well and the whole film is an oddly compulsive affair, with the storm of the title, when it comes is technically brilliant as it is terrifying and moving, but this could have been a classic if only it had a better script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2013
Brill DVD a blast from the past
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this item genuine? ??, 30 Sep 2013
This item doesn't look like a normal blu ray....unsure if it is genuine. Bought as a gift so time will tell but the case is half the size of normal blu ray cases and ddoesn't look quite right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Squall [DVD] [1996]
White Squall [DVD] [1996] by Ridley Scott (DVD - 2003)
£36.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews