Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly entertaining
I'll admit I don't know anything about the Panzer Dragoon series...
I'll also admit I only bought this game cause it was cheap.
I'll also admit, I was really impressed. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay enjoyable, and a plot which is a cut above most. Through both the game and the bonus material, its incredably easy to get immersed into the Panzer Dragoon...
Published on 26 Feb 2004 by James

versus
2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy
i heard this was a great game so i bought it . i got it home and started to play . its rubbish you have very little movement control over the dragon and all you do is move around a target which atomaticly locks anyway . one good thing about the game is that the graphics are good .
Published on 27 Aug 2003 by D WINTER


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly entertaining, 26 Feb 2004
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
I'll admit I don't know anything about the Panzer Dragoon series...
I'll also admit I only bought this game cause it was cheap.
I'll also admit, I was really impressed. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay enjoyable, and a plot which is a cut above most. Through both the game and the bonus material, its incredably easy to get immersed into the Panzer Dragoon world.
What impressed me the most was that its rare you realise it is a rail shooter. Normal I hate such limiting games, but the game does its best to make you forget.
The bonus material is also very good, showing much more depth than most games. The ability to play bits of the storyline as other charaters is impressive and adds to the experience.
Overall it is an excellent game, one which is definately worth more than a rents worth...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world!, 10 July 2003
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
Just completed the game on easy level at the weekend, and have since "clocked" it twice more. The more you play it (and get used to the controls, routes, etc), the more you begin to appreciate the game for it's design, graphics, and sheer artistry. I intend to go back and try the normal level, as well as all the other scenarios and sub-missions. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, but beware if playing on Xbox360, 24 May 2008
By 
MW (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
One of the best rail shooters I have played, or up to level 3 anyway. If you are planning to buy this for the Xbox360, then the PAL version of the game will crash after level 3. No fix has been released by Microsoft even though they state this game as backward compatible with Xbox360. This problem has been noted on several internet forums so it is not an isolated case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Panzer Dragoon Orta - best Xbox release so far this year!!!, 28 Mar 2003
By 
Tim Sanders (Barry, Vale of Glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
Panzer Dragoon Orta (PDO) is superb. When you run the game for the first time you will be amazed.
Firstly the graphics are superb. They're on a par if not better than Splinter Cell, but in a different way, bright and colourful instead of dark and moody. The different dragon forms are especially well implemented. The small videos inbetween each level look absolutely amazing. Just watch the opening movie for a taste of the supremacy of this game above other titles.
The sound is also very good, the dragons noises and the squeels of enemies are perhaps the best. The voice acting in panzer language creates the mood perfectly.
The controls are as near to perfect as possible. The only slight niggle is not being able to have a 360 degrees view from the left thumbstick. Apart from that they are superb.
The longevity of this game is assured due the brillaint Pandora's Box addition, a collection of minigames, sub scenarios and much much more. One of the highlights is a fully playable arcade version of the original Panzer Dragoon.
If you take away the superb gameplay, great audio and top-class graphics what you have is a good shoot em up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Gaming!, 23 Mar 2003
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
If you long for a slice of gaming like they used to serve up in the good old days, then this is the game for you! An "on-rails" shooter that brings back memories of great titles like Space Harrier and the original Panzer Dragoon, whilst at the same time bringing the gameplay bang up to date.
The graphics are superb, with some simply gorgeous backgrounds, and the level design is in places very good, in other places jaw-droppingly good. You'll find bosses in varying places throughout the levels, sometimes making it a dash for the finish on your meager health after a particularly tough battle, but this keeps it interesting throughout. Also, the option to "Restart At Boss?" is a very welcome one indeed, removing the frustration of playing a whole level again and again. The difficulty levels are nicely balanced, with Easy being a kids only level, and Medium ramping it right up to make a truly challenging game. I haven't been brave enough to attempt Hard yet!
As always with Panzer Dragoon, the storyline is deep and involving, and the extras provide enough to keep you coming back. I highly recommend this game....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTLY BRILLIANT, 7 April 2003
By 
L. Apps "l_apps" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
Ages back, when i owned a Sega Saturn, i was amazed by a game, called Panzer Dragoon. It was a rail based game, where u blew things out of the sky...and that was basically it. It held its own, and spawn a sequal, which im my opinon was so much better. Near the end of the Sega Saturns life, a RPG version was released, and was a huge epic game...simple a masterpiece.
Panzer Dragoon Orta, is a follow on from the first 2 games, rail based, as in the screen cares you. It takes you through 10 Huge levels, and like most sega games, entails a ranking system, to keep u wanting to go back for more.
Like the other Panzer games, it features a pandora box, full of extra and sub games. Which you open up as you meet critera through the game. To be honest, My jaw has dropped for the amount that is actually openable, and even more appears through the game.
The game, like most sequals trys to do what the previous did, then add more to it. This game not only does it, but makes the previous 2 games, look naff. Not only does the game carry its game type well, it then adds a new feature. Dragoon morthing, this is were you have the ability to morth into other dragooons, to suit your strategy. The morth covers 3 dragoon types. normal, power, boost. Normal is, the dragoon, which as got the lot, but not great. Power is heavliy armed, but shows no speed thus very slow. Boost is more speed based, yet show very little in weaponary. Once you have learnt these dragoons, you can pull of some brilliant moves, and kills, as well as looking good for bystanders. Also has you improve, and the more kills you do; more power ups, appear, meaning you can evolve each dragoon to suit your play.
Graphically i havent seen a game which looks this good. You can see alot of work as gone into this game. I promise you, your draw will drop for the visuals, they are simply stunning. Gameplay wise, like most game from sega origin, the ranking and extras will keep you coming. Trying to master this game is another story!.
I am not disapointed with this game at all, and the game is well worth the money. I will suggest this to all xbox gamers, this is simply a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PDO is a great game, 28 Mar 2003
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
Panzer Dragoon Orta is a fantastic game in its own right that deserves to be given a go by every Xbox owner. Admittedly you will probably have to play through the Tutorial first but once thats done with you will get the grips with the controls and will start to appreciate the subtlety of the game.
The game has 10 missions with an onslaught of extra side missions, each with beautiful level design. Whats more is the fact that this game has some of the best graphics seen to date on the Xbox.
In the 3 original Panzer Dragoon games for the Sega Saturn the spoken language was a made up language for the games world. In this case the spoken language in the Orta is Japanese with English subtitles, but not to worry since this instead gives the feeling of actually being in this unique world. Also i think subs should be preferred since alot Sega games have bad voice English voice overs.
This is a must have Xbox game. As stated before you may have to play through the tutorials first and then get into the actual story side of the game. But rest assured that once you start playing this you will be addicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old classic explodes onto xbox, 25 Mar 2003
By 
eric goodison (wexford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
if you know what panzer dragoon is then your probably a fan from the games released on the sega satern.this new install ment in the series is a roller coaster ride of finger numming action and spectacular visuals that really shows the power of xbox.the basics are still the same you ride on a dragon while you control a 360 deg view of the surroundings trying to keep the countless numbers of enemies at bay.your dragon has 3 different forms which you can morph into each dragon has its own strenths, one is more powerful but slower another has great control but not much strenth this adds some real strategie to the game.your dragon can also boost and slow down which is needed to atttack some enemies.all these new abilities really make panzer one the true xbox elite games.even once you have completed the game ther is still multiple paths through the game and pandoras box which contain lots of unlockable stuff like the full version of the now very old looking satern version.this is a must buy for newcomers to the serious looking for lots of action and for the hardened long time fan of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye burning shooting thrills!, 6 Jan 2005
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
The legacy of Sega's last ever console continues on Microsoft's little baby, the Xbox. An old game now, this little gem can probably be picked up in your local Gamestation for under a tenner. The structure of the game is unashamedly old school, the 'on-rails' shooter brought up to date in full 3D glory ... flying through level by level until you reach the 'uberboss' at the end of each stage. The game I could liken this most to is another Sega oldie, Afterburner II. Flying round, loosing off missiles, shooting things down and dodging the return fire. Where the game comes into its element is the 3D action.
Sat ontop an ancient dragon, orphan Orta finds herself embarking on a journey, rebelling against the evil empire that seeks to control the world. As the dragon flies through each level, Orta can spin through 360 degrees as she defends herself from attacking forces from each side. The levels themselves are wonderful, from war torn villages, giant air battles in the sky, mysterious ancient ruins ... everything is presented so well that you wouldn't think this was one of the original line up games of the Xbox.
The game itself provides a challenge like the shooters of old, rather than breezing through the game as you would with many a new title ... the levels and the bosses themselves are a real challenge. You can't just sit in the middle of the screen and hammer away at the fire button. Your dragon can switch between 3 forms, Glide - with its auto aim lazer, manoeuvrability and restorative skill, Base - a well balanced form which can move well but can also dish out many heat seeking 'arrows of light', and Brute - sluggish to move, slow to fire, but hits hard when it does! Each form comes in useful when presented with different situations. Using Glide to power away from a bad guy who is trying to ram into you, switching to Base to swat down a swarm of flying bad dudes before ending up in Brute to take on something that is a bit more meaty on the armour side is something you'll have to master. Its not a case of one form for every level.
Add to the package a decent amount of unlockables, such as the original Panzer Dragoon game and plenty of side missions to play, you'll have plenty to keep you entertained. A decent story keeps the game moving with purpose, graphics and sound help immerse yourself in the world. Arcade thrills with a bit more meat than just a throwaway shooter.
For the price that this goes for, its more than a worthwhile purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply lovely! :0), 28 April 2003
By 
D Terry "UltraViolet" (hythe, kent, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panzer Dragoon Orta (Video Game)
One, if not the, most, beautiful games I have ever played [no joke]The storyline flows seemlessly in with the game and is a joy to watch and the art direction is prohaps the best i've ever seen, allmost dream-like on some stages.It may look like a simple shoot'up but get into it and your find there loads to unlock with continued playing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Panzer Dragoon Orta
Panzer Dragoon Orta by Namco Bandai (Xbox)
40.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews