Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...welcome miss vanessa carlton
...You know, everytime I buy a cd online I always check what people have bought as well as the album i am interested in. Like always i've found the artist links spot on owning all recordings from the list other than Jewel! The first time I heard a thousand miles i was busying myself with MTV providing background music-as soon as i heard that haunting piano intro i felt...
Published on 12 July 2002 by bx_laughs

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm...
Good songs, great voice, very nice piano playing, so what lets this album down? The relentless over production from the clearly egotistical bigshot producer, who has taken at least 1 star from my score. They say the job of a good producer is when you can' t tell that there' s been a producer at all. not with this ablum. The big budget production simply detracks from what...
Published on 6 Feb 2003


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...welcome miss vanessa carlton, 12 July 2002
This review is from: Be Not Nobody (Audio CD)
...You know, everytime I buy a cd online I always check what people have bought as well as the album i am interested in. Like always i've found the artist links spot on owning all recordings from the list other than Jewel! The first time I heard a thousand miles i was busying myself with MTV providing background music-as soon as i heard that haunting piano intro i felt a shiver go down my spine, all of a sudden this song (only 20 seconds in!) was already having this effect which made me feel really emotional-and when i heard her voice i was so relieved that this was talent and wasn't about to be ruined by some vile tacky dance beat! Well as a proud owner of be not nobody i can recommend it to anyone who appreciates a beautiful talent. This young lady is not afraid of variance and her classical training only adds to her accomplishment on this debut. It is so hard sometimes to find somebody that sings her own words and isn't scared to release something different to the rest of the painfully similar mainstream trash that is constantly kicking about. A must for anyone who loves thoughtful lyrics, intense, charged music all sung to you by a beautiful young woman with a gorgeous, stunning voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a new great american singasong writer, 29 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Be Not Nobody (Audio CD)
Vanessa Carlton is only 21 years old but have already tried her talents as a ballarina and worked as a waitress on the lower part of Manhatten, N.Y., far from her childhood home in Pennsylvania. Thank God she, with the help of her father, realised that she could sing. After a year of working on material to this debut album she meet Ron Fair of A&M records and Jimmy Lovine of Geffen Records and this album could be completed. Be Not Nobody is a brilliant, personal and strong debut, with a handful of good, pop/rock songs carried by Vanessa's gifted and crystal clear voice and talent as a classical trained pianist. I was amazed and surprised by every single track from first song Ordinary Day to the Suzanne Vega inspired song Twillight. You can hear inspiration from Susanna Hoffs (voc.The Bangles) in her voice and a couple of hundres other female artist. Pretty Baby, probably the second single from the album, is a wonderful popballad, but performed with a strenght I haven't heard in a long, long time by any female singer. The debut album is an incredible, overwhelming first from this new artist.
The single from this album A Thousand Miles, flowing with lyrics, passion and ever changing rhythm could be this year's Grammy Award winning song in The USA. Buy this CD before your neighbours do, they want it too, believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen, 29 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Be Not Nobody [Bonus Tracks] (Audio CD)
I am pretty impressed with this album. Vanessa Carlton is certainly a very talented pianist and has one of those interesting voices - wouldn't win pop-idol and all the better for it.
The best things about this album for me are the playing (brilliant drums from Abe Laboriel Jnr and bass from Leyland Sklar) and the song '1000 miles' which is soooo catchy and has an excellent riff.
All in all I like this album and would give it an unqualified recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm..., 6 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Be Not Nobody (Audio CD)
Good songs, great voice, very nice piano playing, so what lets this album down? The relentless over production from the clearly egotistical bigshot producer, who has taken at least 1 star from my score. They say the job of a good producer is when you can' t tell that there' s been a producer at all. not with this ablum. The big budget production simply detracks from what Carlton is trying to express and leaves no space for the imagination, as well as making the album a little samey. Every space is filled. The 120 peice (or whatever)orchestra is present on practicly every track. But if you like that kind of thing, you' ll love it.
She does have a good backing band besides that, though.
I look forward to her future albums as she is clearly an artist with a lot of talent and potential.
And for those of you wandering, I would say "A thousand Miles" is the best track on the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best In The Current Trend Of Female Singer-Songwriters, 5 Oct 2003
By 
S. Wright (Sheffield, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Not Nobody [Bonus Tracks] (Audio CD)
To be honest, popular music has needed a kick up the proverbial backside for sometime. Especially when you look at the amount of boy bands emerging (and how much younger they seem to be getting...), and more disturbingly, the amount that dance music appears to be rearing its ugly head once more. Although I'm not a fan of her, since Alicia Keys came along and had that huge hit with 'Fallin' ', I was pretty glad that maybe some artists who actually have talent (shock, horror) might just be breaking into the mainstream. And of course, when there's one, there's going to be others...and although you can't really compare Vanessa Carlton to Alicia Keys, you can't help but wonder if she'd done quite so well and achieved quite so much if it wasn't for the appearance of Miss Keys and her tinkling fingers...
Other than the sheer fact that they both play and write songs acoustically, there are little other similarities to the two. And I'm not going to start comparing. Vanessa Carlton possesses a fine high-pitched voice that although is not unique, makes the music she personally wrote sound more personal and at the same time more relatable and vulnerable. She also possesses a lot more talent than I actually expected to hear upon purchasing 'Be Not Nobody' (the sort of title that teenagers will flock to buy unfortunately). It's worth noting and remembering that as you move your way through fine upbeat piano, dark sombre atmospherics, string-laden beauties and highly professionally put together layered songs, that she was only around 18 years old when she made this album. She may even have written these songs a longer time ago. And for someone who's so young and has probably had little experience in the school of life, there are a lot of justifiable issues throughout 'Be Not Nobody', whether personally exercised, or seen with her own eyes, they seem to always remain heart-felt. Opener 'Ordinary Day' is surely one for the girls who literally dream of the boys who they've fallen in love with and feel a magical attraction to, but for everyone you can't help but feel slightly uplifted, especially by those slowly emerging strings. 'Unsung' is surely one of the most upbeat songs on the album, combining a little bit of electricity with that finely played piano.
Unfortunately, as a male listening to this album, there is one of two perhaps vomit-inducing moment, in the likes of the almost nursery-rhyme-esque, 'Pretty Baby', and the slightly tedious 'Prince', and as someone who considers the original version of 'Paint It Black' by The Rolling Stones one of the greatest songs of all time, Carlton's version is shall we say, not bad, but just not good, but in the likes of the heart-broken, 'Rinse' and the more poppy and powerfully positive, 'Sway', that comes before and after each of those songs that let Carlton's popwerful writing qualities downm, it is made up for twice as much. 'Twilight', is a beautiful low key affair that adds as one of the albums highlights, also making it refreshing for once to hear one of the albums best tracks right at the very end, to leave on a high note. There's reason to come back, and for me personally for first single, 'A Thousand Miles', a song for those who are far away from those loved ones, or special man or girl in their lives, and as someone who's girlfriend lives way over in Finland, I can vouch that this song is heart-felt and is performed by a true professional. Or should I say professionals? Throughout 'Be Not Nobody' the production is near perfect. Sure, it is a thoughtful, alternative (and I say that in a none rock sense) album that has been produced cleanly for a pop audience, but it helps the music and Carlton herself, rather than hinder them, each note and sound being heard just as it should be, making this a very pleasant experience for those of us with tainted hearts, and tainted ears.
Despite it's one or two trips into the dirge (one or two many to not give this a totally top mark unfortunately), this is a beautiful album, that does show Vanessa Carlton to her fullest. This is also her debut and as she notes in the liner notes, '...the album she always wanted to make', so I will certainly give this young songstress credit. And quite possibly still under 20, when she's written an album like 'Be Not Nobody' that has at least 6 highlights out of 11 epic acoustically based songs, you wonder what she could do if she manages to keep focused and keep up this amount of momentum in the future.
4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well ... for once I'm lost for words ..., 24 Aug 2002
By 
Miss Catherine Lake (New Milton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Be Not Nobody (Audio CD)
It's not often I suddenly get the urge to by an album, or certainly singles don't feature much in my collection, but Vanessa Carlton's hit touched me in a way very few others have.
I was lay in hospital recovering from major operation, thinking about "stuff" and listening to the radio, when on came 'A Thousand Miles' and immediately I was captivated. So much so in fact, that when I reached the Amazon site I not only ordered the single, but found out there was an album and ordered that too!
Thank you for creating such inspiring music Vanessa and good luck with your music career. I, for one at least, will do my best to get the message out about your work - you've certainly become one of my main inspirations in music.
Don't wait around reading loads of reviews ... buy it and experience it for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EMOTIONS IN EARNEST, 26 Nov 2002
This review is from: Be Not Nobody (Audio CD)
What a debut!.Not since the arrival of Tori Amos, has the cob webs of the female songsmith been so sweetly blown away.
Its funny how a song on the radio can capture you,or own you with one listen.Thats how i describe A thousand miles.
Musicianship and an ear for a sweet hookline this girl has.
Ordinary day, if not more of the same but with an identity being stamped on it.
Pretty baby is simply gorgeous.It brings out that "in love" feeling to the surface,you cant fail to remeniss!!!
Moving on to sway,because for me this represents the best balance of the pop sensibilities and assertive rock elements that capture what Carlton is about.
If you need a soul searching weekend, you could do worse than to immerse into this fine work.Strong debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Not Nobody No more!, 9 July 2002
By 
Edward Atkinson (Whitby, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Be Not Nobody (Audio CD)
I first set ears on Vanessa Carlton last week on MTV! A quick look around the net and a visit to a music vendor found a lot of information on this young lady. A classical training in the piano, time as a ballerina and an encouraging father who gave her the courage to realise she could sing. I take my hat off to this phenomenon as she has succeeded in producing a quality first offering.
I'm of the opinion that Pretty Baby is a great recording in its own right although it is the weakest track on the album. Saying this however this is a very strong album with gems such as Unsung, Prince, Wanted and the amazing cover of the Rolling Stones rock calssic Paint It Black. The amazing thing about these tracks is the fusion of instruments and techniques used. It is an audible feast for the ear drums! Strings, guitars, piano and countless others are a joy to hear as you ride this musical tidal wave.
A word must go to Miss Carlton herself who has such a voice it is difficult to compare her to any one artist. In Parts of Paint It Black and Twilight we hear a small tinge of Leanne Rhimes while other tracks lean towards Tori Amos, Sheryl Crowe and Alanis Morissette. Her vocal talent is perhaps best utilised in Twilight which is a great way to wind down the album.
In conclusion this is a must for any fan wanting to begin bridging the gap between Rock, Classical arrangements and a little Bar Blues. A debut like this comes around very rarely and while the fame of this young woman grows you would be amiss not to follow her career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vanessa Carlton certainly isn't a nobody., 25 Sep 2002
This review is from: Be Not Nobody (Audio CD)
I heard a thousand miles and immedietly fell in love with it, the piano and her voice bring a haunting song. So i decided to buy the album and it was money well spent.
Ordinary day-5/5. Definately one of the albums higlights, the soon to be released "ordinary day" is a wonderful song to relax to.
Unsung-3/5. This one is like a blues bar break down, its the only up-tempo song on the album she plays on piano.
A thousand miles-5/5. Another one of the albums highlights whenever this comes on i find my self wailing to it and trying to mimick the piano with my hands.
Pretty baby-5/5. I love this one, its nice and soppy, the kind of song i like and describes "that feeling2 you get when you find that special someone.
Rinse-3/5. This song really shows Vanessa's vocal talents and is a haunting song about a girl who is in an abusive relationship, a great mix of piano and guitar.
Sway-5/5. To me this is the best song on the album, its a "pretty" song and is great to sing along to.
Paradise-3/5. I wasn't to keen on this song when i first heard it but it has grown on me.
Prince-1/5. I think this song lets the album down, it is repetitive and annoying.
Paint it black-5/5. A cover of the rolling stones, this song is great and i think it is better than the original.
Wanted-5/5. This song is just vanessa and the piano and is great. Shows her raw talent.
Twilight-3/5. This song is good but not very interesting.
Wanted (ripe mix)-3/5. This is just wanted but with drums and other instruments, not as good as the original.
This album is definately worth buying and is my favourite of all-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Superb!, 23 Nov 2002
This review is from: Be Not Nobody (Audio CD)
I purchased Vanessa Carlton's 'Be Not Nobody' on a bit of a whim after hearing 'A thousand miles' and thinking it was fab. On my way home I worried that perhaps I had been quick to buy the CD...I had nothing to worry about.
This album is without a doubt, the best I have heard this year. It is emotionally moving. 'Twilight' and 'Pretty Baby'in particular always give me a shiver. The music is fantastic, just think Bruce Hornsby on piano with a voice that just melts a bad day away...
If you only buy one album this year... buy this one...cos you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Be Not Nobody [Bonus Tracks]
Be Not Nobody [Bonus Tracks] by Vanessa Carlton (Audio CD - 2003)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 7 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews