Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are forever and ever!!!!!!
Being a big fan of this film originally it was my first bond i ever saw at the pics all those years ago.
when i heard the soundtrack i thought it was abit hit and miss,there seemed that much missed out i was disapointed when you have heard some of the other classic Barry Bond soundtracks,
So when i heard this new release i went and bought it and its not been...
Published on 31 May 2003 by Briscoe

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hubby's choice
Hubby chose this as a stocking filler at Christmas. He is a wonderful musician and enjoys John Barry's music. Worth the money to keep him happy!
Published on 2 Feb. 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are forever and ever!!!!!!, 31 May 2003
This review is from: Diamonds Are Forever (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of this film originally it was my first bond i ever saw at the pics all those years ago.
when i heard the soundtrack i thought it was abit hit and miss,there seemed that much missed out i was disapointed when you have heard some of the other classic Barry Bond soundtracks,
So when i heard this new release i went and bought it and its not been off my cd player ever since , the original tracks are their , some have been expanded like , To hell With Blofeld,Moon buggy chase the new tracks like manhunt stand out
i really recommend this if you are a Bond purrest cause diamonds are for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barry at his best!, 15 Mar. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds Are Forever (Audio CD)
John Barry will always be associated with James Bond, and thankfully so. Diamonds are forever and On Her Majestys Secret Service are simply the dog's cog's as far as the Bond OST's go. I have a lot of time for David Arnold. His heart is in the right place. But, after one true show of greatness (TND), the ideas seem to have gone. Barry produced (usually) a truely great and individual score for each film he composed for. I miss that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique John Barry Score, 6 May 2011
This review is from: Diamonds Are Forever (Audio CD)
Never before, nor since, did John Barry compose anything quite like his soundtrack to the seventh Bond movie, Diamond's are Forever. And now, thanks to this digitally remastered and expanded release, fans are able to enjoy the entire score for the first time. From the cheesy Las Vegas lounge music of "Q's Trick and "Airport Source" to the choral "Slumber Inc" and the siniter theme accompanying Mr. Wint and Mr. Kidd onscreen, this masterwork in film scoring has something to suit all tastes. As an enthusiastic admirer of the full canon of Barry's work, I was delighted at how "complete" this version of the soundtrack is. It even includes the weird space age cue from when the girl turns into a gorilla at one of the many sideshows around "Circus Circus", (another great track incidentally). When the movie was released, (back in 1971), I actually saw it 63 times at my local Odeon - and have since viewed it countless times over the years via other mediums, (I've even got it playing in the background now, as I type). I don't know if I've set any records - but I think it's safe to say that I know this movie better than most. I can not recall a single music cue from the film that does not also appear on this CD, and a few additional unused cue's are added for good measure. Buy Diamonds are Forever and it will probably be the most "complete" soundtrack you will ever own. it was hailed as Connery's return to Bond - sadly it was also to be his swansong as the worlds favourite spy, (notwithstanding his later non Eon productions return in Never Say Never Again).

Contrary to popular belief, the comedy in Bond movies did not start with Roger Moore, it started here with Diamonds - albeit it in a (slightly) more sophisticated way. Barry score was able to counterbalance this change in direction for the series and at the same time remain dark and foreboding as and when the script demanded.

There is not much that can be said of Shirley Bassey's rendition of the main theme that has not already been said a thousand times before. Truly a superb interpretation of Don Black's lyric. Many have tried to copy - non have succeeded.

All in all, this is not only one of Barry's greatest Bond scores, (He did eleven in all - 12, depending on which side of the fence you lie in the great Barry/Norman debacle over the creation of the James Bond Theme for Dr. No), but also one of his greatest soundtracks per se.

A composer like Barry only usually comes along once in a lifetime and we may never be blessed with such a talented film composer again. He is sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds are forever, 2 Sept. 2003
By 
Alan J Boyd (Townsville, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diamonds Are Forever (Audio CD)
If your looking for a CD which captures the pure brillance of a John Barry James Bond score, then this one is for you. This was Barry's seventh score for the series, which marked a brief return to the role of Bond by Sean Connery. All the ingredients of classic Barry are there... from the opening titles of the search for Blofeld (a very welcomed additon to the remastered version) to tracks like Death at the Whyte House and Following the Diamonds. Any lover of John Barry, or indeed film music, should have a copy of this CD in their collection. It's a must!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barry at his best, 3 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds Are Forever (Audio CD)
"Diamonds are Forever" surely must be the best Bond soundtrack of all time? Now i know a lot of people rate "OHMSS" as the all time best Bond soundtrack but i just don't see it, as good as that is "Diamonds are forever" is far superior both musically and orchestrally.I would still say the top 2 Barry Bond soundtracks are this one and "The Living Daylights" but all are worthwhile purchases with some very strong work on all of them. Barry's Bond motifs though are at their strongest here. "007 and counting" is one of Barry's best Bond cue's with it's dark melody,brooding brass and haunting strings. "Bond smells a rat" in a similar vain has all the trademarks of classic Barry Bond. "Mood buggy ride" cues in the main action theme of the film with echoes of the title song. Barry's usual instrumental reworking of the lovely theme song (one of Bond's best) comes in two versions which are both quite lovely. "Circus Circus" is a great piece of music and very catchy. "Tiffany Case" is lovely piece of easy listening with some lovely string arrangements. The list goes on, quite superb and almost every track is top notch.

This new remastered edition thankfully restores all the great missing cue's missing from the original LP and CD releases. Some of the remastered Bond scores have had extra cue's added to the running order before, some worthwhile, some not as good but i think "Diamonds" additions are overall better quality than some of the others, here's why. Firstly the excellent "Mr Winnt and Mr Kydd" theme which has to be one of Barry's best cue's is restored in all it's glory, this was a cruel absentee from the original album release,quite bizarre as it's one of the strongest tracks from the movie. "Whyte House" is also a great jazzy number which is great and the "additional cues" track also has some worthwhile cue's which are very good.

If your a fan of John Barry or maybe want to purchase some good Bond music for your collection you can't go far wrong with this, though i do recommend "The Living Daylights" "Moonraker" and "Thunderball" as quintessential Barry Bond scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamonds Are Forever Soundtrack, 7 Sept. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds Are Forever (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant and it is in my opinion some of the best music from the bond saga. I miss the older classic Bond films I thought that Die Another Die was dreadful, If you like the older classic bond music get this soundtrack, or if you like diamonds are forever or John Barry then this album is a must, especially to older Bond fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds Are Forever (Audio CD)
Delivery was fast and well packaged. I had the original cd from the film, but if you're a die hard fan of John Barry and the incidental music he brought to the films he worked on this is a must since a lot was left out from the original-such as the music from the Whyte House and the episode around Slumber Inc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... the poorest of the Connery Bond films but the best soundtrack., 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamonds Are Forever (Audio CD)
Perhaps the poorest of the Connery Bond films but the best soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hubby's choice, 2 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Diamonds Are Forever (Audio CD)
Hubby chose this as a stocking filler at Christmas. He is a wonderful musician and enjoys John Barry's music. Worth the money to keep him happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamonds Are Forever
Diamonds Are Forever by John Barry (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews