Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Sequel
The Four Musketeers provides a very good lesson for modern directors as to how they should make sequels. Do it at the same time as the original.
All actors are present and in fine form, including a formidable performance by Michael York in the lead role. Richard Chamberlain and Oliver Reed excel in roles that seem designed for their personalities.
The story of...
Published on 6 April 2005 by E. Davis

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was ok
Its not that I didn't like it at all, but I much preferred the fist one and I didn't find this to be a particularly good movie.
The protagonist doesn't really feel like any sort of role model, and sometimes the fight scenes got a little cheesy. These guys are supposed to be some of the best fencers around but in the introduction the only reason they manage to save...
Published on 10 Dec 2010 by CactusCoffee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Sequel, 6 April 2005
By 
E. Davis "emohawk2006" (Les Avants, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Four Musketeers (1975) [DVD] (DVD)
The Four Musketeers provides a very good lesson for modern directors as to how they should make sequels. Do it at the same time as the original.
All actors are present and in fine form, including a formidable performance by Michael York in the lead role. Richard Chamberlain and Oliver Reed excel in roles that seem designed for their personalities.
The story of continuing intrigue and danger in the French courts provides a good story which never slows down and is equally dramatic as it is funny. Indeed slapstick is in abundance in this film but also is the tragic end of the film which soberly wakes up the veiwer to seeing just how ruthless Mi Lady De Winter or Rochforth can be. The ending has a touch of schmaltz but is well deserved for a masterpiece in cinematic adaptation of a Alexander Dumas' legendary novel.
The DVD is pretty basic all you really get is the film perhaps a documentary here and there wouldn't hurt now and then. I also would have prefered to have bought both the "Three" and "four" in one set but alas we must suffer for cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable sequel to The Three Musketeers, 22 Oct 2008
By 
Schneehase (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Four Musketeers (1975) [DVD] (DVD)
I can see the points that the 3* reviewer is making and I'm sure if this was a dramatisation of a much loved English novel, I would be spitting nails too.
There is also the rather thorny issue of the fact that this was cobbled together out of 'spare' scenes from 'The Three Musketeers' and it does show with a lengthy slide show of scenes from the first film at the start and occasional narrative voice-overs to fill the viewer in.
However, it does complete Dumas' story and it does so in the same amusing and light-hearted manner that Dumas wrote his novel.
I can't speak for period accuracy, but certainly nothing jarred for me.
This is not such a good film as the first, but it is still very enjoyable and occasionally laugh-out-loud funny, and to see the first without this would be to miss out on a lot of the story and some great set pieces.
All the actors are note-perfect and I thoroughly enjoyed both films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No English subs., 10 July 2014
By 
Zoltán Szávai (Budapest Hungary) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beware, it does not contain English subs despite the listing on the back cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1970s style humour, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have got the first movie then the sequel needs no introduction. Great movie and the only screen version of the Musketeers that anyone needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest musketeers ever!, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Four Musketeers (1975) [DVD] (DVD)
Six legends of British Cinema, Michael York! Frank Finlay! Richard Chamberlain! Roy Kinnear! Christopher Lee! And the unforgettable Oliver Reed!

The Four Musketeers: Milady's Revenge, is yet another masterpiece by Richard Lester, is a continuation of the first movie, The Three Musketeers. From start to finish, it's just a riotous comedy action and adventure movie, of the like, we will never see again!

The Three Musketeers, the Four Musketeers: The Revenge of Milady and The Return of the Musketeers: Twenty Years Later, which was filmed, literally Twenty Years Later, are just three of the greatest British Comedy Movies ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Four Musketeers (1975) [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, would recommend to anyone interested in the musketeers, old or new. Bought for my Dad, he is very happy to have this copy and claims it is far better than the new musketeers show currently airing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can one say?
It's possibly the best sequel ever. The whole ensemble is on top form, almost like they were only warming up in the 1st film.
I still reckon that the blessed Roy Kinnear is the true star of these. He played a very similar part in The Travails of Sancha Panza at the RSC(?).
For once, I'd qualify it as unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Four Musketeers, 1 Feb 2013
A great continue movie of the three musketeers movie! Very good movie! Old, but good Digitally Restored blu ray quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of oliver reed's best films, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great film for all the family. the picture quality is brilliant but it would benifit some extras
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great upgrade from the DVD, and plays on Region A player, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Michael Burton (San Diego, Ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful upgrade from
the [...] had indicated that, in spite of
the listing saying Region B, it did in fact play on region A players.
They were correct. Plays fine on my basic sony blu-ray player, in the U.S.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Four Musketeers (1975) [DVD]
The Four Musketeers (1975) [DVD] by Richard Lester (DVD - 2003)
Ł14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews