Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tim Robbins at his best
Reviewing this movie is a difficult task for it's very easy to spoil the movie for the reader, due to its nature. Therefore, I will try to focus my comments on the technical side rather than on the story.
Tim Robbins delivers a unique performance as Jacob (perhaps only comparable in his career to The Shawshank Redemption where he, however, needs to share the credit...
Published on 7 July 2003 by Paulo Andre

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ten Stars for Jacob's Ladder - one for the Blu-Ray transfer ...
I'm a big fan of Jacob's Ladder and have been ever since I saw the film during its initial release in cinemas. Some reviewers think it a shame that the film didn't perform well but that may have had to do with how closely it was compared with Ghost at the time, and critics generally didn't respond well to the big (or perhaps understated) reveal in the denouement. I prefer...
Published on 11 July 2011 by Craig Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see before you die., 30 July 2013
By 
Mr S R Howell (Neath, South Wales Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [DVD] (DVD)
What.. you haven't see it yet? What are you waiting for? Buy the damned movie, it's absolutely brilliant and you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snakes and Ladders, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
The Vietnam War, hallucinogenic drugs, a Pentagon cover-up, we've heard of all this before. But this movie had me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. Tim Robbins, an amiable postman with an irritating girlfriend who can't keep up with his moods, finds himself in a whirlpool of events beyond his control. He walks a tightrope between life and death, reality and surrealism, sanity and irrationality. Some of the ideas are similar to those in 'The Manchurian Candidate' (both the original version and its remake), while the behaviour of the soldiers is reminiscent of 'Platoon' and 'The Deerhunter'. The goriest scenes were obviously taken from a study of NHS hospitals. The story had so many inexplicable turns that it wasn't always easy to distinguish between the chronological sequences of the jungle, the hospital and the sinister underground railway system. Throw in a few car bombs and illustrations more appropriate to the Pentacle than the Pentagon and you have all the ingredients of a suspense movie. Would I recommend this ? Certainly, despite the high price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jacob's Ladder, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A Vietnam vet's private hell of intrigue and paranoia composed of a multitude of interweaved realities.
If you think you understand this movie after only one viewing then you weren't paying attention.

Jacob's Ladder [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 July 2012
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [DVD] (DVD)
Whoever doesn't like this film clearly doesn't get it. As 1 idiot wrote 'bad points, ignorant fanboys who put this in there top 10 films'! How is this a bad point to a film? Moron. This is a striking and fantastically well directed film. Buy it, watch it and remember it forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 3 May 2011
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is brilliant - I love the concept of some kind of wierd world that exists between life and death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, good transfer, no extras!, 30 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film itself is, in my opinion, excellent - I first saw it on release in 1990 and - as an impresionable 16-year old - it scared me half to death. Having now seen it again I find it to be a much more subtle film and even better than I remembered, although there is one scene (where part of Jacob's phone call to old army colleague is seen from the other character's point of view) that doesn't really work: 5 stars.

The blu-ray has good picture and audio quality - but NO extras. No deleted scenes and no commentary. Annoyingly these do exist on prevoiusly released DVDs of the film, but not on the blu-ray! And this is a film that I'm sure would have a good commentary, so boo to that - 3 stars for the blu-ray

Making, on average, 4 stars overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ooohhh!!!... I really liked this., 5 Oct 2010
By 
Gisli Jokull Gislason "Jokull" (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film, a little old as today it would clearly be CGI enhanced the story stands out and the acting and cast is very good.

Problem is the the less you know going into the movie the better it is - so if you are inclined to watch it as it has great reviews - don't spoil it for yourself by trying to find out more and just watch it.

Be warned it is a little strange and you need to be able to immerse yourself into the plot.

5 star gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb film, 16 Sep 2009
By 
W. Riley "walriley" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [DVD] (DVD)
An intriguing plot. Seriously grotesque, nightmareish imagery. Real emotional resonance. A script that doesn't insult your intelligence. This film has it all. Don't be put off by the Culkin reference above either. His character counterpoints the pervading darkness of the film, and is essential to it's bittersweet resolution, plus he's not in it long anyway.
One of my all time fave films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected surprise, 24 Aug 2009
By 
Stephan Korsholm (DK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [DVD] (DVD)
After being seriously wounded in the Vietnam war Jacob returns home and continues a seemingly ordinary life. But he soon expriences more and more weird phenomenon (akin to halucinations), and it becomes apparent to both the viewer and the main character that something is very wrong in his world or mind.

This movie is a very good movie, good acting, good direction, interesting plot and all in all very accomplished. It's in places a horror movie, but no more than e.g. 'The Sixth Sense'. It is more of a philosofical thriller, and when, in the end, everything is revealed, it comes across plausible and completes the plot in a believeable and even realistic manner.

It was an unexpected surprise for me to stumple across this movie, as it had completely escaped my attention when it came out many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Out-Of-His-Depth Directorial Triumph, 16 Jun 2008
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jacob's Ladder [DVD] (DVD)
Director Adrian Lyne is one of those Auteurs who dredge up mixed feelings amongst cinemaphiles. Better known for his psychosexual dramas such as "Fatal Attraction" (Good) and "9 1/2 Weeks" (Utterly dire), Lyne somehow managed to get his paws on Bruce Joel Rubin's script and put his own sheen upon it.. And surprise surprise, it's rather good in all respects. From it's opening scene the movie reaches for the same heights as holier-than-thou movies such as "The China Syndrome" and "Coming Home" and almost reaches them - at least manages to touch their coattails.

The story revolves around tortured Vietnam Vet Jacob Singer(played with gusto by Tim Robbins)and his attempts to uncover what exactly the US Army did to his mind during a NVA offensive... faced with fuzzy memories of his compadres going ape, Singer is faced with hellish hallucinations and delusions as he makes his way through a drab, grim '70s New York. Was he the victim of an insidious experiment to increase a GI's kill-rate via drugs? The storyline is effective, the backdrop is remarkably viable. With sterling performances from Elizabeth Pena, Danny Aiello and others the movie deserves better accolades than it finally received. The only down-side? An irritating Macaulay Culkin pre-fame, playing Singer's beloved son. Hell, everything has a downside, but even so, I'd take a whole film starring the poisonous munchkin over "Indecent Proposal" anyday.

Concerning this DVD release - There is an earlier release, but bare-bones and in 1:85:1 Aspect ratio, so there is room for improvement there, and I'm an eternal optimist when it comes to DVD re-issues. Perhaps it'll be as good as the Region 1 Widescreen Anamorphic Special Edition? Hope srings eternal, but considering the recent rash of bare-bones Region 2 rubbish, perhaps not. How about a Blu-Ray release, God?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jacob's Ladder [DVD] [1991]
Jacob's Ladder [DVD] [1991] by Adrian Lyne (DVD - 2003)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews