Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0


1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There will never be another
It is always difficult to get the flavour of comedy from another era. Max Miller was a massive artist in the 30s 40s and 50s so he must have had something about him

There are a few clips of his act on You tube so you can see him performing his act.

I now play this CD when I am on long journeys in my car. You get into it without interruption. His...
Published on 27 Sept. 2008 by Peter Wade

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lovely album, shame about the huge dropout in track #1
I love this album, and all of the tracks, but both the CD and the MP3 download suffer from a two second dropout about 3:10 into the first track.
Published on 29 Sept. 2009 by Steve Swift


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There will never be another, 27 Sept. 2008
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: There'll Never Be Another (Audio CD)
It is always difficult to get the flavour of comedy from another era. Max Miller was a massive artist in the 30s 40s and 50s so he must have had something about him

There are a few clips of his act on You tube so you can see him performing his act.

I now play this CD when I am on long journeys in my car. You get into it without interruption. His delivery is quite slow as he pauses between each section as the audience are anticipating him by laughing

He comes from a time when you could only use innuendo so your humour had to be a lot more subtle. He never used rude words of swore.

It was like Round the Horne on radio it was all in the mind. He didn't use funny voices but came out in his trademark outrageous suits. Even his corny songs start to grow on you

You can hear the audience really enjoying the performance

If you are a fan of musical hall comedy and British comedians in particular this CD is a must.

I retold one of his jokes the other day which was not suggestive in the least and it got explosive laughter from those I retold it to. I did not use as many pauses but they still work today.

Highly recommended a treat to listen to. I will be buying some more of his works.

There will never be another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Mother/Father-in law, 18 April 2012
By 
M Belle (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There'll Never Be Another (Audio CD)
My in-laws like to listen to CDs while making long car journeys, so I bought them a selection of this type of CD. They were highly delighted and loved the way their memories came flooding back. It was a lovely way for them to reminisce about a lot of their past antics as youngsters. Sometimes, the familiar sounds of Old Time Radio can really invoke some very real feelings. I would recommend buying these as presents for older relatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OK as far as it goes but I was disappointed in that in the Amazon advert for this disc ..., 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There'll Never Be Another (Audio CD)
OK as far as it goes but I was disappointed in that in the Amazon advert for this disc it didn't have a track listing, which meant that I duplicated the same tracks as on other Max Miller Discs I had purchased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done Maxie, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of Max Miller, you will love this product and be assured of a good laugh. He said that there will never be another one, and how right he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lovely album, shame about the huge dropout in track #1, 29 Sept. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this album, and all of the tracks, but both the CD and the MP3 download suffer from a two second dropout about 3:10 into the first track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There'll Never Be Another (Audio CD)
good cd and good seller +++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

There'll Never Be Another
There'll Never Be Another by Max Miller (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews