Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childrens TV at its best
Wonderful attention to period detail. Even the films colours are right for the period. Child actors excellent. Storylines as you would expect from Arthur Ransome. Bonus for Dr Who fans - Patrick Troughton and Colin Baker appear in episode 1 of The Big Six !. Buy it you won't regret it. A treasure.
Published on 11 July 2004 by Mr. I. D. Baldwin

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Major departures from Arthur Ransome's stories, but my kids love them anyway
I have recently read Coot Club and the Big Six to my children, so the stories were fresh in my mind when I watched this DVD with them.

I was a bit horrified in the initial scenes that quite so many bits of dialogue had been added in, mainly knowing nods in the direction of any adults in the audience. You expect subtractions when a book is filmed, but these...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by motherofpearl


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childrens TV at its best, 11 July 2004
By 
Mr. I. D. Baldwin (Englansd]]) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful attention to period detail. Even the films colours are right for the period. Child actors excellent. Storylines as you would expect from Arthur Ransome. Bonus for Dr Who fans - Patrick Troughton and Colin Baker appear in episode 1 of The Big Six !. Buy it you won't regret it. A treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 17 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. C. Bauers "Neil" (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
If you like nature, sailing, kids and bad plots this fits the bill. I have sailed on the Norfolk Broads and this series captures the atmosphere perfectly. The sailing is technically accurate too. I'm old enough to remember England in earlier times. Once again the atmosphere has been captured nicely. The unusual Norfolk regional accent is evident and sometimes realistic. This is a classic and fully in the spirit of the Swallows and Amazons books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Shows off the beauty of the Norfolk Broads and was extra special as my son was one of the principal actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coots Forever - And Ever, 27 April 2011
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Just spent a week on a Broads cruiser with three granddaughters and played the DVD on the third night. It was quite magical that we had cruised to all the places mentioned in the films, and the girls were able to identify the filming locations, including the swing railway bridge at Reedham. We tried very hard not to have the radio too loud the next day for fear of becoming Hullaballoos, and kept well clear of coots nests.

As with all films, these do not copy the books word for word, but I think Arthur Ransome would have been pleased with the result. Pity the TV companies don't produce more films from the other books in the Swallows and Amazons series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swallows and Amazons for ever, 21 July 2009
By 
Rodney Willard "Rod" (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Well made series which sticks closely to the Arthur Ransome books. Its a shame that only a few of his books have been made into tv series, thus opening them to a new audience. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good clean river-larking, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Romaniana (North of Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Great childrens fun, messing about in boats evading baddies. From the TV series, there are two stories broken up into episodes so you don't have to sit for hours at a time. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swallows & Amazons for Ever, 16 Feb 2011
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent DVD -grandchildren enjoyed it; great adventure.I began reading Swallow & Amazon adventures 1950 and the DVD brings them alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Major departures from Arthur Ransome's stories, but my kids love them anyway, 20 Oct 2008
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
I have recently read Coot Club and the Big Six to my children, so the stories were fresh in my mind when I watched this DVD with them.

I was a bit horrified in the initial scenes that quite so many bits of dialogue had been added in, mainly knowing nods in the direction of any adults in the audience. You expect subtractions when a book is filmed, but these additions seeemed entirely unnecessary. I also couldn't understand why Mrs Barrable had been written out of the Big Six.

Inevitably the plots and journeys felt a bit rushed, but the BBC props department had clearly gone all out on the period detail, and generally it was all well done. However, the film version of Swallows and Amazons is a lot more faithful to Arthur Ransome's original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Prezzie for an old S&A fan;), 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Christmas Prezzie for an old S&A fan (my mum). Can't wait to see her get this in her stocking! (Yes we still all get stockings!)
Looking forward to watching it with her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 April 2011
This review is from: Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
THis is a beautiful adaptation of Ransome's Coot Club & The Big Six. The child actors/actresses are excellent. There is almost an historical element as the DVD charts childhood without mobile phones and electronic games. Simply gentle and innocent yet a good degree of drama. The only downside is that it plays as episodes (as it did presumably on TV years ago), so does not run through as a whole film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD]
Swallows And Amazons Forever! [1984] [DVD] by Andrew Morgan (DVD - 2003)
9.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews