Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality Film
"Network" is quite simply one of the best films I have ever seen. It works on so many levels ;as a satire on the television industry and the people who work within it , as a philosophical critique of globalising late 20th Century consumer capitalism and the dehumanising , desensitising and deindividualising effect that television plays in that system (the hypnotist in the...
Published on 12 Nov 2003 by L. Davidson

versus
6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Television is bad (yawn, yawn)
From the very first scene, Network wants everyone to know it is a really important film about a really important subject. Network television is evil. So begins a great liberal sermon.

The first half of Television works well, because newsreader Peter Finch's eccentricity is balanced by the hardened realism of the people around him. While Finch is slowly...
Published on 18 Jan 2010 by Mostly Harmless


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Seventies film ahead of its time, 26 Sep 2010
By 
A. GIBBON "Herbivore" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Network [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Network is a social satire film made in the 70's about the feeding frenzy mentality that defines modern media. This film was well ahead of its time as it rings true today. Excellent cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
By 
Angela Brooke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Network [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Great film. Way ahead of it's time. Watch it and get educated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars of its time, 30 Jun 2014
By 
J. Jewels - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Network [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
seems unsophisticated nowadays. not a brilliant sript but it works due to the talented cast, worth watching, I like 70s films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterwork, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Network [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Network has long been one of my favourite movies. Its dialogue is rich and its delivery resonant. The screenplay is perhaps one of the finest ever put to film. For me this is a true master work of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very clever, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Network [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
for the revolutionary amongst you this film is a must see. very clever and although a little dated, the message stands true to today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars standing the test of time, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Paddy Chayefsky's script and Sidney Lumet's direction, along with a cast that knows exactly what's needed here have come up with one of the great American satires. Long before cable "news" and "reality TV," Chayefsky understood the trends in broadcast journalism of the early 1970's, and what he presents as satire here looks like the media world that we inhabit today. When satire is as prescient as that, it deserves to be called some kind of classic. Peter Finch is splendid as an increasingly deranged Howard Beale; Faye Dunaway is brilliant as an executive whose whole life is a kind of performance: we sense something odd about her from the start, and we wonder if it's bad acting, but by the end we understand how her character has been conceived. Robert Duvall is her superior in the conglomerate that owns UBS News, the network for which Beale works, and he looks like the Prince of Darkness -- until we see that the P of D is really Ned Beatty! William Holden is an old-time newsman holding on to the illusion that the old values still matter, and he finds out they don't. The logic of the plot is followed to an almost comically horrifying conclusion, but my favorite moment might be (trying not to give too much away, if you haven't seen the movie) the scene in which Dunaway visits the safe house of a terrorist organization to discuss the network's use of them in a show! It's a tragedy that entertainment has contaminated the news; this movie let's us see a prototype of that takeover. One of the great American movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Who does not love Faye Dunaway, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Network [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
A kinda dark film, but right in goose-step with current events. Thus, confirm the present by the symbology of the recent past. Thirty years is not so long ago....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Network [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Great dialouge, riviting plot, from an age when actors could act,
Fantastic film for any politics student to watch too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absoute Briiliance, 30 yrs ahead of it's time, 19 Jun 2013
By 
R. Walker "rw266" (Sussex, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Network [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
I remember seeing this film when it came out and I loved it, at the time I thought it was a bit over the top but with such great actors and dialogue it was still mesmerizing.

Who knew, it was 30 years ahead of it's time, everything that seemed so far fetched at that time has become true and even worse !!

TV is now a vast mindless wasteland of T&A, fake news propaganda, talking heads without a clue, Simon Cowell, Jerry Springer the corporate hegemony of our media both in the UK and US, thanks to Rupert Murdoch and all the other Multi-National empty-suit lemmings, keep watching rubbish and you will get even more rubbish.

Turn off your TV and read a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes!, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Network [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
All you ever need to know about the news, and the presentation thereof. We should all be mad as hell, and we shouldn't take it any more. The acting is excellent too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Network [DVD] [1976]
Network [DVD] [1976] by Sidney Lumet (DVD - 2003)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews