Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the amazon review!
Whether you're new to Therapy? or have been following them for years, this is a must-have. It's a cracking album and very possibly their best yet. From the opening bars and tongue-in-cheek blasphemy of 'Hey Satan, You Rock' through to 'Never Ending' (which does actually end) there is barely a moments respite. Vital punky riffs, melodic vocal hooks and plenty of...
Published on 30 Jun 2003

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's not get carried away...
Therapy? are my favorite band. Therapy? are also the biggest influence in my life. I stated those 2 facts for what i'm about to say my shock those whose already done reviews on this album.
This album is...OK.
It's certainly one of the best albums of the year, but compare it to Troublegum, Infernal Love and Suicide Pact and you notice it lacks one thing: Andy...
Published on 17 Feb 2004 by Mr. Robert A. Spacey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the amazon review!, 30 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
Whether you're new to Therapy? or have been following them for years, this is a must-have. It's a cracking album and very possibly their best yet. From the opening bars and tongue-in-cheek blasphemy of 'Hey Satan, You Rock' through to 'Never Ending' (which does actually end) there is barely a moments respite. Vital punky riffs, melodic vocal hooks and plenty of singalongaheadbang moments, this album has flavours of Ash, Undertones and Stiff Little Fingers at their best, together with the trademark Therapy? energy. Enjoy. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best but pretty good, 14 May 2003
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
The album starts out melodic, a lot more so than previous offerings, but quickly the usual grind returns. This is Therapy? back to the sound on "Suicide Pact, You First" and it suits them well. A relatively short album, "High Anxiety" is pretty powerful. The Therapy? sound is back and Andy Cairns as usual lets his accent shine through; in my opinion this is one of the things that makes Therapy? as an act. Opener 'Hey Satan - You Rock' may lack subtlety in the title but is includes a great riff and some of Mr Cairns' most ... well ... there's a tune in there, and he sings it. Which is nice.
Other highlights of the album include current single (at the time of writing) 'If It Kills Me' which typifies the album as a whole - more melodic than previous outings but easily as heavy. As you'd expect the playing is faultless and the band stick to their guns from start to finish.
I gather the band are getting more publicity with this album and while it's not my favourite they certainly deserve it. A worthy addition to their portfolio but no Troublegum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Improvement but still No Infernal Love, 14 May 2003
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
I had only heard about the new Therapy Album a few days before it was released and took a chance on buying it, after frankly being dissapointed with the Direction that there Previous album "Shameless" had taken, it was a good Album but seemed to lack therapy's magic of previous efforts like TroubleGum and the always wonderful Infernal Love,
I can say that I was not Dissapointed this time and I found High Anxiety to be a good album using some of the better elements from Shameless and Throwing in some of the rock An Roll Elements of Troublegum.
The Fun Humour in "Hey Satan you rock" brought a smile to my face and the Passion of "If it should kill me" Brings the Album to life.
A great Job Therapy Keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey Therapy? - You Rock..., 11 May 2003
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
P>It's fair to say that since their heyday of "Troublegum" and "Infernal Love", Therapy? have been underachieving. Almost like they were going soft in their old age.
Now 13 years after their formation, their luck seems to have returned. "High Anxiety" is more than a little bit good. From the opening noise of "Hey Satan - You Rock" it's clear that Therapy? mean business again, the business in question being to make everyone's ears bleed and have a lot of fun doing it.
First single "If It Kills Me" was criminally ignored by just about every radio station, but in a fair world would have been the death knell for nu-metal.
"Not In My Name" is the finest anti-war song you're likely to hear in a long time, whilst "Who Knows" is another highlight.
The disappointments are "My Voodoo Doll" and bonus track "Never Ending", which bear comparison to Less Than Jake, and don't work as well as the album's heavier tracks.
But overall this is a fine album. The music is inventive, aggressive, and most of all, fun. Therapy? have never been a band satisfied with one-dimensional de-tuned guitar-beating but they've surpassed even their own high standards of old. And more good news - new drummer Neil Cooper fits in like he's been there all along.
If this is a sign of the next 13 years, it's gonna be a hell of a time for rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Therapy? - 'High Anxiety', 28 May 2003
By 
MarqVas (Northampton, Northamptonshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
'Hey Satan - You Rock' the opening title of 'Therapy's?' latest offering sets the tone for one of the best comeback albums in the last 10 years.
Following in the footsteps of the classic 'Troublegum', this is certainly an act that have risen from the ashes to deliver a product in the same vein released over 9 years ago. From the disappointment of 2001's 'Shameless' it was said that the band might as well pack it in as there was no way that the their distinct Brit Punk Rock sound could be brought back to life. I'm pleased to say it has!
'High Anxiety' once again blends that style that inspired so many and raised the bar in terms of '90's Brit Rock' era. Known for their catchy choruses 'Cairns' and co. do not disappointed chugging through treats like 'Stand in Line', 'Nobody Here But Us' and 'If It Kills Me'.
It must be said a more polished and melodic approach but there is no attitude lost! Well worth the wait. Welcome back 'Therapy?' we've missed you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Much Better Than Shameless, 10 May 2003
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
The last 'Therapy?' album 'Shameless' was very disapointing but this new album 'High Anxiety' has show that 'Therapy? are back on form!!!! Its no 'Troublegum' but then again no 'Therapy?' album is like the one before it! all i can say is that tracks like 'Who Knows' showing the old(babyteeht-nurse)side of the band, then songs like 'If It kills Me' proving they can still wright catcy pop like songs like 'Screamager' Which is why this band is still the best 'rock/dance/punk' band ever!!!!!!!!!!!
Therapy? still rock every time I hear them
All I can say is this album is like a mix between Troublegum and Semi-Detached with a new twist mixed in with it proving that Therapy? are stll the best rock band around!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Therapy? are on a Roll, 14 May 2003
By 
IW Hutchinson (Coleraine, Co Londonderry, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
They've done it again! Therapy? have managed to pull another top album out of the bag with High Anxiety. I was half expecting this album to sound a lot like 'Shameless' but no, that would have been too simple! While 'Shameless' was a very raw album with twiddly guiter solos which even sounded like Iron Maiden at times (not such a bad thing!) the sound here is meatier and more in your face. The lyrics are still clever and disturbing in equal doses which has always been a Therapy? trademark. The first thing you'll relise when you listen to this album is that not only is the music great but it SOUNDS great. Some of their recordings in the past hav'nt sounded that crisp (not their fault ofcourse) but this album sounds really polished, really does their music justice. Stand out tracks for me are 'Hey Satan -You Rock' (extremely catchy fast paced rocker), 'Stand in Line'(vintage Therapy?-think Babyteeth/Pleasure Death albums) and the lyrically superb 'Not In Any Name'. On like most albums these days the record finishes strongly too with the punky 'Voodoo Doll' and the slow then heavy 'Limbo' and the feel-good tune 'Last Blast'. However, having said all that, they leave, in my opinion, the best track til' last. 'Rust' is without doubt the heaviest music I have ever heard from Therapy?! I have all the albums, but I have never listened to anything as cool as this song! Andy's voice is so gravally/dark/evil it'll send shivers down your spine! It's also a bit like 'Overkill' from Motorhead in the way it keeps on going on again and again just when you think it has finished. Superb tune and superb album from the Ulstermen. If you like Therapy? you'll love this album. If you like metal, do yourself a favour, avoid all the air-brushed, manufactured, so-called nu-metal out there and get this. These guys are the REAL DEAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's not get carried away..., 17 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
Therapy? are my favorite band. Therapy? are also the biggest influence in my life. I stated those 2 facts for what i'm about to say my shock those whose already done reviews on this album.
This album is...OK.
It's certainly one of the best albums of the year, but compare it to Troublegum, Infernal Love and Suicide Pact and you notice it lacks one thing: Andy Cairns being F*cked up.
It's a known fact that in this day and age, Andy is a happy man, married with kids, no drug or beer addiction. Tracks like 'Hey satan...' 'Who knows...' and 'Never Ending' are without a doubt class tunes, but they don't contain that seething bitterness that previous Therapy? albums have. Neil Cooper does a great job on drums, his work closer to Fyfe's that Graham Hopkins was, but the quiet nerosis, the subtle cello work, angsty lyrics and raw pain are all missing. I somehow feel this album is an attempted grasp to beyound their fan base, perhaps attempting to draw in the 14 year old kids wearing blink 182 hoodies. Don't get me wrong, this album is good, a good listen from start to finish, but it's not great. Not by Therapy?'s standards anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Much Better Than Shameless, 10 May 2003
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
I am a long time therapy? fan, I was pesimistic about semi-detached because of fyfe leaving but i think that album is one of their best (the best going to 'Infernal Love') but with this new album 'High Anxiety' i was very anxious to here what they had instore and all i can say is that Therapy? are back on form!!!!!.... Its no 'Troublebum' but its still a rockin' album. This album is far superior to the disapointing 'Shameless' but tracks like 'Who Knows' shows shows signs of the early therapy? (babyteeht-nurse) and 'If It Kills Me' showing the amazing ability to wright catchy pop songs like 'Screamager'with neil cooper showing signs that he could be as good as fyfe ( ive not heard him play the old stuff but i belive he he is better than hopkins ) all i can say is i cant wait to see them live in manchester next week!!!!!!!!
The Eternal Therapy? Fan, Pat!!!
Buy this album!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hey Therapy?- You Rock, 24 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: High Anxiety (Audio CD)
I can still rememeber the day I first heard T?, many years ago while sitting in the back of the car and listening to the Radio1 Rock Show. I was straight down HMV that weekend for my very own copy of Troublegum and that album summed up the whole of my whole teenage years and Screamager just blew me away.
Therapy? have changed with every new album- The angst of Troublegum was followed by "happy" Infernal Love and they have continued to evolve.
This one is no exception- The angst is back and they sound different again, largely due to the extra guitar giving them a heavier edge rather than the grungy, lightweight 3-piece sound. But the change is good and, most importantly, it rocks in the same way as "Potato Junkie"- Everybody now: "James Joyce is...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Anxiety
High Anxiety by Therapy? (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews