Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words are not enough
Annoying,tacky,overdone,amaturish, poorly produced oh and annoying.
What am i talking about? Ian Levine? his recordings? Could be.
But in this instance it's those awful visual effects put around every artists on these dvds. They cheapen the performances given by these hallowed artists as do the some of the appalling electronic music used to back said...
Published on 26 Jan 2004 by J. W. Cartlidge

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Pathetic Re-Recording Of Old Classics
I'm sure if you frequented any of the clubs mentioned in this box-set way back when, then this collection may captivate you but if you really are passionate about the music give this a wide birth as all the tracks listed have been re-recorded with a synthesizer/drum pattern machine.The only worthwhile sections on all the discs are the studio get together and jam sessions...
Published on 4 May 2006 by X-Ray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words are not enough, 26 Jan 2004
By 
J. W. Cartlidge (Stoke-On-Trent, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
Annoying,tacky,overdone,amaturish, poorly produced oh and annoying.
What am i talking about? Ian Levine? his recordings? Could be.
But in this instance it's those awful visual effects put around every artists on these dvds. They cheapen the performances given by these hallowed artists as do the some of the appalling electronic music used to back said artisits.The miming of some acts is terrible.I personall y think it would have been better to show interviews with the artists whilst playing the original track, but thats jusy my 2ps worth.
BUT IF YOU LOVE NORTHERN SOUL BUY THIS SET.If you never buy anything else in your life again buy this set of dvds.
The memories that the music evoke and the fact that a lot of the performers(some that i have met personally over the years) are now departed,literally brought me to tears.
Putting faces to names of singers whose material i've loved for 35 years, to see the joy in those faces when they realised that they had huge amounts of fans in the U.K. was truly amazing.
The sheer number of classic soul tracks contained in this set is enormous.
Mr. Levine has been critisised by many people(including myself) over the years,and indeed this project could have been done more professionally, BUT, there is no doubt of Ian's love and dedication to the music we all know and love ourselves.
This is shown in the interviews for U.S. t.v. and the obvious pride in accepting an award from the Myor of Detroit.
Thank you Ian for making a grown man cry............
To ALL northern soul fans out there BUY THIS, you won't regret it.
Keep the faith.
J.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Our Yesterdays !!!, 2 Jan 2004
By 
John Bell (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
24 hours of nostalgia on six DVD's - a brilliant production - a must for any Northern Soul fan.
Do not be put off by all of those feeble attempts by the TV companies to summarise Northern Soul in hour long misinformed documentaries. This is the real scene with DJ's and followers of the time. It's about us and the way of life that set us apart from the rest of society. It's dominated by that rare rhythm & soul music of the time, and the artists that made it unique and special to a minority group of the youth of the 60's and 70's.
The years fade away and the memories come flooding back. I remember record traders, blazers, back flips and driving gloves, that cinder bank when we came out of the Wheel and huddling beneath umbrellas to avoid that awful sensation of the rain on an already tingling scalp, Piccadilly station on Sunday mornings and planning for the next week-end followed by the long train journey home and that terrible gut churning feeling as we returned to normality.
This production is about the people who shared those feelings and those special clubs that played what we regarded as an exclusive style of music. We felt our music and life style made us elite and those feelings pour out from this DVD.
The only dissapointment is that the original video version of this release included a CD soundtrack, which is missing from this otherwise first class production
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awesome Northern Compilation!, 19 Mar 2004
By 
Robin Emmerson (STONEHOUSE, GLOS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
As someone who spent their allnighters spinning to these awesome sounds at the relative backwater venue of the Stirling Suite in Yate, I found this DVD a nostalgic reminder of the early morning hours sliding across Old Spice talcum covered floors. The mix of old and newer "monsters" will delight any true Northern Aficionados so just change into your patch bags and get ready to be transported back to the time when anticipation meant queuing to pay your entrance fee while dancing at the same time to the distant sound of Frank Wilson or Bobby Goldsboro from within.This collection is a gem and a tribute to all those true believers of a classic sound and scene. Keep on Keepin On!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Pathetic Re-Recording Of Old Classics, 4 May 2006
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sure if you frequented any of the clubs mentioned in this box-set way back when, then this collection may captivate you but if you really are passionate about the music give this a wide birth as all the tracks listed have been re-recorded with a synthesizer/drum pattern machine.The only worthwhile sections on all the discs are the studio get together and jam sessions by the artists and individuals reminiscing about their time spent originally recording the tracks.If the producer of this compilation is as enthusiastic as he portrays about the genre then he should of done the Motown/Soul artists credit by just having the celebration and not trying to re-hash masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good, 3 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
this should really be reclassified as a horror movie.Picture this, - a 96 year old 'Bob Relf'(though let's face it it could be anyone) shuffling around outside what appears to be an old
folks home miming to a synthesized/drum machine version(they
don't have the rights to the original tracks) of 'Blowin my mind to pieces', intercut with footage of what I think is the
atomic bomb going off in hiroshima; or a toothless and it would seem highly medicated billy butler pretending to play the guitar in his living room. All these great songs have been
destroyed, and legends like phillip mitchell are made to look
like idiots, the latter prancing around what I think is a
fountain in the local park - all the footage is camcorder and
the versions of the songs are so bad it defies belief. The only
saving grace is the occasional decent interview with the likes
of edwin starr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange World Of Northern Soul, 31 Oct 2003
By 
J Swift (Ipswich, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
This cd brings together the world of northern soul music,the records, venues and people who love the music with the flesh and blood of the artists who made the recordings.
This link is forged by the artist's performing today in the US of A the sounds that made them legends in the UK over 30 years ago.
For me this represented the soul of the project undertaken by Ian Levine.
Every northern soul lover needs to see this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non UK Soul fans this is for you too... LOL !, 14 Jan 2004
By 
Blaise SCHMITTER (Paris France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
Northern Soul is a phenomenon specific to the UK and it's culture is somehow hard to grab for someone who hasn't been familiar with places like the Twisted Wheel, Wigan Casino, Blackpool Mecca and such illustrious places revered by all the people who are being interviewed in between the fabulous performances of the great unsung (well for the most part) soul artists of those times... Don't let that put you down because everyone with even the slightest interest in soul music will be in absolute shock to see (and where else could you see The Carstairs perform their absolutely fantastic song, especially since two of them have passed away since the document was filmed) all those unbelievably soulful and danceable tracks...
A TRUE MUST FOR EVERY SOUL FANATIC ON THIS PLANET, not only for the UK fans... Although I often wish I was born in Manchester while watching the program...
Wonder B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 24hr Documentary!, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
The listing makes this look like a fantastic collection of music footage...Nope, it's a music documentary interspersed with interviews throughout, with poor graphics and repeated footage. I'm not sure who this us aimed at but without the hitherto specialised 'gear' available at the time it's anally retentive to say the least. A great insight into what it was like back in the day from a now ageing, (but otherwise knowledgable) selection of record dealers, trendsetters and DJ's, but sadly most, if not all (because I couldn't even finish the first DVD) are re-recordings. Generally if its got Mr Levine's name anywhere in the packaging...re-recordings are all you get cos he produced them. 6 DVD's to get through? Not in my lifetime. No disrespect to Mr Levine but re-recordings are not my thing, nor are the endless hours of interviews. A one hour precis'd DVD would have been a winner in my book. I had hoped to leave the DVD on in the background and listen/watch some great original music...I'm disappointed to say the least and I'm glad I didn't pay £40 (or more) for it...Look out for it on ebay, virtually new with only one half played disc ;) 2 stars because its not my thing...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Northern Soulies only!, 11 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
Superb documentation of the scene by the people who made it happen.

The clips of interviews are fascinating & also putting faces to these unknown artists.

Yes it would have been better to play the original versions of the records but I guess this was not contractually possible ,(you just have to buy these separately on CD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Memories, 29 May 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] (DVD)
As an avid Northern Soul Fan who used to queue up outside the likes of Wigan Casino & The Manchester Ritz in the 70's. I found the DVD very moving, so much so that it brought tears to my eyes. Yes the artist are miming but so what, thats not really the point of this DVD. I found it to be a brilliant piece of history well put together, thanks for the memories, I was proud to have been a part of it. The music is fantastic.

Lorraine from Burnley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD]
The Strange World Of Northern Soul [DVD] by Various Artists (DVD - 2003)
£27.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews