Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got to have some more of Otis
This has got to be among the best live albums of all time. It contains blistering soul standards such as opener "Respect" and "Shake", crowd pleasing covers of "Day Tripper" and "Satisfaction" (with the trademark riff played by the horn section, as Keith Richards originally intended), as well as Otis' trademark ballads. The three things that make this record truly great...
Published on 15 Oct. 2002 by martin_r_jones

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good album, but cd case broken
Arrived in good time but cd case was broken, This review requires ten more words so here they are now
Published on 8 Feb. 2013 by clive whichelow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got to have some more of Otis, 15 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Live in Europe (Audio CD)
This has got to be among the best live albums of all time. It contains blistering soul standards such as opener "Respect" and "Shake", crowd pleasing covers of "Day Tripper" and "Satisfaction" (with the trademark riff played by the horn section, as Keith Richards originally intended), as well as Otis' trademark ballads. The three things that make this record truly great though are the incomparable backing band, Otis' interaction with the audience (who clearly worship him, just listen to the reception he gets when he comes onstage) and the showstopping rendition of "Try A Little Tenderness" which closes the set, climaxing with the audience erupting and the MC pleading with Otis to come back for an encore.
I also agree with the assessment that this is better than his Monterey set, as listening to tracks from the earlier show the band is guilty of playing a little TOO fast. "Live In Europe", however, is indisputably fantastic stuff from a complete legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 14 Feb. 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Europe (Audio CD)
Let me start by saying that this is such a good live album. If you like Otis and want a good live album by him, then this is definitely the place to start. I've got quite a few of his live albums (whiskey a go go etc) and have to say that this is him at his best. His voice is incredible, and he has great interaction with the crowd. It gives you shivers to hear him sing fa fa fa fa (sad song), with the crowd singing along so obviously enjoying themselves. You also get some great ballads as well. The only down side is that it is just over 38 mins long and when a live album is as good as this, you are left wanting more. Buy a perfect piece of soul music and enjoy.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I may wander from the path, but I always return to Otis, 12 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Live in Europe (Audio CD)
I first heard this album on an old vinyl copy back in about 1980, around about the same time as The Blues Brothers came out on film. I was hooked then and I have been ever since. Sure, sometimes I wander from the true path of soul, but just listen to this album's show stopper, Otis' take on an old foxtrot (I believe) called Try a little Tenderness, and tell me this is not a must have record. This is one of the ultimate soul recordings. That bloke in The Commitments was brave to try and match this, but inevitably he didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Europe (Audio CD)
A superb live recording by one of souls greatest .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Europe (Audio CD)
Great Album if you are an Otis fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Europe (Audio CD)
Quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good album, but cd case broken, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live in Europe (Audio CD)
Arrived in good time but cd case was broken, This review requires ten more words so here they are now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live in Europe [VINYL]
Live in Europe [VINYL] by Otis Redding (Vinyl - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews